Bromley House Library 1816 to 1916
B


Return to Main Index Page


Some major entries on this page:



Bacon
Publishers of atlases and maps.

The Library made occasional purchases from them (7/1/1884, 4/2/1884 & 9/41907)


Mr Bacon
In 1828 he was mentioned in a note regarding the loss of newspapers by the Post Office (4/12/1838).


George Bacon
Subscriber: 6/4/1824 to 1/6/1835.
Newsroom subscriber: 1830,1831, 1832.
The original entry is for 'Edward Bacon'.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).

In February and March 1835 he had fines of 2s 6d outstanding (2/2/1835 & 2/3/1835) and he was rebuked further as he had lent books to his father and was also liable to the fines incurred by him.
Enforcement of the fines came in the succeeding months (6/4/1835 & 1/6/1835) and presumably soon afterwards he ceased to be a member.

Gift:

George Bacon
Subscriber: 1/1/1838 to 5/3/1849.

In 1847 he asked to be considered as a country subscriber under bye-law 11 (6/12/1847).
The Committee meeting of January 1848 passed this matter to the General Meeting but then it seems to have been overlooked (3/1/1848).


Mr Badworth
He was paid 15s for clock cleaning in June 1878.


Bailey of Brewill & Bailey.
See –– Frederick Pearson.


Isaac Bailey (c.1751-1835)
Subscriber: 5/2/1819 to 7/5/1838.
Address: Lenton.
He was also recorded as 'Bayley'.

Before 1790 Isaac Bayley had started a leather business in Lenton. (Mellors, 1914)


Philip James Bailey (1816-1902)
Poet.
Address: 16 and 18 Denman Street, Radford; 449 Alfreton Road; Old Basford; 54 The Ropewalk.
Subscriber: 12/11/1901 to 13/5/1902.
Share number: 240.

He was born on 22/4/1816 in a house at the eastern end of Middle Pavement and educated privately in Nottingham before going to Glasgow University.
He practised as a barrister but in 1836 retired to his father’s house at Old Basford where he wrote his long epic poem Festus which was published anonymously in 1839 and which, after further additions, ran to over 40, 000 lines.
His other works included The Angel World (1850), Mystic (1855), and The Universal Hymn (1867). (Mellors, 1924)

The share transfer was recorded as being to Miss Fanny Catherine Carey (q.v.) in the Committee Minute Book and to Henrietta Carey (q.v.) in the record of the 1903 General Meeting. Fanny and Henrietta Carey were his nieces (Fry, 2003)

His executors were P.F.J. Bailey and Henrietta Carey and they wrote to offer a gift of books to form the Philip Bailey Collection was received by the Book Committee on 8/10/1902 and by the Main Committee on 14/10/1902.
The proposal was accepted and a bookcase was to be made.

A portrait of Mr Bailey was also offered.
This was described by Russell in his History (1916) as a ‘carbon photograph’ or ‘carbon portrait’.

A photograph of Philip James Bailey by Sylvanus Redgate taken in 1902 is in the Thoroton Room (2006).

IMG-4154
IMG-4012
Philip James Bailey
[4054 & 4012]



Thomas Bailey
Subscriber: 7/3/1870 to 5/4/1898.

This could have been the father of Philip James Bailey.
Deceased.


M. Baillon
Newsroom subscriber: 1831.


Alexis Baillon
Subscriber: 7/2/1842 to 1/4/1890.
He was a subscriber for more than 48 years.

He signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867.
The share was transferred to Miss E.N. Baillon.


Miss E.N. Baillon
Subscriber: 1/4/1890 to 6/4/1897.
The share was transferred from A. Baillon.


Louis Baillon

Subscriber: 2/1/1865 to 5/1/1886.

He signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867.

On 4/5/1885 a note of 'notice given' was recorded.


Mr Bain
Librarian.

His opinion as Librarian to the Royal Society of Edinburgh was sought regarding matters of the tax liabilities of libraries (29/5/1818).


Bains & Turton

Builders & contractors.
Address: Bulwell lane, Old Basford. [White, 1885]

Two very large payments were made: £250 on 3/4/1883 and £177 17s 9d on 3/12/1883.


Baker
See –– Baker, Halford & Sons.


George Baker
Subscriber: 4/12/1865 to 2/12/1867.
He signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867.


Baker, Halford & Sons
Valuers.

Their report on the rental values of parts of Bromley House was received in October 1904, and its recommendations were:
    The report was sent to John Russell at Roclaveston Hall, The Forest and signed by Robert Halford ( 11/10/1904).


C.H. Bakewell
Subscriber: April 1852 to 7/7/1862.


John Bakewell
Wool-stapler of Nottingham.
He was listed as 'H. Bakewell' in 1838.
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 5/11/1838.
Newsroom subscriber: 1831,1832,1833.
Committee: 1817, 1818, 1820.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).

He was named as a Trustee of Bromley House in the minute and document of 1/4/1822.
The Standfast Ledger records four borrowings between 15/12/1834 and 25/11/1835.


John Bakewell

Subscriber: 5/11/1838 to 7/10/1839.
Newsroom subscriber: 1832.
He was known as 'Junior'.
The Share Interest Book shows that he held one Bromley House Building Share from 1831 to 1853.


Robert Bakewell

Gift:


John Balguy

Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 31/7/1826.
Address: Wiverton.
The share was transferred to Rev John Edge.


Miss A.N. Ball
Subscriber: 19/3/1866 to 5/4/1887.
The share was transferred to Mrs Needham Ball.


Mrs Emerline Needham Ball
Address: Beacon Hall, Hucknall Torkyard.
Subscriber: 5/4/1887 to 7/6/1910.
Share number: 7.

The share was transferred from Miss A.N. Ball.
Deceased.


John Ball and Sarah Ball
Library porter and housekeeper.

By April 1829 John Ball and his wife, Sarah, had been appointed as porter and housekeeper at £30 per annum plus residence, coals and candles and at one month’s notice (20/4/1829).

By 2/5/1831 he and his wife had been dismissed.


Thomas Ball
Subscriber: 4/7/1853 to 2/1/1860.


Thomas Ball
Subscriber: 1/6/1868 to 3/3/1879.
Committee: 1873, 1874, 1876, 1877.
Scrutator for trustee election in 1874.
Auditor: 1877.
Book Committee: 1876, 1877.
Fire Committee: 4/12/1876.
Deceased.


Rev John Charles Ballantyne
Address: 3 Thorncliffe Road.
Subscriber: 3/2/1914 to 1916.
Share number: 265 (counterfoil dated 17/4/1914).


Rev Arthur Bannister

Address: Bunny.

The Standfast Ledger records 12 borrowings between 23/7/1856 and 17/9/1858.


John Cummings Banwell
Librarian: 1 July 1867 to 10 July 1893.

In 1861 he was appointed as Library porter (4/12/1861).
When Alloway left Banwell was appointed as under-Librarian (3/2/1862) and his salary was increased to 20s 0d per week (1/4/1862).
On 1/8/1864 he received £3. 3s. 0d for work on the catalogue.
Although this was really the responsibility of the Librarian, Count Ubaldo Marioni, it seems likely that most of the work was done by Banwell.
In August 1866 he received an increase of £10 8s 0d per year, taking his pay to £62 8s 0d per year)(7/8/1866).

He was promoted to Librarian to replace Marioni at a salary of £100 per annum plus the use of the house (1/7/1867).
The Committee agreed that his kitchen be cleaned (3/10/1870) and that he receive a gratuity of £5 for his help in cleaning the Library.

His salary was still £120 per annum in 1893 and paid quarterly.
In 1881 the Committee agreed that he get £50 and 14 days holiday in consideration of his work on the catalogue (5/4/1881) and he was also paid £1 for each new share he could sell (5/1/1885).
He, and Edmund Percy, the President, planted six plane trees in the garden (3/11/1875).
In 1916 Russell reported that only three of these survived, but that they had grown into large specimens.
A payment of £50 16s 8d was presumably the repayment of a loan to the Library (4/4/1876).

The remuneration of John Cummings Banwell
From
To
Salary
Note
1 July 1867
March 1874
£100 0s 0d
Plus use of house
7 April 1874
June 1877
£110  0s 0d

7 June 1877
July 1893
£120 0s 0d
Banwell forced to resign on 12 July 1893.
November 1893
November 1894
£70 0s 0d

November 1894
November 1895
£50 0s 0d

November 1895
November 1896
£30 0s 0d
Banwell asked for continued support.


He had two Debenture Shares
Paid
£50 0s 0d
4/4/1873
Interest £1 5s 0d 9/1/1875
Interest
12s 6d 26/8/1873
Interest £1 5s 0d 7/8/1875
Interest £1 5s 0d 10/1/1874
Final payment
£50 16s 8d 1/5/1877
Interest £1 5s 0d 25/7/1874



The shares had paid at a rate of 5%.

The Library Association held its Annual General Meeting in Nottingham in September 1891 and it may be that Banwell, librarian, and J. William Moore, assistant librarian, attended [Peter Hoare].

In the 1870s and 1880s he was in favour with the Committee but the 1890s saw a downturn of the relationship.
Banwell was criticised for slackness concerning the supply of books by Mudie (3/1/1893) and on 7/2/1893 he asked for a testimonial.

A special meeting of the Committee was held at the offices of H.E. Hubbart, the Honorary Secretary, at 10 South Parade at 5 p.m. on Monday 10/7/1893.
This was the first meeting of the Committee to be held outside Bromley House since the Library moved there in 1820.

J.B. Hutchinson proposed and G.N. Berry seconded a motion 'that it is desirable to remove Mr Banwell from the office of Librarian'.
No reason for this drastic step was given, nor did one later emerge.
A second motion proposed by Samuel H. Sands and seconded by W.W. Lewis offered Banwell £70 for the first year, £50 for the second year and £30 for the third year should he agree to resign.
This he did in a letter to the Honorary Secretary dated ten days later on 12 July 1893.

At the same meeting H. Dixon proposed with Samuel H. Sands as seconder that the post of Librarian go to William Moore.

Three years later (3/11/1896) the Committee considered a plea from Banwell to continue their support of him as agreed when he resigned.
He felt that at the age of 72 he had little hope of any further employment.
The Committee referred this matter to the next General Meeting to be held in six months time in April 1897 but nothing seems to have been decided there.

His age and his date of death are not known.

IMG-4210
The signature of John Cummings Banwell
[4210]



Alfred Barber (1808-1884)
Photographer and Tenant.

He was the seventh child of Thomas Barber, an East Midlands portrait painter.

On 23/8/1831 he married Eliza, daughter of John and Mary Gill.

He was a bookseller, printer and stationer and in 1841 approached photographer Richard Beard and negotiated a licence to make daguerreotype images in Nottingham. He wrote to the Library on 19/7/1841 and rented the upper rooms for £8 per year. The back attic roof was fitted with a rotating skylight which had light blue glass. The work was done by by Samuel G. Walker, builder, who seems to have taken responsibility for its safety (1/8/1841).

The first photographic session at Bromley House was on Wednesday 29/9/1841 and the studio opened for business on the following Saturday. In April his rent was overdue and on 8/9/1842 he was visited by Henry Sanders, solicitor acting for Richard Beard and instructing him through a restraining injunction to stop his photography as his payments to Beard were also in arrears. He took only 53 portraits between 7/9/1842 and 10/1/1843 when the business closed with the rent paid up to 19 July of the previous year. Beard took legal action against Barber and was allowed to remove his furniture although the machinery remained in place.

His brother-in-law, William Henry Gill, applied to the committee on 5/6/1843 regarding the rent owed and was allowed to pay for one year (£8 0s 0d) and to take Barber’s furniture. The Subscription Book records two payments of £4 0s 0d on 28/4/1842 and 19/10/1842 as rent for two garrets to a Mr Barber.

Samuel Newham, as Honorary Secretary of the Library, wrote to Beard in April 1844 to ask if he wished to use the studio but no reply is recorded. The studio stove was old to the honorary secretary just before a new tenant was found.

A copy of a daguerreotype of Alfred Barber taken on 24/4/1849 by an unknown photographer is in the Standfast Room (2006). (Heathcote, 1991)

IMG-4259
Alfred Barber



E. Barber
Subscriber: 2/10/1888 to 4/6/1889.
The transfer of the share to him on 4/9/1888 was deferred.


E. Barber
Subscriber: 4/4/1893 to 4/4/1893.
This was an immediate transfer to him and from him at the same committee meeting.


Edward Barber
Subscriber: 6/12/1875 to 4/4/1876.


J. Barber
Subscriber: 4/2/1867 to 5/4/1870.


J. Barber
Subscriber: 2/8/1869 to 1/7/1872.


John Barber
Subscriber: 4/3/1872 to 4/11/1872.


John Barber, Esq., JP. (1813-1907)
Grocer and tea dealer.
Sheriff of Nottingham (1847)
Lord Mayor of Nottingham (1867-68 & 1868-69).
Address: Gregory Boulevard.
Subscriber: 1/4/1873 to 9/4/1907.
Share number: 8 (certificate: 11/2/1901).

He was a councillor for 50 years and involved with the Sneinton and Mapperley Asylums and the provision of gas supplies, sewage disposal and the General Hospital (Mellors, 1924).
Deceased.


John Houseman Barber
Alderman and Lord Mayor of Nottingham 1817-18, 1825-26 and 1831-32.
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 4/3/1833.

He was named as a Trustee of Bromley House in the minute and document of 1/4/1822.


R.G. Barber
Subscriber: 1/11/1869 to 6/5/1872.



Thomas Barber, senior  (1771-1843)
Subscriber: April 1823 to April 1840.
Address: Standard Hill.

Born in Nottingham on 28/3/1771, he was the son of an artist and he became a pupil of Sir Thomas Lawrence.

He was a portrait painter and several of his works were in the City collection at the Castle Art Gallery.
He produced a number of portraits of Robert White Almond.
One picture is with the Library and was mentioned by Russell in 1916 while another is in St Peter’s church where Rev Almond was Rector for 39 years.

His portrait of Henry Kirke White [oil on canvas; 8 x 9.5 inches] is in the Reading Room (2006).
It is from a portrait owned by the Rev. Samuel Maddock and presented to the Library by the Rev Neville White, brother of the poet in November 1826. (Russell, 1916; Mellors, 1924)

Thomas Barber, senior died at Parkside on 12/9/1842.

See:  ––  Edward Staveley and Clifton Tomson.

Thomas Barber, junior (1798-1826)
Portrait painter.
Subscriber: 5/2/1821 to 7/6/1824.
Address: Lamb Close House, Eastwood.

He was born in Nottingham and was taught by his father.
His portrait of John Rawson Walker is considered to be a very fine piece of work.

Barber was admitted as a subscriber to the Library with a portrait of Dr Storer being taken in place of the payment for the share. Terms regarding subscription had to be clarified later (3/3/1823).
Similar arrangements of accepting paintings in lieu of payments for shares were made with John Rawson Walker and Clifton Tomson.

Thomas Barber, junior died aged 28 in 1826.

However, on 7/6/1824 it was reported that on 29/5/1824 T. Barber, father of the late Thomas Barber, had written to the committee from Standard Hill.
He was refusing to pay his son’s arrears of £2 2s 0d.
He considered the portrait of Dr Storer painted by his son to be worth 50 guineas.
The committee decided to take no further action.

A portrait of a Colonel Elliott by Thomas Barber (senior) was mentioned by Russell as being in the Library in 1916 (Russell, 1916).
This painting [oil, 6 x 5.5 inches] is in the Front Reading Room (2006).

ING-4019
Thomas Barber
[4019]



Barber, Walker & Co.
Tenant and Colliery Proprietors.
Address: Eastwood Collieries; Town Office, Bromley House [Wright, 1894-95]; Wollaton Road, Radford & Great Central Railway Yard, Haydn Road, Sherwood & wharves at Nottingham Road. Midland railway Station wharves, Castle Meadow Road & Kirke White Street East. Offices: Bromley House. [Wright, 1915]

They wrote in July 1899 to confirm that they were taking over the tenancy held by Hill & Watts, the letter being signed by Ed. Lindley (28/7/1899). (These dates do not tie in).

The Library Rent Book shows that from June 1900 they rented a room at £50 per annum payable quarterly and gas was extra.
This was increased to £60 from 29/9/1905 (letter of 9/6/1905) through to 1916.

On 3/8/1909 the Library agreed that from 29/9/1909 the Medico-Chirurgical Society would lease a room through Barber Walker for 7 years at £85 per year plus rates. Alterations were agreed and would be made at the Society’s expense and with the agreement of R. Evans & Sons. Mr Parr was to be relocated to another room in Bromley House. The letter refers to Barber Walker as ‘old and valued tenants’ and that they would ‘remain as tenants in chief’. On 16/5/1905 Robert Barker, solicitors of Nottingham, were informed that the Committee had no objection to Barber Walker subletting to Parr & Torbitt.

In September 1913 they asked that a coal business under the name of E. Reeve & Co. might move into the office used by G. Parr and sought permission to clean and paint the office and to install electric light at their own expense. The Committee agreed (9/9/1913). This is such a contrast with the relationship with another major tenant - Pearson and Son.

    The head of the firm was Thomas Barber (1805-1874), born at Lamb Close House, Greasley and educated at Eton and Trinity College, Cambridge. He became a barrister but did not practice. His son was also Thomas Barber (1843-1893) The company had collieries in the Erewash Valley, at Harworth in north Nottinghamshire and one at bentley near Doncaster sunk in about 1904. (Mellors, 1924)

See –– Medico-Chirurgical Society; Parr & Torbitt.


Barden
Barden’s globes.
See –– Edward Staveley.


Dr Bardsley
The Presents Book records the gift of Thesis on taking his Degree of MD (10/11/1823).


Edward Bardsley
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 7/5/1827.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).

On 1/6/1835 the Committee was asking if a C. Bardsley was one 'willing to receive their building shares'.
The Share Interest Book shows that he held one Bromley House Building Share from 1831 to 1838, when it was transferred to G.L. Cox.


Barione & Sons
A single payment of 5s 0d was made on 9/2/1888 for unspecified reasons.
There is some doubt over the name.


John Barfoot
See –– Rev James Jarvis Cleaver

Mr Barker
Non-member.
Gift:


Mr Barker
See –– Francis Welford.


Rev A. Barker
The Standfast Ledger records four borrowings between 23/12/1865 and 25/1/1866.


M.H. Barker
Subscriber: 7/12/1829 to 5/8/1839.

On 1/5/1837 he was sent a notice about his fines, and another on 4/12/1837 with 3 months notice of forfeiture.
Three months later he was told to pay 20s 0d in lieu of fines and provide a new copy of Munster Festivals (5/2/1838).

On 5/3/1838 the Committee agreed to sell his share.
However, on 4/6/1838 it was found that the transfer of his share was 'incorrect'. Mr Barker, junior was to be written to and on 1/10/1838 his family were given notice of forfeiture of his share due to arrears of subscriptions.

This is most likely Matthew Henry Barker (1790-1846) writer and editor of The Nottingham Mercury.

He was Mark Handsail Puppy in the pamphlet The Literary Mousetrap published on 14/2/1829 satirising the debates that were taking place at Bromley House Library.

His early life was spent at sea and he wrote Walks round Nottingham in 1835 (Mellors, 1924).


Robert Barker
Solicitor, Nottingham (possibly).

He had his £2 2s 0d subscription returned on 17/12/1904.


Thomas Barker
On 5/8/1839 Thomas Barker’s share was forfeited, although presumably this was that of his father, M.H. Barker (see above).


William Barker
Newsroom subscriber: 1831, 1832.


George Henry Barlow
Artist.
A portrait of George Noel Gordon, Lord Byron of 1815, described as ‘after George Henry Barlow [oil; 5.5 x 4 inches], is in the Reading Room (2006).
Its label shows: 'Bought by L.C. Musters, St Peter’s Gate, 1897. Presented by the late Mrs Chaworth Musters’.
See –– Mrs Chaworth Musters.


Mr Barnard
Tenant and China dealer.

On 7/2/1853 he took over the vaults previously used by Mr Jackson.
He was replaced by Abrahams on 2/5/1859.


H. Barnett
Bookseller.
Address: High Street.

A letter from him was tabled on 5/4/1816 presumably about supplying books although its contents were not recorded.
He was the first bookseller to be appointed to supply the Library in 1817 and this continued in 1818, 1819 and 1820 and from 2/1/1826 to 7/5/1827.

He often was asked to give an opinion on the value of a book that was lost or damaged, such as Twoke’s Divination of Piety (vol. 2) and Illustrations of Sterne (vol. 2) (2/10/1818) for which George Thomas White was to be fined £1 0s 10d and Blackwell’s Sacred Cloyens(?) at 7s 0d for which John Spencer was fined 3s 6d .
Presumably they had damaged the books.

He published a Catalogue of the Standfast Library in 1817 at a cost of 2s 0d.
He was also responsible for the Catalogue of Books Belonging to the Nottingham Subscription Library, established April 2d, 1816.


Hercules Barnett
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 1/11/1830.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).

Early gifts of books attributed to Mr Barnett were probably from this man (Russell, 1916).


S.H. Barnett
Subscriber: April 1852 to 11/11/1861.


Nathaniel Barnsdall
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 27/11/1818.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).


N. Barnsdall
In some entries the name looks like 'Barnsdale'.
Subscriber: 7/3/1825 to 1/1/1855.
He was known as 'Junior'.

On 7/3/1836 he was fined 14s 9d for keeping out Burke’s Works.


Nathaniel Barnsdall
On 7/7/1851 he was paid £8 15s 0d for 'goods furnished'.

Information from Christopher John Lowe, great-great-grandson of Thomas Lowe II (2008)
Nathaniel Barnsdall or Barnsdale was a timber merchant and wharfinger.
He acted as  guarantor of Thomas Lowe Acton in 1839 and as executor of Thomas Lowe II in 1822 and of Thomas Lowe I in 1823.



Mr Barratt
Book valuer .
His name was probably misread or wrongly written.
See –– Henry Barnett


Mr Barry
See –– Francis Welford.


Mr Barth
The Subscriptions Book records his payment of £2 10s 0d on 22/4/1836 for five nights use of the Lecture Room at Bromley House.


Rev J. Bartlett
Subscriber: 3/1/1876 to 7/4/1885.


Barton
See –– Burton.


Rev John Bernard Barton
Clerk in Holy Orders.
Address: The Rectory, Castle Gate.
Subscriber: 13/3/1905 to 12/9/1910.
Share number: 256 (counterfoil dated 12/6/1905).


J.C. Barton
Newsroom subscriber: 1832.


Worshipful Company of Basketmakers of London
Gift:


Mr Bates
Library porter.
On 7/11/1836 the porter, named Bates, was given notice to quit by the first week in January.


Mrs Bates
On 2/5/1831 she and her husband were applicants for the post of Library porter.


Alfred George Bates
Clerk (1885); Corporation rent collector (1894-95).
Address: 17 Ayr Street, Forest Road. [White, 1885]; 24 Bentinck Road [Wright, 1894-95].

The records show that he collected the General District rate of about £10 per annum from the Library from 1891 to 1901.


John Bates
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 28/3/1817.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).


William Bates
On 2/5/1831 he and his wife were applicants for the post of Library porter.


B.T. Batsford
Publishers.
The Library made two small purchases from him in 1913 and 1914.


John Bausor
Subscriber: 4/1/1864 to 6/6/1864.


Mrs A.M.B. Bayley
née Annie Mary Bradley Farmer
Subscriber: 3/11/1891 to 2/5/1893 and 7/11/1893 to 10/10/1899.
The share was transferred to Miss M.E. Hardstaff who was to transfer it back to her again after just six months.
It was later transferred to Thomas Bayley, MP.

She was born on 24/2/1850 and was the daughter of Henry Farmer of Lenton.
In 1874 she married Thomas Bayley and she died at Langar on 23/8/1904.



Miss Catherine (Kate) Bayley (1840-1921)
Spinster.
Address: Lenton Abbey, Beeston.
Subscriber: 8/1/1895 to 4/12/1906.
Share number: 10 (certificate: 11/2/1901).

She founded and largely supported the Beeston Orphanage and Nottingham Day Nursery. (Mellors, 1924)

The share was transferred from Mrs C. Bayley (deceased).


Mrs T. Bayley
Subscriber: April 1875 to 8/1/1895.
The share was passed from Thomas Bayley and later transferred by Mrs C. Bayley (deceased) to a Miss Bayley.


Thomas Bayley
Subscriber: 2/1/1860 to April 1875.
The share was passed to Mrs T. Bayley.


Thomas Bayley, Esq., MP
Leather manufacturer and colliery proprietor (Digby Colliery Co. Ltd. and Manners Colliery Co. Ltd).
Address: Peveril House, The Park; Lenton Abbey; Lenton Hall; Langar Hall.
Subscriber: 10/10/1899 to 3/7/1906.
Share number: 9 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
The share was transferred from Mrs A.M.B. Bayley.
Deceased.
A registration fee of 2s 6d was received from A.E. Blake on 7/12/1906 in respect of a share transfer to Levi.

He was born on 3/6/1846 in Lenton.
In 1874 he married Annie Mary Bradley Farmer (see –– Mrs A.M.B. Bayley).
He died on 11/3/1906.

IMG-4125
IMG-4123
IMG-4126
IMG-4124
Thomas Bayley
with his signature
[4125 & 4126]
Annie E.M. Bayley
and her signature
[4123 & 4124]



Mr Baynes
See –– L. Heymann.


Richard Beard
Photographer.
He was written to by the Committee about the photographic use of Library premises on 2/4/1844.
See –– Alfred Barber.


Mr Beardmore
Gift:


Joseph Beardmore
Address: Arnold Villa.
Subscriber: 6/4/1841 to 7/9/1846 or 6/5/1850.

The Standfast Ledger records two borrowings between 9/1/1843 and 25/5/1843.   

A share was transferred in the name of Joshua Beardmore on 7/9/1846 and in the name of Joseph Beardmore on 6/5/1850.


Joshua Beardmore
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 31/1/1817.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).


Miss Frances Beardsley
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 31/7/1826.
She signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).

She was one of the nine ladies among the original 164 subscribers listed in on 18 June 1816.


John Beasley
Subscriber: 7/10/1850 to 3/11/1856.
Address: Carrington.
Committee: 1852, 1853.
The initial looks like 'I' in the printed lists.

He was a member of the sub-committee overseeing purchase of books from Mudie’s Library in 1853.

On 7/5/1855 he was asked to pay his arrears of subscription and to provide a volume of Encyclopedia Metropolitan.


Samuel Beastall
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 3/11/1834.
Address: Bulwell.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).


Richard Henry Beaumont
Solicitor.
Address: Park Terrace.
Subscriber: 2/11/1909 to 1916.
Share number: 134 (counterfoil dated 12/4/1910).

Two registration fees of 2s 6d for share transfers were received on: 16/11/1909 (from Leavers to Beaumont, and from Lipman to Harding).

He bought a book (or books) from the Library for: 15s 0d (26/1/1911)
He was a subscriber to Russell’s History (1916).


Thomas Alcock Beck (1795-1846)

His bookplate was discovered in The Tryal of Thomas Earl of Strafford by John Rushworth published in 1700 when it was rebound in 2006.

Beck was the author of Annales Furnesienses, an exhaustive study of Furness Abbey published in 1844 (D.N.B.).


J.G Beckett
This non-member attended a Committee meeting on 3/10/1853 in connection with the use of the vaults.
See –– Harrison.


Oliver Beckett
Subscriber: 7/9/1857 to 2/4/1872.

The Standfast Ledger records three borrowings between 14/5/1859 and 30/1/1865.
The share was transferred to W.S. Beckett.


W.S. Beckett
Subscriber: 2/4/1872 to 3/11/1879.
The share was transferred from O. Beckett.
Deceased.


Mr Beckwith
Newsroom subscriber: 1831, 1832.


Dr J. Beddard, MB
Subscriber: 2/3/1868 to 7/4/1891.
Committee: 1868.
The transfers of a share both to a J. Beddard and from a J. Beddard were recorded on the same day (2/3/1868).


James Beddard
Subscriber: 4/3/1867 to 2/3/1868.
The transfers of a share both to a J. Beddard and from a J. Beddard were recorded on the same day (2/3/1868).
James Beddard signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867.


Beeby & Ainsworth
Stock and share brokers.
Address: Clumber Chambers, 8 Thurland Street. [Wright, 1915]

Registration fees of 2s 6d for share transfers were received on:
20/1/1908 from LaSalle to Sharpe
7/7/1911
18/9/1912
1/12/1914

See –– R.W.Ainsworth.


J. Beecroft

On 7/11/1854 Mr Miller, an artist, gave J. Beecroft as a reference in connection with leasing a room.




Miss Beeston
Library Assistant.
2/3/1915 to 16/4/1915.
She replaced Miss Rhodes and was paid £2 12s 6d for a month and was later replaced by a Miss Ellis.


Rev John Tidy Beetham, AM
Archdeacon.
Address: Costock; Bunny (1848).
Subscriber: 3/4/1821 to 6/6/1864.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).
The name can also look like 'Belham' or 'Betham'.

The Standfast Ledger records two borrowings on 26/11/1859
Deceased.


J.W. Beeton
See –– Frederick Pearson.


Bell Inn Florists Society
This society used Bromley House for meetings in the 1830s (Mastoris, 1991).


Mr Bell
In September 1834 the Committee decided that the Meridian line recently verified by Bell and Jackson was to be laid down in brass at the Committee’s expense (1/9/1834).


Mrs Emmelene Needham Bell
Address: Beacon Hill, Hucknall Torkyard.
Share number: 7 (certificate: 11/2/1901).


Rev Henry Bell
Honorary Secretary; 7 November 1853 to 7 June 1875.
Subscriber: 6/6/1850 to 1/1/1877.
Committee: 1851 to
Auditor: 1852.
He was elected unanimously as Honorary Secretary on 7/11/1853.
‘Spiral staircase’ sub-committee: 5/1/1857.
Sub-committee which oversaw the installation of Hammond's Pendulum Globe Lighting: 6/7/1868.
Rental review sub-committee: 7/10/1872.

In April 1863 he was thanked for preparation of a catalogue of the Standfast Library (7/4/1863). The Standfast Ledger records 14 borrowings between 22/5/1850 and 5/2/1863.

On 4/4/1865 he was to receive a 20 guinea testimonial in thanks for his twelve years service as honorary treasurer.
A strange entry records that he ‘Exchanged Robert’s Holy Land’ on 5/6/1865.

In 1871 as Secretary to the Library he received two letters from the Church Congress of 4 Weekday Cross, Nottingham and these survive on the flyleaf of the minute book
.
The minute of 1/6/1874 records that he was to purchase Burke’s Extinct and Dormant Baronetcies.

He resigned as Honorary secretary on 7/6/1875.

On 5/7/1875 the Committee discussed a large quantity of books that Bell had bought but which the Library could ill afford.
These, valued at £72 7s 0d., were to be returned to him on 1/10/1875 and cheques for £72 7s 0d and £30 were exchanged.
A payment of £11 18s 0d was made to him on 1/11/1875.

See –– Church Congress - 1871.


John Bell
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 9/5/1817.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).

It seems likely that the early unspecified gifts of books from Mr Bell can be associated with this man. (Russell, 1916)


James Bell –– J. Bell & Son –– J & H Bell Ltd
Booksellers and stationers.
Address: Pelham Street in 1876. [Post Office, 1876]; 1 Carlton Street [Wright, 1915
Bookseller, manufacturing stationer and steam printer who also had a circulating library.
Address: 3-9 Carlton Street. Home: Edwalton. [Wright, 1894-95 & 1898-99]
An offer by them to supply books was declined on 3/3/1884.

On 5/6/1894 as 'Bell' they were invited to tender for printing the new supplementary catalogue.
On 1/6/1897 the Committee turned to James Bell to be the appointed booksellers and from August 1897 to July 1901 the Library was supplied with books by J. Bell & Son and then by J & H Bell Ltd from October 1901 to 1916.
In 1908 their account had to be paid with apologies for the lateness (7/7/1908).


L. P. Bell
He supplied the Library with books to the value of £3 12s 0d in July 1901.


Mr Bellairs
Subscriber: 1/7/1844 to 6/11/1848.
The name also looks like 'Bellars'.


Bemrose & Son
Bookseller.
A payment of £7 19s 0d was made on 12/10/1878 and another of £1 1s 6d on 4/3/1885.


Benedict
See –– Wychoff, Seamans & Benedict.


Benjamin
Booksellers
There was income of £1 5s 0d on 17/7/1879 from sale of books to them.

Between 22/6/1878 and 19/6/1880 the Library made eight purchases from them with values ranging from 2s 6d to £3 8s 0d.


Samuel Bennett
Subscriber: 20/4/1825 to 6/5/1839.
Deceased.


Samuel Bennett
Bookseller.
Address: Long Row.
He printed the Appendix to the Catalogue for 1825-6. and a full catalogue in 1829.

Bennett-Catalogue











The title page of  the

Appendix to the Catalogue

published in 1826 by

Samuel Bennett
of
Long Row, Nottingham

See also –– William Grisenthwaite.


John Benton
On 2/3/1835 he took over the tenancy of the room previously used by Mr James the painter.


Rev Dr Berdmore
He and the Mayor of Nottingham thanked William Standfast for the gift of his Library to the Bluecoat School on 23 May 1744.


George Newham Berrey
He was sometimes listed as 'Berry' and in 1884 as 'J.N. Berry'.
Subscriber: 2/9/1878 to 3/11/1896.
Committee: 1883, 1884, 1886, 1887, 1889, 1890, 1892, 1893, 1895.
Book Committee: 1887, 1890.
See –– John Cummings Banwell (10/7/1893).
Deceased.
The share was transferred from Samuel Newham’s widow and then transferred to John Ed. Berrey.

IMG-4225
The signature of Newham Berrey
[4225]



George Berrey
Subscriber: 1/3/1858 to 3/11/1896.
He was also listed as 'Berry'.
Deceased.


John Edmund Berrey
Lace manufacturer.
Address: Clinton Villa, The Park.
Subscriber: 13/3/1900 to 1916.
Share number: 11 (certificate: undated).
The share was transferred from George Newham Berrey (deceased).


George Berry
Subscriber: 3/3/1828 to 2/4/1838.
He was also listed as 'Berrey'.


Berryman & Snook
A registration fee of 2s 6d was received on 26/4/1907 in respect of a share transfer for Madan.


Jonas Bettison
Address: Holme Pierrepont.

In 1802 Sir George Smith, 2nd Bt. had to mortgage property to this farmer from Holme Pierrepont to obtain money to pay off his debts.

The details of the sale at which the Subscription Library bought Bromley House (12 and 13 April 1820) are headed:

In Chancery.
Plaintiffs: Jonas Bettison and Thomas Renshaw.
Defendent: Elizabeth, wife of Thomas Rickards.

See –– The Smith family.


Thomas Bettleston
The Standfast Ledger records six borrowings between 6/5/1851 and 5/5/1852.


Thomas Beveridge
Subscriber: 7/2/1825 to 7/11/1864.
Newsroom subscriber: 1831.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).

The name looks like 'Mr Beveridge' in the Committee Minutes but it looks like 'Wm. Mason' in the record of the General Meeting.
The Standfast Ledger records one borrowing on 8/1/1839.

On 17/3/1851 he signed a requisition to the Committee to reduce the annual subscription from 42s 0d to 30s 0d.


Bible Society - Nottingham Ladies Branch
They used Bromley House for meetings in the 1830s (Mastoris, 1991).
The Subscriptions Book records payments of £7 10s 0d as half-yearly rent of rooms at Bromley House from 25/9/1832 to 11/1/1843.
This rent dropped to £5 0s 0d on 12/6/1843 and to £2 2s 0d on 14/1/1846 with the last recorded payment being made on 19/7/1847.


Bickers & Son
Between 12/4/1869 and 28/1/1870 the Library paid three accounts totalling £1 7s 1d.


Rev Bidwell
The Standfast Ledger records five borrowings between 15/5/1855 and 18/6/1855.


Rev Jeremiah Bigsby
He was a member of the ‘Town Class’ of the White Lion Book Society in 1788-89.
See –– William Moore.


Dr John J. Bigsby, MD, FRS (1792-1881)
Geologist and physician.
Subscriber: 6/12/1824 to 7/2/1831.
Committee: 1826, 1827.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).

Gifts:
He was born in Nottingham and after taking an MD from Edinburgh joined the Army Medical Corps serving in South Africa and Canada where he developed his expertise in geology.
He later practised medicine in Newark.
He was secretary to the Boundary Commission and founder of the Bigsby Medal for Geology (Mellors, 1924).


Miss Mary Bigsby
Subscriber: 1/3/1847 to 7/12/1874.

The Standfast Ledger records two borrowings between 3/4/1847 and 6/11/1868.
She signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867.

Gift:


Robert Bigsby
This name appears on the 1825 list.
On 6/12/1824 the librarian was to negotiate with R. Bigsby regarding the exchange of a share for portraits of Turkish Emperors and on 3/1/1825 Thomas Wakefield had negotiated with him for a copy of the History of the Turkish Emperors in exchange for a share.


Mrs Robert Bigsby
Subscriber: 4/12/1826 to 7/6/1831.
Address: Fox Hill
The value of her share plus £5 was considered equal to that of a set of Nottingham Journal worth £20.


Miss S Bigsby
Subscriber: 3/4/1827 to 7/5/1827.


Rev T. Bigsby
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 2/4/1816.
This record is crossed through.


William Bilbie
Vicar of Beeston.
The library possesses his manuscript diaries.


Ernest C. Billyeald
Poor Rate collector.
Address: 1 Radcliffe Street (Wright, 1898-99).
Between January 1897 and July 1899 he collected between £1 and £4 per year from the Library.


R. Billiald
Subscriber: 2/1/1871 to 5/2/1872.


Billiard Room

There was such provision (Orange, 1840).


W.L. Billings
Subscriber: 5/6/1837 to 5/9/1842.


Frederick Edward Binley
Plumber and gasfitter.
Address: 65a Upper Parliament Street (Wright, 1910-11).
He made repairs to the skylight in December 1912 at a cost of 5s 9d.


Mr Binton
On 6/1/1836 it was decided that the room he rented was to have one coat of paint.


Joseph Birch (1755-1833)
Member of Parliament for Nottingham: 1802 & 1818 to 1830.

He gave his own portrait in 1822 and it was in Bromley House at the time Sutton’s Stranger’s Guide was published in 1827.
However, it has disappeared by time of Russell’s History (1916).
He also gave Parliamentary Proceedings (3/5/1824).


Mr Bird
The Subscriptions Book records his payment of £1 11s 6d on 11/7/1835 for three nights use of the Lecture Room at Bromley House.


Henry Stover Birkin
Subscriber: 4/8/1873 to 6/3/1894.
Deceased.


Major Philip Austin Birkin
Address: Elm House, Newcastle Circus, The Park.
Subscriber: 7/3/1916 to 1916.
Share number: 212 (counterfoil dated 18/4/1916).


Richard Birkin
Subscriber: 5/5/1851 to 2/10/1854.
He was known as 'Junior'.

On 7/2/1853 he was sent a copy of Rule 32 which was prohibiting lending outside his family.

Sylvanus Redgate painted his portrait.


Richard Birkin, JP
Subscriber: 4/3/1872 to 1/8/1893

On 17/3/1874 he was one of 27 nominated as a Trustee of the Library, but he was not one of the 14 elected.

He moved a motion and seconded another at the somewhat busy Annual Meeting of 1875.


T. Stanley Birkin, JP
Lace manufacturer.
Address: Aspley Hall.
Subscriber: 1/4/1898 to 1916.
Share number: 13 (certificate: 20/3/1909).
He was in arrears with his subscription (7/7/1910) and given 3 months notice of the sale of his share.


Sir Thomas Isaac Birkin, Bt. JP (1831-1922)
Lace manufacturer.
Address: Ruddington Grange.
Subscriber: 10/3/1868 to 1916. In 1916 he had been a subscriber for more than 48 years.
Share number: 12 (certificate: undated).
He was in arrears with his subscription for two years (£4 4s 0d) on 24/6/1910.
No response was forthcoming and he was then warned of the possibility of three months notice preceding the sale of his share (1/4/1910 & 28/7/1910).

He was born on 15/2/1831 in New Basford and developed the lace business set up by his father, Richard Birkin.
He supported the Nottingham General Hospital and many other charities.

IMG-4091
Sir Thomas Isaac Birkin, Bt
[4091]

On 9/10/1856 he married Harriet (d.23/7/1921), youngest daughter of Matthew Terbutt of Bluntisham, St Ives, Huntingdonshire and they had six sons and three daughters.
He was created a baronet on 25/7/1905. (Mellors, 1914 & 1924).
He died at Ruddington Grange on 16/1/1922.


Mr Bishop
Tenant.
On 4/11/1850 it was noted that he had half a year’s rent owing and on 2/12/1850 this had still not been paid.


Mr Bishop
A sum of 10 6d for repairs was paid on 14/7/1883.


Mrs G. Bishop
Subscriber: April 1878 to 6/1/1879.
The share was passed from G.E. Bishop.


G.E. Bishop
Subscriber: 2/7/1877 to April 1878.
The share was transferred from Thomas Bishop, and then passed to Mrs G. Bishop.


James Bishop
Newsroom subscriber: 1831, 1832, 1833.

On 18/6/1838 the Committee wrote curtailing his use of the Newsroom.
He refused to do so on 2/7/1838, and the Committee threatened that the police would be called if he persisted.


Thomas Bishop
Subscriber: 28/3/1817 to April 1838.
Newsroom subscriber: 1831, 1832.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830) twice.

On 3/10/1820 James Archer, the Librarian, gave the 4th volume of Walpole’s works to replace that damaged by Bishop.

Bishop purchased from the library:
Globe newspaper £2 13s 0d 4/7/1825
British Traveller £3 5s 0d 8/6/1832
Sun £2 9s 0d 20/6/1833
Examiner 5s 6d 20/6/1833
(Newsroom Subscription Book 1831-1834)

On 5/1/1835 the Committee recorded that Mr Bishop (senior) was 'to desist from his indecent conduct'.
On 5/4/1836 Thomas Bishop was to be spoken to regarding a complaint against his father from Mrs Walton, the housekeeper.
On 6/8/1838 the Committee wrote as shown below asking that Mr Bishop discourage his father’s attendance at the Library.

I am directed by the Committee to inform you that the habits of your father, owing to his infirmities, are so annoying to many of the subscribers to the Newsroom that it was necessary to prevent them leaving to request your father to cease being a member subscriber.

The Committee wished to make this communication in the most delicate way and have no wish to enter into particulars which must be unpleasant to all parties.



Thomas Bishop
He was known as 'Junior'.
Subscriber: 1/4/1838 to 2/7/1877.

His father was a cause of concern to the Library. However, there seems to be no record of the transfer of the share from father to son.
Thomas junior was appointed to Committee for 1845, but did not attend.

The Share Interest Book shows that he held four Bromley House Building Shares from 1831 to 1854.
The Standfast Ledger records six borrowings between 2/4/1836 and 15/4/1850.

He signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867.
He signed the memorial regarding the tenure of the office of President in May 1875.
The share was transferred to G.E. Bishop.
See –– Thomas Bishop senior, and J. Place.


Thomas Bittlestone
Subscriber: 4/12/1848 to 1/3/1852.
Committee: 1849, 1850.


Thomas Black
Subscriber: 24/7/1818 to 19/2/1819.


Thomas Black
Subscriber: 3/4/1821 to 7/3/1825.


Blackhust & Starling
See –– J. Page: electric light in Library, 1900.


B.H. Blackwell
Booksellers.
They supplied books in February 1916 at a cost of £1 0s 2d.


Henry Blagg, Esq.
Hosiery warehouse manager.
Address: The Hall, Burton Joyce (1903).
Subscriber: 2/10/1882 to 1916.
Share number: 14 (certificate: 9/2/1901).

IMG-4092
Henry Blagg
[4092]

He was born on 1/9/1839 at Car Colston and educated at Newark Grammar School.
He married Ada, daughter of Thomas Hawson of Wombwell in Yorkshire and they had two sons and three daughters.


J.M. Blagg
Gift:


T.M. Blagg

See –– Rev H.C. Windley.


Sir William A. Blain
Address: The Park.
Subscriber: 3/2/1879 to 1/8/1911.
Share number: 15 (certificate: 9/2/1901).

He was knighted in 1898 and his death was noted by at the 1911 General Meeting.


Dr Blake
Subscriber: 6/1/1834 to 7/2/1842.
Newsroom subscriber: 1832, 1833.

Gifts:


Arthur Ernest Blake, JP
Stock and share broker.
Address: Prudential Buildings, Queen Street.[Wright, 1915]; Thornhill, Elm Bank

Registration fees, usually of 2s 6d, for share transfers were received on:
IMG-4113
Arthur Ernest Blake
[4113]

He was born on 5/1/1866 in Chesterfield and in 1895 he married Florence Emily, daughter of J.H. Howett, a lace manufacturer.


Rev J.F. Blake
Subscriber: 3/8/1863 to 20/3/1865.
The Standfast Ledger records seven borrowings between 4/11/1863 and 11/5/1864.


Richard Blakeney (c.1788-1848)
Royal Marines.
Address: Mount Hooton.
Subscriber: 2/12/1844 to 9/3/1846.

The Standfast Ledger records 12 borrowings between 29/4/1845 and 17/12/1849.

Gift:


Rev William Newcome Blakeney
Vicar of Belton.
Address: Belton Vicarage, Belton, Loughborough.
Subscriber: 4/9/1882 to 3/8/1909.
Share number: 16 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
On 8/6/1909 he was in arrears with his subscription.


Rev John Blanchard
He was a member of the 'Town Class' of the White Lion Book Society in 1788-89.
See –– William Moore.


Herman Blatherwick
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 4/6/1832.
Committee: 1826, 1827.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).
First entry on the lists is for J Blatherwick.

On 1/6/1835 the Committee was asking if he was one 'willing to receive their building shares'.
The Share Interest Book shows that he held two Bromley House Building Shares from 1831 to 1835.


Blind Institute
See –– Royal Midland Blind Institute.


Bluecoat Charity School
See –– Rev William Standfast and William Whitehead.


Sarah Bloore

Bookseller.
Address: 15 Angel Row.
This address is perhaps consdered as part of Bromley House. (Lascelles, 1848; Post Office, 1855)


George Boden
Newsroom subscriber: 1831, 1832, 1833.


James Boden
Newsroom subscriber: 1832.


W. or H.C. Boden
Subscriber: 21/3/1825 to 2/1/1826.
Newsroom subscriber: 1833.


William Boden
Subscriber: 1/11/1830 to 26/3/1861.
Newsroom subscriber: 1831, 1832.
Committee: 1836, 1837.
He was nominated as a new trustee on 28/2/1848.


H.G. Bohn

Bookseller.

On 22/6/1840 the Committee was buying books from him as well as others.
On 6/3/1843 he was asked to buy Surtees’ Durham while he was in London and two months later the Committee wrote to him regarding a new edition of Monkish historians (1/5/1843).
In 1845 he was contacted about Whittaker’s History of Richmondshire (2/6/1845) and on 7/9/1846 he was to be asked to supply 66 volumes of the works of Voltaire in French.


Mrs Caroline Bolton
Widow.
Address: 6 Park Drive, The Park.
Subscriber: 4/4/1871 to 14/6/1903.
Share number: 17 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
The share was transferred from Rev T.A. Bolton to what looks like 'Miss C Bolton'. The name appears as Mrs Bolton from 1872.
The registration fee of 2s 6d for the transfer of the share to J.A.H. Green was paid on 13/7/1903.


Rev T.A. Bolton
Subscriber: 4/7/1864 to 4/4/1871.
Address: New Basford.
He signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867.
The share was transferred to Miss C. Bolton.
See –– Mrs C. Bolton.


Joseph Bolus
Hatter
Subscriber: 5/6/1843 to 2/12/1850.
He was also referred to as James Bolus.


Rev Booker

On 2/7/1827 this non-member gave:
. . . . . along with some books:


Richard Young Booker
(1804-1876)
Tenant and photographer.

This local man previously working in the textile industry started his photographic business at Bromley House paying £2 0s 0d for 8 weeks on 30/6/1849.
His venture was not a success and instalments of rent were erratic.
His final payment of 16s 0d was made on 24/3/1851.

He was later employed as a clerk and as a bookkeeper. (Heathcote, 1991)
He was born on 24/6/1804. He died at Talbot Street on 29/9/1876 and was buried in Nottingham General Cemetery.

Scan_Booker






Mr R.Y. Booker's advertisement


which appeared in the

Nottingham Mercury of 6 April 1849.


It incorporates a woodcut made from a daguerreotype taken in about 1843 showing a photographic portrait session at Richard beard's studio in Westminster.

















(Nottinghamshire County Library, Local Studies Library
and
Heathcote 1991)



C.A. Booth
Subscriber: 5/8/1867 to 3/8/1874.


Charles A. Booth
Subscriber: 1/3/1880 to 1/11/1887


Robert Booth
Newsroom subscriber: 1831, 1832.


Booth’s Library
The Bromley House Library had a subscription with Booth's in 1864.


B. Boothby
Subscriber: 3/11/1834 to 1/10/1838.
Newsroom subscriber: 1831, 1832.
He was known as 'Junior'.

On 16/5/1834 he paid 3s 0d for one of the Stamford papers. (Newsroom Subscription Book 1831-1834)



William Boothby
Newsroom subscriber: 1831, 1832.



Rev T. Bosworth, DD
Subscriber: 1/3/1841 to 1/1/1844.
Committee: 1841.


Bosworth
Regular annual payments of £1 10s 0d were made between 20/7/1871 and 22/6/1878.
A final recorded payment of 4s 0d was made on 28/12/1878.
The reason for these payments is not known.



Rev W. Bosworth
On 1 May 1826 this non-member gave

The Standfast Ledger records three borrowings between 4/10/1841 and 5/11/1841.

He was curate at Ruddington and then Professor of Anglo Saxon at Oxford University.
He was related by marriage to William Jarman of the Savings Bank on Low Pavement (1/5/1826) (Russell, 1916)


Mary Howitt née Botham
See –– William Howitt.


Bott
Keys worth £1 5s 0d were supplied on 5/5/1887 and more worth 4s 0d on 21/5/1892.


J.F. Bottom
Subscriber: 1/1/1849 to 3/4/1855.
Address: The Park.


M. Boulme
Newsroom subscriber: 1832.


Henry Bourne
On 3/6/1839 this non-member gave:


Samuel Bourne, JP (1834-1912)
Samuel Bourne, JP (1834-1912)
Cotton doubler and photographer.
Address: The Brightlands, Clumber Road; Clumber Road East, The Park.
Subscriber: 1/11/1892 to 1/10/1912.
Share number: 18 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
The share was transferred from W. Browne.
In 1894 he proposed alterations to the rules of the Library (3/4/1894).
He was present at General Meeting of 1894.

Samuel Bourne was born in 1834 in Market Drayton in Shropshire, and was the son of Thomas and Harriett Bourne.
He became interested in photography at an early age and in 1855 he came to Nottingham to work at Moore & Robinson’s Bank on Beastmarket Hill.

He was a founder member of the Nottingham Photographic Society.
In 1867 he married Mary Tolley and became a professional photographer.
He travelled to India and produced many fine photographs including some of the Himalayas.
On his return to Nottingham in 1869 he lived at ‘Simla’ on Raleigh Street.
In 1877 he became a cotton doubler in partnership with his brother-in-law, James Tolley.

They built a cotton doubling works at Netherfield in 1881 and employed 250 people.
He supported High Pavement Chapel, served as a magistrate and was president of the Nottingham and The Park tennis clubs.
He was also a painter and he and Mary had five children.

In 1885 he commissioned Arthur Marshall to design Brightlands in The Park.

Samuel Bourne’s death was reported to the 1913 General Meeting.

[Mellors, 1924; Geoffrey Oldfield (July 2008) Samuel Bourne in Nottinghamshire Today, vol. 44 (523).]



IMG-4093
Samuel Bourne
[4093]




Bower
See –– Lowe & Bower.


Mrs Bowley
A slip pasted inside the Minute Book for 1847 refers to her as a widow and that the share had not been transferred.


Mrs Eliza Bowley
Subscriber: April 1862 to 1/3/1880.
The share was passed from John Bowley.


John Bowley
Subscriber: 2/2/1846 to April 1862.
The share was passed to Mrs Bowley.


William Bowley
Newsroom subscriber: 1831, 1832.


Rev C.F. Boyer
Subscriber: 6/11/1894 to 5/1/1897.
In 1897 the share was transferred from Rev J. Boyer to G.B. Kidd.


Mr Brabrook
As registrar of a friendly society he was paid £1 1s 0d on 4/12/1896.


Elijah Bradbury
Builder.
Address: 92 Upper Parliament Street and 19 Wollaton Street (Kelly, 1904).
He was employed by the Library for some bricklaying on 14/2/1905 at a cost of £4 1s 3d.


Mrs Bradley
A slip pasted inside the Minute Book for 1847 refers to her as a widow and that the share had not been transferred.


Alfred Bradley, Esq.
Address: Broxtowe House, Park Terrace.
Subscriber: 5/1/1897 to 3/11/1914.
Share number: 19 (certificate: 11/2/1901).
Committee: 1901, 1902, 1904, 1905.
Newsroom curtain sub-committee: 12/11/1901.
He was one of ten nominated for the 1904 Committee.
He attended General Meetings: 1902, 1903, 1905, 1906, 1909.
He was nominated as a Trustee but declined (4/4/1911).

Minuted book requests:
A suggestions slip found in a cleaner’s cupboard in 1998 reads:

The light in the library is dreadful - It is almost impossible to read the names of the Books except just under the Lamps.
Will the Committee kindly consider this matter?

W. F. Bromley.
A. Bradley

Deceased.
His death was noted at the 1914 General Meeting and a letter of sympathy was sent to F.J. Bradley (5/3/1914).


Charles Bradley
Subscriber: 6/10/1885 to 1/9/1891
The share was transferred from Mrs Bradley (deceased).


Rev Charles R. Bradley
Subscriber: 2/4/1849 to 5/5/1851.
Address: Elton.
Deceased.


Frederick James (or S.) Bradley, JP
Manufacturer.
Address: 15 Pelham Crescent, The Park.
Subscriber: 5/12/1870 to 1916.
In 1916 he had been a subscriber for more than 45 years.
Share number: 20 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
Committee: 1903, 1904.

He was present at General Meeting of 1894
He was ent a letter of sympathy at the death of Alfred Bradley (5/3/1914).
He was aa subscriber to Russell’s History (1916) (2 copies).


Mrs J. Bradley
Subscriber: April 1867 to 6/10/1885.
The share was passed presumably from the older John Bradley and then transferred to C. Bradley.
Deceased.


J. Bradley
He supplied books worth £5 13s 0d on 3 March 1890.
No Nottingham bookseller of this name at this date has been found.


John Bradley (c.1802-1866)
Thread manufacturer.
Lord Mayor of Nottingham 1856-57.
Subscriber: 5/3/1821 to 1/4/1867.
He was a subscriber for more than 46 years.
Committee: 1835, 1836.
He was nominated a new trustee on 28/2/1848.

In 1851 he signed a requisition to the Committee to reduce the annual subscription from 42s 0d to 30s 0d (17/3/1851).
The Standfast Ledger records three borrowings between 12/10/1857 and 17/12/1860.

He married the daughter of Micah Gedling of Gedling and had a large family.
He supported Parliament Street Chapel and was regarded as 'a wise counsellor' in business matters (Mellors, 1924).
The share was passed to Mrs Bradley.


John Bradley, Esq.
Lace manufacturer.
Address: 32 Regent Street.
President: 10 April 1888 to 1 April 1890.
Subscriber: 7/11/1870 to 5/12/1905.
Share number: 21 (certificate: 11/2/1901).

Committee: 1875, 1876, 1878, 1879, 1881, 1882, 1884, 1885, 1887 to 1891, 1894.
Auditor: 1876, 1877, 1879, 1883, 1885, 1886, 1888, 1895, 1898.
Scrutator: 1878, 1879, 1880, 1886, 1887, 1892, 1898.
Finance Committee: 1875, 1876, 1878, 1879, 1881, 1882, 1884, 1885, 1887.
Building sub-committee: 19/3/1883.
Rates liability sub committee (See ––  Michael Browne 1885).
Rates sub-committee: 5/6/1894.
Rules sub-committee: 10/4/1894.
Pearson’s building sub-committee: 11/6/1895.
He attended General Meetings: 1894, 1904.

He was elected President on 10/4/1888. In 1894 he proposed alterations to rules 7, 8 and 23 and this was seconded by S.H. Sands and agreed by the Committee (23/5/1894)

He was active in 1883 in the matter of new shares or debentures and he was a member of a sub-committee set up to consider the use of land to the rear of the Library and to consult with Evans and prepare plans at a cost of no more than £10. This was proposed by Rev W.R. Stevenson and seconded by J.H. Brown (3/7/1882).

He signed the memorial regarding the tenure of the office of President in May 1875.
The matter of the chimney of the tenant, Mr Sutton, was referred to him on 6/11/1888.
He was active in the discussion of rule changes at the General Meeting on 3/4/1894 and proposed a motion regarding rule changes a special Committee meeting on 23/5/1894.

He bought a book (or books) from the Library for 7s 6d on 30/11/1900.
His death was noted at 1905 General Meeting.

See –– Edmund Percy and J. Place.

IMG-3954
IMG-4208
IMG-4221
John Bradley
President 1888 to 1890

One of the two signatures could be that of the other John Bradley (c.1802-1866).
[3954, 4208 & 4221]



Joseph Bradley
Subscriber: 3/12/1838 to 3/2/1840.
Newsroom subscriber: 1831, 1832.
The share transferred from his father, Thomas Lowe Bradley (deceased).


Joseph Bradley
Subscriber: 2/6/1862 to 1/1/1869.


M.G. Bradley
Address: Mansfield.
Subscriber: 7/6/1875 to 3/9/1883.
The share was transferred was from G. Bradley.



Micah Gedling Bradley
Address: West Lodge, Mansfield.
Subscriber: 14/5/1901 to 5/3/1912.
Share number: 77 (Counterfoil dated 3/2/1903).
His death was noted by at the 1911 General Meeting.


Thomas Lowe Bradley
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 3/12/1838.
Newsroom subscriber: 1831, 1832, 1833.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).

The Share Interest Book shows that he held one Bromley House Building Share from 1831 to 1838.
Deceased.
The share was transferred to his son, Joseph Bradley.


Bradshaw
Printers.
On 9/6/1880 they were invited to submit samples for the new catalogue.
They seem not to have done so and were unsuccessful.


Alfred Bradshaw
Subscriber: 1/7/1878 to 4/12/1882.
The share was transferred from Job Bradshaw.
Scrutator: 1881.


F.C. Bradshaw
A share was recorded as being transferred by the executors of W. Hurst to this name on 7/6/1858, but the 1859 General Meeting record of 5/4/1859 shows a transfer to Job Bradshaw.


J. Bradshaw
He is listed as the Secretary of the Law Library which had been situated at Bromley House from 1827. (Orange, 1840; Slater, 1847).


Job Bradshaw
Subscriber: 7/6/1831 to 2/1/1843.
Committee: 1832, 1833.


Job Bradshaw (1804-1877)
Proprietor of the Nottingham Journal.
Address: St James Street.
Subscriber: 5/4/1859 to 1/7/1878.
Newsroom subscriber: 1831.

The Standfast Ledger records three borrowings between 20/5/1837 and 25/3/1867.
He signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867.

He was noted for his stance against the charging for admission to the Arboretum in Nottingham and as a consequence the charges were abolished (Mellors, 1924).
Deceased.
The share was transferred to Alfred Bradshaw.


John Bradshaw
Subscriber: 7/3/1825 to 21/3/1825.


John Bradshaw
Subscriber: 3/12/1827 to 4/3/1833.


William Bradshaw (1836-1921)
Journalist and proprietor of The Nottingham Journal. Gentleman (1907).

Address: Carisbrooke House, Cavendish Crescent, The Park.
Subscriber: 14/6/1892 to 1916.
Share number: 22 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
President: 14/4/1896 to 1/5/1899 and 9/2/1904 to 11/4/1905.
Committee: 1894, 1896 to 1900, 1902 to 1904
He was nominated (4/4/1911) as a Trustee but declined.
Elected President: 14/4/1896.
Finance Committee: 1902, 1903.
Scrutator: 1901.
Rules sub-committee: 10/4/1894.
Magazine sub-committee: 9/10/1900.
Income from rents and shops sub-committee: 10/6/1902.
He attended General Meetings: 1894, 1902, 1903, 1904, 1908, 1909, 1916.

In October 1894 he seconded a motion concerning the revision of the rules of the Library (10/4/1894).

He was designated 'deputy-chairman' of the Committee with the prolonged absence of the President, Henry Hubbart, through illness (15/9/1903).
Hubbart resigned as President early in 1904 and Bradshaw was nominated as his replacement (9/2/1904).

Bradshaw, along with librarian William Moore, attended the International Libraries Conference (venue not stated) and the Committee meeting of 6/7/1897 agreed a payment of £2 2s 0d towards his costs.

He and Henry Hubbart (Honorary Secretary) were rebuked mildly (7/6/1898) for having the drains attended to without the prior approval of the Committee.
However, their action was approved.

This must have been a major problem. Evans attended another meeting (6/12/1898) and produced a certificate for drainage work which in total cost £225 3s 0d and which was done by A. Raynor.
He also recommended that the gravel paths in the garden adjacent to the large reading room be cemented but it is not stated that this was associated with the drainage problem.

In 1902 he proposed a motion, seconded by J. Page, that as the subscribers had indicated support for plans to alter the premises at Bromley House these be proceeded with.
However, the Trustees were not unanimously in favour and so the matter was shelved. (4/7/1902)

He was born at Fletchergate on 21 April 1836.
Having joined the Nottingham Journal in 1850 and he became a partner from 1866 to 1888.
His father was the previous proprietor an he died in 1866.
William founded the Leicester Daily Post in 1870.
He was active as President of the Nottingham Dispensary 1893--94 and 1898, as President of the Nottingham Naturalists Society 1904, as President of the Nottingham General Hospital 1906-07. (Phillimore, 1910)

Gifts:

IMG-3955
IMG-4055
IMG-4233
IMG-4239
Two portraits and two signatures of
William Bradshaw

[3955, 4055, 4233 & 4239]

He was a rich and generous man who contributed to the Society for Church Pastoral Aid, the Bible Society, Nottingham General Hospital and many other charities (Mellors, 1924).


John Howard Bradwell
Estate agent etc.
Address: 4 Pelham Terrace, The Park.
Subscriber: 7/5/1889 to 1916.
Share number: 23 (certificate: 9/2/1901).

He acted as auctioneer at the sale of newspapers and magazines on Wednesday 13/11/1901 and again in 1903 (8/12/1903).

IMG-4114
John Howard Bradwell
[4114]

He was born on 15/5/1841 in Southwell and educated at the Collegiate School in Southwell.


William Howard Bradwell
(1867-1922)
Auctioneer.
Address: 7 Cavendish Crescent, The Park.
Subscriber: 1/8/1911 to 1916.
Share number: 234 (counterfoil dated 16/4/1912).
He bought a book (or books) from the Library for: 16s 6d (3/12/1915)
He was a subscriber to Russell’s History (1916).

Born at Southwell and educated at Nottingham High School and Shrewsbury he was a leading auctioneer in Nottingham.
He was President of the Auctioneers' and Estate Agents' Institute in 1915.

He served as quartermaster in the South Notts Yeomanry distinguishing himself by improving the quality of the food for soldiers.
He was also active in charitable work (Mellors, 1924).


Francis Braithwaite
Hosier.
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 5/11/1866.
Newsroom subscriber: 1831, 1832, 1833.
He was a subscriber for more than 50 years.
Committee: 1823, 1824, 1830, 1831, 1833, 1834, 1838, 1839, 1843, 1844, 1846, 1847, 1849, 1850, 1852, 1853, 1855, 1856, 1858, 1859, 1861, 1862, 1864, 1865.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).

He was named as a Trustee of Bromley House in the minute and document of 1/4/1822.
The Share Interest Book shows that he held one Bromley House Building Share from 1831 to 1856.
Auditor: 1825, 1839, 1847, 1848, 1849, 1851 (could be Joseph).
Scrutator: 1850.
'Spiral staircase' sub-committee of 5/1/1857.
The Standfast Ledger records three borrowings between 7/7/1843 and 16/7/1843.

He proposed that the Committee should have the power to buy shares for not more than £7 and sell them at not less than £10.
This motion was seconded by Mr Wells and carried (2/4/1844).

In November 1858 he and Samuel Adams were to arrange a portrait of Rev R.W. Almond (1/11/1858).
He was appointed as a Trustee of the Library in 1858 (Russell, 1916)

Gifts:
Deceased.

IMG-4185
The signature of Francis Braithwaite
[4185]



Joseph Braithwaite
Subscriber: 1/5/1820 to 5/4/1881.
Newsroom subscriber: 1831, 1832, 1833.
He was a subscriber for more than 60 years.
Committee: 1836, 1837, 1845, 1846, 1851, 1852.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830) twice.
He bought an original share for £7 7s 0d and was admitted as a temporary member.
The Share Interest Book shows that he held six Bromley House Building Shares from 1831 to 1854, and then two shares up to 1856.
Auditor: 1845.
He was elected to Committee on 4/4/1854 but declined to serve.

He seconded the testimonial for Henry Bell, after twelve years as honorary secretary, on 4/4/1865.
The Standfast Ledger records two borrowings between 2/7/1860 and 21/7/1860.

He signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867 as well as that regarding the tenure of the office of President in May 1875.
See –– J. Place.

Gift:


Thomas Braithwaite
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 6/12/1824.
Address: Lenton.
Committee: 1819, 1820.
Auditor: 1820.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).
Deceased.


Thomas Braithwaite
Subscriber: 2/5/1825 to 2/4/1826.


Mrs Thomas Braithwaite
Subscriber: 2/4/1826 to 31/3/1828.
The share was transferred from Thomas Braithwaite.


Captain J.B. Bratich
Newsroom subscriber: 1832, 1833.


John Brazier
See –– Henry Hadden


Superintendent Break(s)
Fire Brigade Officer.
He reported about fire safety (2/2/1909) and his suggestions regarding Ajax extinguishers by Morris & Co of Salford were adopted along with other proposals.


Rev Richard Brent
Address: Low Pavement.
The Standfast Ledger records eight borrowings between 11/7/1863 and 15/10/1863.


J.F.C. Bretland
Decorator.
Address: 9 Low Talbot Street (Post Office, 1876)
He was asked to estimate for the interior and exterior painting of the Library on 2/6/1873.


Brewill & Bailey
See –– Frederick Pearson.


William R. Brewill
Butcher.
See –– Sylvanus Redgate.


Mrs Brewitt
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 1/4/1848. She was one of the nine ladies among the original 164 subscribers listed in on 18 June 1816.
Address: Hoveringham; Basford (1833)

In July 1825 she bought the Examiner newspaper from the library for 10s 0d (4/7/1825).
On 7/8/1843 she was sent a notice of forfeiture of her share.


Mrs Brewster
A slip pasted inside the Minute Book for 1847 refers to her as a widow and that the share had not been transferred.


Frederick Brewster
Gentleman.
Address: 21 Park Valley, The Park.
Subscriber: 2/10/1876 to 3/3/1914.
Share number: 24 (certificate: 2/4/1902).
He bought an original share for £25 on 30/9/1876 and paid £1 1s 0d as subscription for the remaining part of the year (2/10/1876).
Committee: 1884, 1885, 1888, 1889, 1892, 1893 .
Finance Committee: 1884, 1885, 1886.
Auditor: 1888 (could be John T. Brewster)
Licence sub-committee: 1/9/1885.
Rates Committee: 5/1/1886.
Circulating Library subcommittee: 14/6/1892.
Rights of Light sub-committee: 5/2/1889.

At the General Meeting on 2/4/1878 he asked about the rents paid by the tenants.

In February 1894 the Committee asked him to 'see as to the telephone'.
This was regarding the wires fixed to the building and resulted in a payment of £1 1s 0d for the facility (6/2/1894).

He attended General Meetings: 1894, 1903.

A letter found in a cleaner’s cupboard in 1998 reads:

20 Park Valley.

30 November 1903.

Dear Sir,
I beg to call the attention of the Committee to the considerable number of subscriptions due in April last now in arrears from Members of the Library. I suggest to the Committee that they should at once enforce Rule No 36 against the members in arrears and if this proves ineffectual proceedings be taken under Rule No. 37.

    I am, Dear Sir,

        Yours faithfully,

        Frederick Brewster.

Deceased.
His death was reported to the 1913 General Meeting.


Mrs J. Brewster
Subscriber: 1/3/1862 to 1/4/1873.
The share was transferred from John Brewster and then transferred to John Thompson Brewster.


John Brewster
Solicitor.
Subscriber: 1/8/1831 to 1/3/1862.
Committee: 1832, 1833, 1840, 1847, 1848, 1850, 1851, 1853, 1854, 1857, 1858.

On 6/5/1833 it was noted that Thomas Wakefield wished for his loan of £1000 to be repaid.
Brewster and George Freeth agreed to lend this sum at 4%.
Later in the meeting Freeth agreed to loan the whole sum at 4% for 5 years.

On 5/10/1840 he was referred to as 'Deputy Secretary'.
He was nominated as a new trustee on 28/2/1848 and appointed as a Trustee of the Library in 1858 (Russell, 1916).
See –– Mr Topham.

He was one of the three who revised the rules adopted on 12/9/1854.

See –– Hawkes (9/9/1861).
Deceased.
The share was transferred to Mrs Brewster.

IMG-4181
The signature of John Brewster
[4181]


John Thompson Brewster
Solicitor, perpetual commissioner, commissioner of oaths in the Supreme Court and notary public and clerk to the commissioner of taxes.
Address: 4 Low Pavement; home: Italian Villas, 17 Park Terrace, The Park. (Post Office, 1876; White 1885; Kelly, 1891)
President: 1/4/1890 to 5/4/1892.
Subscriber: 1/4/1873 to 3/8/1909.
Share number: 25 (certificate: 2/4/1902).
Committee: 1879, 1880, 1882, 1883, 1886, 1887, 1890, 1891, 1894, 1895, 1898, 1899, 1901, 1902, 1904.
Scrutator: 1875, 1882, 1884.
Auditor: 1881. 1883, 1884, 1888 (could be Frederick Brewster).
Finance Committee: 1880, 1882, 1883, 1887.
Building sub-Committee: 19/3/1883.
He attended General Meetings: 1894, 1903. 1904.

In 1882 a sub-committee was appointed to consider the use of land to the rear of the Library and to consult with Evans and prepare plans at a cost of no more than £10.
This had been proposed by Rev W.R. Stevenson and seconded by J.H. Brown (3/7/1882).
He was a member of the Licence transfer sub-committee (11/9/1885) and reported the Magistrate’s decision regarding the transfer (6/10/1885).
He was also a member of the Rates liability sub-committee (see –– Michael Browne 1885).

He was elected President on 1/4/1890.
He was a member of the sub-committee set up to discuss with the Library’s solicitor, E.H. Fraser, the Library's business methods and presumably the rule changes then under consideration 1/5/1894. Also he was one of ten nominated for the 1904 Committee.

He took over from Michael Browne as solicitor to the Library on 5/3/1888 and on 2/10/1888 he was authorised to obtain the rent from Frettingham & Sons 'by any means'.
On 9/1/1890 he charged the Library £2 2s 0d for legal work.

On 5/3/1889 he was reported as being ill and so  E.H. Fraser drew up the agreement with Mr Pearson, tenant, regarding the rights of light.

His death was acknowledged in the Committee early in 1905 with appreciation of services rendered and regret at the loss of his business knowledge and sound judgement (14/2/1905), and also noted at the 1905 General Meeting.

Gifts:
John Russell (1916) says that this portrait was by Josiah Gilbert.
This came from Mrs J.T. Brewster and presumably from her father's estate (3/11/1908).
In pastel [21 x 16 inches] and dated 1848, it is in the Ellen Harrington Room (2006).

The share was transferred from Mrs J. Brewster and later transferred to Thomas Fox Brewster.
A registration fee of 2s 6d was received on 9/7/1909.

IMG-4222
The signature of John Thompson Brewster
[4222]



Thomas Fox Brewster, BA
Address: 16 Hope Drive, The Park.
Subscriber: 3/8/1909 to 1916.
Share number: 25 (counterfoil dated 12/4/1910).
The share was transferred from John Thompson Brewster (deceased).
A registration fee of 2s 6d was received on 9/7/1909.


W. Brewster
Subscriber: 3/4/1826 to 6/8/1827.


M. Bridges
Address: The Park.
Subscriber: 1/4/1848 to 7/5/1849.
The Standfast Ledger records five borrowings between 19/6/1841 and 4/8/1848.


Arthur Bright, Esq.
Solicitor.
Address: 17 Mapperley Road.
Subscriber: 5/3/1888 to 3/1/1911.
Share number: 26 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
Committee: 1900, 1901, 1906, 1907, 1908, 1909.
Book Committee: 1900, 1907, 1909.
Magazine sub-committee: 9/10/1900.
He attended General Meetings: 1905, 1907, 1908, 1909.
He was 'thrown out' of the Committee on 4/3/1908, but immediately nominated for re-election.
Sub-committee for the constitution (2/3/1909).

Minuted book request (could be from J. Bright; with  J. Russell):
Deceased. A letter of condolence was sent to his family (3/8/1909).



Horace Dickinson Bright
Solicitor.
Address: The Park.
Subscriber: 2/7/1912 to 1916.
Share number: 252 (counterfoil dated 15/4/1913).
A registration fee of 2s 6d for share transfer was received on 28/6/1912.

He was President from 1944 to 1950.

IMG-4268
Horace Dickinson Bright
[4268]



Sir Joseph Bright
Solicitor.
Address: Lincoln Villa, The Park.
Subscriber: 7/7/1879 to 1916.
Share number: 27 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
Scrutator: 1891 (could be A. Bright).
He was knighted in 1907 and referred to as Esq. in 1901.

The General Meeting of 1915 received the following letter recorded in the Minute Book:

                Nottm. Apl 16, 1916.

Dear Mr Page,
    I am sorry I am unable to attend the Annual Meeting of the Bromley House Library this morning, but I am glad to observe from the Report of the Committee that the financial position is satisfactory.
    Had I been present I should have suggested the desirability of the Committee taking into consideration the provision of tea for the members of Bromley House. I could doubtless be made to pay, would supply a long felt want, especially to the Lady members, and have a tending to make the Library more popular and increase the value of the shares, which are now I think at a low ebb.
    I hope this matter will be brought forward and received with favour by the Committee.

        Yours very truly,

            Joseph Bright.

The Minutes continue with:
After some discussion, in which Mr Henry Wyles expressed his personal opposition to such an innovation as supplying tea in the Library Mr Wyles proposed and Mr Crewdson seconded that the letter be referred to the Library Committee for their consideration.

        Carried.

Minuted book request (could be from A. Bright):
He bought a book (or books) from the Library for: 13s 0d ( 17/12/1908.
He was a subscriber to Russell’s History (1916).


Rev Richard Baldwin
(or Baldison) Brindley
Congregational minister.
Address: Ellington, The Park.
Subscriber: 7/4/1885 to 10/6/1902.
Share number: 28 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
Committee: 1893, 1894, 1897, 1898, 1900.
Book Committee: 1893.
He attended the General Meeting of 1894.
The transfer of the share was also recorded for 7/4/1903.


Rev F. Brindley
Address: 93 Goldsmith Street.
The Standfast Ledger records three borrowings between 4/7/1865 and 8/9/1865.


John Potter Briscoe
Nottingham City Librarian.
Address: 2 Forest Grove, Colville Street; 38 Addison Street (1934).

Gifts:
All of these were written by him and donated on 2/10/1906. A letter of thanks was sent on 12/11/1906.

On 3/12/1906 he was thanked by the Library for mementoes of the Kirke White Centenary celebration.
Then on 8/1/1907 he wrote on behalf of the Kirke White Centenary Committee thanking the Library for the loan of a portrait and a book.

John Potter Briscoe was born on 20/7/1848 at Lever Edge, near Bolton, Lancashire, the eldest son of John Daly Briscoe, a schoolmaster, and Mary Elizabeth Scowcroft.
He was educated at his father’s school.

In 1866 he was appointed as assistant librarian to the Bolton Public Library and three years later moved to Nottingham.
He was an original member of the Library Association and a leading figure in the development of professional librarianship.
He extended the existing library services particularly to children.
The Nottingham Library for Boys and Girls opened in 1882 with a donation of £500 from Samuel Morley, the hosiery manufacturer.
Briscoe was a founder of the Nottingham Sette of Odd Volumes, which was a local literary society.

He was married to:
He retired due to ill-health in 1916 and was succeeded as Librarian for Nottingham by his son, Walter Alwyn Briscoe (1878-1934).

Briscoe died at his home at 38 Addison Street on 7/1/1926.

[Alastair Black (2004) Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, vol. 7, pp. 682-684.]



IMG-4056
John Potter Briscoe
[4056]



Mr Bristow
His request that visitors might use the Library was declined (5/6/1891).


British Association for the Advancement of Science
During the 1866 Nottingham meeting members were to be admitted to the Library on production of their tickets (7/8/1866).
This facility was again offered in 1893 (6/6/1893).
See –– Thomas Close; and Frederick Chatfield Smith for gifts of proceedings.



Bromley, Cunliffe & Co.

Stock and share brokers.
Address: Clumber Chambers, 8 Thurland Street. [Wright, 1915]

Registration fees, usually of 2s 6d, for share transfers were received on:
For F.B. Lewis - 3/2/1902
(7s 6d) 1/6/1906
For Preston - 26/4/1907
23/7/1909
(From Woodward to Handford - 30/11/1909
21/3/1910
13/5/1910
24/5/1910
13/9/1910
25/10/1910
25/2/1911
6/9/1911
16/10/1911
11/1/1912
16/2/1912
26/2/1912
23/9/1913
28/5/1914
26/6/1914
5/1/1915
22/11/1915

See –– George Cunliffe


Bromley House
An early description of the house comes from Sutton's Stranger's Guide, issued in 1827 and which is reproduced in Russell’s History (1916) reads as follows:

Quitting the Exchange, and going in a direction towards the west, in Angel Row, which is on the south side of the Market Place, is an elegant brick building, with iron palisades before it, known by the name of Bromley House, which is said to be one of the best built houses in the town. It was erected by Sir George Smith, Bart., whose son afterwards took the name of Bromley, and was one of the ancestors of Sir Robert Howe Bromley, of Stoke, in this County, and hence the building obtained its name.

    It was for many years, the Nottingham residence of that distinguished family, and at one time was used as a banking house; then it was occupied by Thomas Smith, Esquire, but afterwards falling to decay, it was purchased for the Subscription Library of the town.

    On entering the building, you find yourself in the hall, which is much admired for its floor and its ceiling, and over the chimneypiece are the arms of the Smith family, and the head of a female, supposed to have been intended for Queen Anne. On the left is a public news-room, and on the right is a broad flight of stairs leading to the library room.

    On these stairs is a full length portrait, as large as life, of the venerable Dr. Storer, the senior physician in the town; it is an admirable likeness, and was painted by Mr. Barber, whose talents as a portrait painter, do the highest honour to Nottingham, his native place. The library room is in the shape of an angle L. Here is the largest collection of books in the town, consisting of many thousand volumes, in all the various departments of science and literature. Here is also a cabinet of mineralogy, to which additions are constantly making, and the room is adorned with sculptures, paintings, maps, portraits, etc.

    Amongst the paintings we may particularise a view of Clifton Grove, which has been immortalised by the pen of Henry Kirke White. This painting, which is from the pencil and does great credit to the talents of a native artist, Mr. J. R. Walker, is over the fire-place, at the west end of the room. Here are also portraits of Henry Kirke White, Lord Byron, Colonel Hutchinson, The Rev. George Walker, Colonel Elliott, Sir R. Arkwright, D. P. Coke, Esq., John Smith, Esq., T. Hawkesley, Esq., George Coldham, Esq., Thomas Denman, Esq., Joseph Birch, Esq., and many others, whose names are connected with the local history of this town and neighbourhood. There are one hundred and one proprietors of this library, a share in which sells for about L15, and there is an annual payment of £2. The librarian is Mr. James Archer. Strangers can have the privilege of the library for one month, if properly recommended and introduced by a member. One side of the library room is devoted to the reception of the Standfast library, which was given in 1744, by the Rev. Wm. Standfast, D.D. as the foundation of a public library in this town. In this building there is an excellent billiard table, and the exhibitions of the Nottingham Florist and Horticultural Society, are held in one of the apartments.


Russell (1916) quotes Blackner in 1815 as saying:

Bromley House, so called from the late Sir George Bromley, whose father erected it, stands on Angel Row, and is considered the best built house in the town.

Orange, in his History of Nottingham, as restated by Russell (1916), wrote:-
.... the news of the lamentable defeat of Lord John Russell's Reform Bill reached Nottingham at 7 o'clock on the evening of October 8th, 1831. The unwelcome intelligence was no sooner read in the news-room at Bromley House than a respectably signed requisition was sent to the Mayor calling on him to convene without delay, a public meeting to address the King, praying that he would continue his ministers, and that such measures might be adopted "as would ensure the carrying of Earl Grey's measure of Reform."
 

Tenants at Bromley House
The tenancy agreements at Bromley House are both lengthy and complex.

The list below was compiled from  information taken from various trade directories and the dates shown should be used as an approximate indication of tenancy.
Not all tenancies ran continuously.

Tenants of Bromley House
Coal
Civil engineers, architects, land and estate agents
Barber Walker & Co Coal owners 1894 to 1915
Coke, Mills & Coke Civil engineers 1891
Hill & Slack Coal merchants & estate agents 1891 to 1894
Richard  Hardy, ARIBA Architect 1876
J.J. Hill Exectutors 1898
Alfred James Holbrook, LRIBA Architect 1910 to 1915
E. Reeve & Co Coal merchants 1915
Jackson & Heazell Architects 1855 to 1862
Recreation and education
John  Jackson Architect, surveyor & land agent 1876
Chess Club 1840 to 1862
Jalland & Hawkesly Architects & surveyors & insurance agents 1848
Natural History Society 1840 to 1847
Frederick W.  Heazell House & estate agent 1904 to 1915
 The Thoroton Society 1910 to 1915
Henry Mills Mansfeldt Civil engineer with
Coke, Mills & Coke
1891
Photography
William Brandreth  Savidge, ARIBA Architect 1913 to 1915
John Frederick  Davis Photographic artist 1855
Cecil J Smith Architect 1910
Wallace Edwin  Middleton Architects' & engineers' photographer 1904 to 1915
Sutton & Gregory Architects & surveyors 1910 to 1915
George Popowitz Photographer 1847
E.R.E. Sutton Architect 1898 to 1904
Sylvanus  Redgate Photographic artist 1858 to 1898
Richard Charles  Sutton Architect 1862 to 1910
Mr Thompson
Photographer
1849

Stocks and shares
Joseph Whitlock

1847

Jonathan  Neville Share & stock broker 1847 to 1848
Whitlock & Thompson
Photographers
1849 to 1853

George Henry  Parr Stock & share broker 1910 to 1913
Wine and spirits merchants; brewers
Peet, Son & Potter Share brokers 1847
Mary H. Smith Wine & spirit merchant 1841 to 1848
Others
William  Smith Wine & spirit merchant 1832 to 1835
John  Frettingham & Son Nurserymen 1885
Matthew  Hawkes Spirit merchant 1858 to 1862
Herbert Lindley  Redgate Lace curtain designer 1891
Perry & Son Brewers 1862
Ezekiel Umney Basketmaker 1876
Charles Hewes Perry Wine and spirit merchant 1876
Others - occupations unknown


Binton
1836

Harrison
to 1853

Price
1855

Wilson
to 1886

No 15 Angel Row (on the side towards St James's Street and the Market Square) has also been considered as part of Bromley House.
Tenants there included.
Sarah Bloore Bookseller 1848 to 1855

The Watts family Brush and basket makers 1825 to 1862
Samuel Burtt Grocer, tea dealer and seedsman 1848

Samuel Bullivant (& Son)
Basket makers 1885 to 1916



Albert Nelson Bromley
Address: Newcastle Drive, The Park.
Subscriber: 2/3/1915 to 5/10/1915.
Share number: 68 (counterfoil dated 16/4/1915).



Richard Bromley
William Bromley

For the origins of the Bromley family that gave its name to Bromley House see –– The Smith Family.


William Frederick Bromley, Esq.
Stock and share broker.
Address: 16 Park Terrace, The Park.
Subscriber: 1/7/1872 to 1916.
President: 1917 to 1920.
Share number: 29 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
Committee: 1906 to 1915
Book Committee: 1912, 1916
Finance Committee: 1906, 1913 to 1916.
He was listed as F. Bromley when he was one of ten nominations for the 1904 Committee.
In 1874 he was one of 27 nominated as a Trustee of the Library, but he was not one of the 14 elected (17/3/1874).
However, he was nominated (4/4/1911) and subsequently elected (28/4/1911) as a Trustee from 1912.
Scrutator: 1904.
He attended General Meetings: 1894, 1903, 1905, 1906, 1907, 1908, 1909, 1910, 1911, 1912, 1913, 1914, 1915, 1916 (apologies).

An undated suggestions slip found in a cleaner’s cupboard in 1998 reads:

The light in the library is dreadful - It is almost impossible to read the names of the Books except just under the Lamps.
Will the Committee kindly consider this matter?

W. F. Bromley.
A. Bradley

He bought a book (or books) from the Library for 5s 0d on 8/12/1903 (This was recorded in the ‘Special’ column in the Accounts Book.
His subscription for 1916-17 was remitted as the Committee had not allowed the transfer of his share to a Mr C. (5/10/1915)
He was a subscriber to Russell’s History (1916).

He signed counterfoil number 273 for share number 42 in the name of Frances Ethelreda Edge dated 14/5/1903.
He, and five others, signed share certificates such as that issued to John Holland Walker on 9/4/1907.

A registration fee for share transfer of 2s 6d was received on 24/12/1910, presumably on behalf of one of his clients

IMG-4261
IMG-4248
William Frederick Bromley
[4261 & 4248]



Mr Brooke(s)
On 6/1/1845 he had two windows installed (or ‘broken out’) into the Library passage and was charged 10s 0d per annum for the use of each.


Rev J.W. Brookes
Subscriber: 1/7/1850 to 1/4/1865.
The name also appears as 'Brooks'.
The Standfast Ledger records one borrowing between 17/11/1857 and 17/11/1857.

This is most likely Canon J.W. Brooks MA (c. 1790-1882) who was vicar of Clarborough near Retford and who became vicar of St Mary's, Nottingham in 1844.
He was a notably active churchman and he retired to Great Ponton in Lincolnshire. (Mellors, 1924)


Dr Joseph Orme (or Orpe) Brookhouse, MD
Physician or surgeon.
Address: 1 East Circus Street.
Subscriber: 5/5/1884 to 10/12/1901.
Share number: 30 (certificate: undated).


John Brough
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 28/3/1817.


Brown & Smart
also
Smart & Brown
Furniture warehouse & cabinet maker.
Address: 7 Bridlesmith Gate & Victoria Street. [Post Office Directory of Nottinghamshire, 1876]


Brown
A payment of 1s 0d was made for carriage on 18/3/1890.


Rev Brown
See –– T.H. Smith.


Arthur Brown

City Engineer for Nottingham.
Address: Glenthorn, Lucknow Avenue.

On 15/1/1904 the Library declined the City’s offer of £50 for the strip of land in front of Bromley House.
Robert Evans & Son
were involved.

IMG-4119
Arthur Brown
[4119]

He was born on 21/11/1851 in Nottingham and educated at Nottingham Grammar School.


Charles Brown
Subscriber: 3/4/1821 to 2/6/1823.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).


Cornelius Brown (1852-1907)
The purchase of his History of Newark Vol. I. for £1 2s 0d was recorded on 8/11/1904.

Born in Lowdham he became a reporter for the Nottingham Daily Guardian, and then editor of the Newark Advertiser at the age of 22.
He wrote a number of books on the history of Nottinghamshire culminating with his two volume Annals of Newark (Bromley House Cc362 in 2006) which he completed just days before his death (Mellors, 1924).
See –– Whiles & Brown.


Frederick Brown
Subscriber: 1/1/1866 to 1/4/1873.
The share was transferred from J. Brown.

The Interest Book has a number of receipt slips pasted inside its covers and these include one acknowledging payment on 24/9/1869 of £1 17s 6d presumably interest on Bromley House Building Shares to Frederick Brown at Brown & Sons, 15 Castle Gate.


George Brown
In 1831 he and his wife, Mary, were applicants for the post of Library porter (2/5/1831).


J. Brown
Subscriber: 3/10/1853 to 1/1/1866.
The share was transferred to Frederick Brown.


J.R. Brown
Subscriber: April 1846 to April 1871.
The name is also listed as 'Browne'.
The Standfast Ledger records two borrowings between 22/6/1849 and 3/9/1849.
The share was passed to Mrs. Brown.


Mrs J.R. Brown
Subscriber: April 1871 3/5/1875.
The share was passed from J.R. Brown.


John Brown
On 2/5/1831 he and his wife were applicants for the post of Library porter.


John Brown
Lithographic printer.

IMG-4160
IMG-4159
Mary Brown
née Pearson of Beverley

Her portrait is by Sylvanus Redgate

John Brown
His portrait by Sylvanus Redgate is dated 1869 and endorsed:

John Brown b. Broadmarsh Nottingham June 1819. d. 1900.
Lithographic printer, High Pavement.

Both portraits are in the Thoroton Room.
[4160 & 4159]



John Henry Brown (1836-1911)
The name is also listed as 'Browne'.
Wine merchant.
Address: Old Moot Hall.
Subscriber: 23/3/1863 to 3/10/1911
He was a subscriber for more than 48 years.
Share number: 31 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
Committee: 1869, 1870, 1879, 1880, 1882, 1883, 1885, 1886, 1888, 1890, 1891, 1893, 1894, 1896, 1897, 1903.
Auditor: 1884.
Book Committee: 1880, 1882, 1883, 1885, 1886, 1888, 1890, 1891, 1893, 1896, 1897, 1897.
He was appointed as a Trustee of the Library in 1874 and again in 1912.

In 1896 J.M. Perry proposed and J.H. Brown seconded a vote of thanks to John Manning for his services to the Library (5/5/1896) .

He signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867 as well as that regarding the tenure of the office of President in May 1875. See –– J. Place.

In 1874 he was one of 27 nominated as a Trustee of the Library, and he was one of the 14 elected (17/3/1874).
He also was named as one of six trustees on 7/4/1902 and on 4/2/1904 he wrote as a trustee and expressed his neutrality towards the alterations proposed to Bromley House and suggested that they 'let the matter drop'.

He was recorded as the seconder of a motion at the somewhat busy Annual Meeting of 1875, but on 3/5/1875 the Committee received a letter from him denying that he had seconded any such motion.
In 1888 he was co-opted to the Committee to replace John Bradley who had been elected President.

Gifts:
He was the grandson of the Nottingham wine merchant, Thomas Bailey, and he wrote poetry (Mellors, 1924).

His death was noted at the 1911 General Meeting and caused the Committee to reconsider the matter of trustees as the number was down to three.
He was one of the last four remaining Trustees from the 1874 election.
A letter of condolence was sent to his family (7/2/1911) addressed to Miss Brown, Flawford House, Ruddington.

A registration fee of 2s 6d for share transfer was received from his executors on 26/9/1911.

IMG-4228
The signature of John Henry Brown
[4228]



Mary Brown
On 2/5/1831 she and her husband, George, were applicants for the post of Library porter.


Mary Brown
Her portrait by Sylvanus Redgate (q.v.), dated 1869 is in the Thoroton Room (2006).
She was the wife of John Brown, lithographic printer.


Nellie Brown
Counterfoil number 140, dated 20/3/1909, for share number 140 records that she was one of four trustees for the late Louis G. Liepmann.


William Brown
Subscriber: 1/1/1855 to 3/10/1864.
The share was transferred from Walter Brown.


Mr Browne
Solicitor.
See –– W.C. Lock.


Mrs Browne
The Share Interest Book shows that she held two Bromley House Debenture shares in January 1859 and three from July 1859 to July 1864.


Arthur Browne
Solicitor.
Address: Rock Cottage, Parkside, Derby Road.
Subscriber: 5/5/1891 to 1916.
Share number: 32 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
The share was transferred from M. Browne.
He attended General Meetings: 1902, 1903, 1904, 1905, 1906, 1909, 1915.

Minuted book requests:
He was a subscriber to Russell’s History (1916).


Charles Browne
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 3/1/1817.


Charles Browne
Subscriber: 5/1/1824 to 5/4/1830.


Hugh Browne
Subscriber: 6/6/1864 to 1/5/1899.
Scrutator: 1880
He was one of the 23 subscribers asking in 1867 that salaries and wages at the Library be reduced (2/3/1867).
In 1874 he was one of 27 nominated as a Trustee of the Library, but he was not one of the 14 elected (17/3/1874).
On 6/2/1882 he proposed that the Library take the magazine Music.
He was present at the General Meeting of 1894.


The Venerable John Henry Browne
Archdeacon of Ely and Rector of Cotgrave.
Address: Cotgrave.
Subscriber: 3/4/1821 to 6/4/1824 and 1/10/1849 to 6/12/1858.
Committee: 1821.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).
He was named as a Trustee of Bromley House in the minute and document of 1/4/1822.
He was also appointed as a Trustee of the Library in 1858 (Russell, 1916).

The Standfast Ledger records one borrowing on 22/7/1858.

Deceased.


Rev M. Browne
Subscriber: 6/11/1848 to April 1849.
Address: Sneinton.


Michael Browne & Sons
Tenants.
Solicitors.
Address: 2 Church Gate, Low Pavement (Kelly, 1891).

They were solicitors and agents for the County Fire, Commercial Union Fire, Scottish Equitable Life Insurance Companies & the Employers’ Liability Assurance Corporation at 2 Church Gate, Low Pavement. [White, 1885; Kelly, 1891]

They paid £54 0s 0d per annum, usually half-yearly, from 17/12/1878 to March 1883.

The Library paid them for legal work with payments recorded from 1877 through to 1890. In March 1884 their bill was for £65 13 0d and this was presumably to do with the Rates negotiations (See  –– Michael Browne).

The rent that they were paying was questioned on 3/7/1882.


Michael Browne (c.1801-1891)
Solicitor, commissioner for oaths and the Coroner for Nottingham (Heathcote, 2005).
Address: Brougham Chambers, Wheeler Gate. [Post Office, 1876); at Michael Browne & Sons.
Home address: Lenton (1865); ‘Coroner’s House’, Gregory Boulevard (Mellors, 1914); Tattershall Drive, The Park. [White, 1885]
Subscriber: 2/1/1832 to 5/5/1891.
He was a subscriber for more than 59 years.
Newsroom subscriber: 1831, 1832.
President: 3 April 1876 to 1 April 1878.
Committee: 1834, 1835, 1839, 1840, 1843, 1844, 1847, 1848, 1850, 1851, 1853, 1854, 1856, 1857, 1859, 1860, 1862, 1863, 1865, 1866, 1868, 1869, 1871, 1872, 1874, 1875, 1877, 1881, 1882, 1884, 1885, 1887, 1888.
Book Committee: 1878, 1879.
Sub-committee concerned with buildings to be erected to the south of the Library’s premises: 5/11/1877.
Catalogue committee: 1835.
Auditor: 1848, 1858.
Scrutator: 1849.
He was nominated as a new trustee on 28/2/1848. He was appointed as a Trustee of the Library in 1858. and again in 1874 (Russell, 1916).
He was one of the three who revised the rules adopted on 12/9/1854.
He was also a member of 'Spiral staircase' sub-committee of 5/1/1857.
In April 1862 he replaced the deceased John Brewster as the Library’s solicitor.
On 3/4/1877 he was elected President.

He chaired the special meetings concerned with the tenure of the President in 1875.
The Standfast Ledger records 19 borrowings between 16/2/1838 and 28/5/1867.
 In 1864 he bought the Herbarium and its case from the Library for £10 (6/6/1864).

He proposed the statement about the late Samuel Newham at the Annual Meeting in 1875 and moved another motion at the somewhat busy Annual Meeting of 1875.

On 4/2/1878 it was noted that the room rented by John Jackson was to be taken over by M. Browne & Sons from 25 March at £54 per annum while finding their own coals and gas.

His offer of a loan of £400 at 4.5 per cent repayable in instalments of not less than £20 was accepted.
The motion was proposed by R. Hutchinson and seconded by Dr Truman (3/6/1884).
The loan of £400 was made from 27/6/1884 and this and the subsequent interest and repayments appear in the Accounts Books.
He was repaid £40 0s 0d on 21/4/1886, £100 on 5/3/1887 and a further £100 on 16/4/1887 leaving £160 as of 16/4/1887.
He received interest at 4.5% per annum receiving £9 0s 0d on 5/1/1885, 7/9/1885 and 6/1/1886.
Further payments of £8 14s 0d on 9/7/1886 and £8 2s 0d on 13/1/1887 were recorded in the Accounts Book.
This loan was repaid on 7/6/1887

Library's Solicitor
In April 1862 he replaced the deceased John Brewster as the Library’s solicitor and as such he gave his opinion (7/7/1873 & 4/8/1873) on:
He attended the Committee meeting of 2/10/1876 as the solicitor to the Library.

He also advised about an easement on the southern boundary of the Library’s property (5/5/1879) and he was asked to confer with Mr Pearson’s solicitor regarding encroachments (9/6/1879).
This matter was still under consideration on 3/5/1880 and 7/6/1880, and on 6/12/1880 and 3/1/1881 the matter of water in the party wall between Pearson’s property and the Library was reported to the Committee by Browne.
On 3/3/1884 Browne was advising on a possible objection to a building being erected by Pearson.
This dispute continued throughout 1884.
See –– Pearson.

Also in 1884 Browne & Sons advised on the Library’s liability to pay rates.
Michael Browne consulted with the Assessment Committee and it was decided that the Library was liable to rates but that he would appeal to the Quarter Sessions (1/12/1884).
This appeal was lost and a sub-committee of Dr Cox, W.R. Thorpe, Bradley, Browne and Sands (Honorary secretary) was to try to put the Library into an exempt situation (2/2/1885).
A further sub-committee was set up comprising E.H. Fraser, Brewster, Rev W H Stevenson, Parker Woodward and W.R. Thorpe to obtain further information about rating. (4/5/1885)
This committee reported on 5/1/1886 concluding that nothing further could be done.
The matter resurfaced in 1896 when E.H. Fraser, Parker Woodward and J. Russell were appointed as a Sub-committee to see if Bromley House could be exempted from local rates. (3/11/1896)
In January 1887 they reported that no further action should be taken (5/1/1897)
 
After 26 years as solicitor to the Library he informed the Committee of his wish to resign (5/3/1888) and Mr Brewster (Frederick or John T. ?) was to act as needed.
He returned a number of legal documents to the Library on 6 /1/1891.

IMG-4080
IMG-4187
Michael Browne
with his signature
[4080 & 4187]

See  –– Michael Browne & SonsHawkes; Pearson; Prince of Wales.

The share was transferred to A. Browne. Solicitor: Brougham Chambers, Wheeler Gate (Post Office, 1876).


Walter Browne
Subscriber: 1/2/1887 to 1/11/1892.
The share was transferred to S. Browne.


William Browne
Subscriber: 1/1/1844 to 5/8/1844.
Address: Broughton.


Mrs A. (Mary) Brownsword
Widow.
Address: Newcastle Circus, The Park.
Subscriber: 1/11/1892 to 14/1/1902.
Share number: 34.
The share was transferred from Mary Brownsword (deceased) to Arthur Brownsword.
A Mrs Brownsword was a subscriber to Russell’s History (1916).


A. Brownsword
He was the President of the Nottingham Philharmonic Choir which met at Bromley House. (Wright, 1894-95).


Anderson Brownsword, Esq., JP
Address: Chestnut House, Mapperley Road; and Dilham House, Norfolk.
Subscriber: 1/9/1873 to 1916.
Share number: 33 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
Minuted book request:

IMG-4094
Anderson Brownsword
[4094]

He was born on 23/6/1839 in Nottingham and he married Jane, daughter of Benjamin Walker of Lenton Priory.
They had one son and one daughter.
His death was noted at the General Meeting on 16/4/1912.


Mrs Anderson Brownsword
Mrs Mary Brownsword
Subscriber: 2/12/1890 to 3/11/1891.
Share number: 34 (certificate: 9/2/1901).


Arthur Brownsword
Lace manufacturer.
Address: Fernhurst, Gregory Boulevard.
Subscriber: 14/1/1902 to 1916.
Share number: 34 (Counterfoil number 263, dated 13/1/1903, is endorsed 'Watson, Wadsworth & Ward'.
The share was transferred from Mary Brownsword.


J.H. Brownsword
Subscriber: 5/4/1881 to 4/5/1886.
See Edmund Percy - New shares or debentures - 1883.
Deceased.


N. Broxholme
Newsroom subscriber: 1833.


James Brunner
Warehouseman and corresponding clerk.
Address: Cropwell Road, Radcliffe-on-Trent.
Subscriber: 1/5/1899 to 1916.
Share number: 35 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
Committee: 1901, 1902, 1904, 1905.
Book Committee: 1901, 1902, 1904, 1905.
He attended General Meetings: 1902, 1903, 1903.
He was one of ten nominations for the 1904 Committee and was the third choice (out of three) for the Committee of 1910 (1/3/1910).

Minuted book request:
As a member of the Book Committee he was involved with the production of lists of works by standard authors and he started with Balzac (5/11/1901).

Gift:
His death on 9/5/1913 at the age of 48 was noted at the 1914 General Meeting.
He is buried in the cemetery at Radcliffe-on-Trent.

In 1927 his widow, Isabel Brunner, donated some 350 French books to the Library.
These had been in the possession of her son, Adolphe Brunner.
He was born in Paris in 1852, had been a teacher at Nottingham High School in the 1870s and died of a lung infection in 1882.
(Sue Severn, assistant librarian, organised an exhibition of these books which had received conservation treatment. February 2006)

Brunner-Grave-4422



The Grave of
James Brunner
(b.c.1865; d. 9 May 1913)

and his wife

Isabel Brunner
(b.c. 1867; d. 5 September 1954)

in
Vicarage Lane Cemetery,
Radcliffe-on-Trent









[4422]



George Bryan
Address: High Pavement Chapel.
He was a subscriber to Russell’s History (1916).


Mrs Selena Buckingham
Widow.
Address: Clumber Lodge, The Park.
Subscriber: 2/12/1890 to 4/5/1909.
Share number: 36 (counterfoil: undated).
Deceased.
The share was transferred to Vincent Curzon Buckingham.


Vincent Curzon Buckingham
Gentleman.
Address: The Park; 1 Brunel Terrace, Derby Road.
Subscriber: 4/5/1909 to 1916.
Share number: 36 (counterfoil dated 12/4/1910).
The share was transferred from Mrs Selena Buckingham (deceased).

He was a subscriber to Russell’s History (1916).


Dr James Charles Buckley
Surgeon.
Address: 11 Goldsmith Street.
Subscriber: 8/1/1907 to 1916.
Share number: 199 (counterfoil dated 9/4/1907).

 Registration fees for share transfers of 2s 6d in the name of Buckley were received from A.E. Blake on 21/12/1906 (transfer from Smith and from Beeby & Ainsworth on 20/1/1908 (transfer from LaSalle).

He was born in 1870 in Manchester and educated at the Leys School in Cambridge and at Owens College, Manchester and Manchester Royal Infirmary.

BuckleyJC
Dr James Charles Buckley
[4029]



Mrs Eliza Ellen Budd
Wife of John Budd.
Address: Lurlei, Private Road, Sherwood.
Subscriber: 6/6/1911 to 1916.
Share number: 92 (counterfoil dated 16/4/1912).
She bought a book (or books) from the Library for: 16s 0d (16/1/1915)


Rev Edward Bull
Subscriber: 1/5/1848 to 1/10/1849.


Samuel Bullivant (also J. Bullivant)
Tenant - Matting, basket, hamper and perambulator maker.
Address: 15 Angel Row, Long Row East and 4 Argrave Street.
His home addresses were: 24 Havelock Street. [White, 1885]; 13 Harcourt Terrace, Lamartine Street (Wright, 1894-95).

Bullivant & Son were basket makers at 21 Milton Street (Post Office, 1876);
Samuel Bullivant & Son. were basket maker s at 15 Angel Row (Telephone number: 75Y); works: 56 1/2 St James Street [Wright, 1915]

His bill heading of April 1894 shows him as S. Bullivant (late E. Umney) Basket, hamper & Perambulator Manufacturer; Willow Rod Merchant of 15 Angel Row, Market Place, and his terms were ‘1 month nett’.

Early in 1883 it was proposed that he took over the space rented by Mr Umney at £20 per annum (4/2/1883) and this was confirmed on 5/3/1883.
This rent, paid quarterly, remained constant from 1883 through to 1896.
In 1885 he wished to erect a lamp and this was considered by the Committee (6/4/1885).

The Library made some use of their neighbour with payments recorded between March 1887 and June 1909. These included 5s 0d for steps (5/9/1886), £2 4s 6d for window repairs (September 1888), 3s 0d for brushes (3/5/890) and 7s 4d for repairs to chairs (June 1909). There were many other small payments for unspecified items.

On 3/11/1892 a minute confirms the tenancy at £20 per annum. The Library Rent Books show J. Bullivant paying £20 per annum payable quarterly from June 1900 to January 1902. Then S. Bullivant is named and he continued these payments to March 1905 and then £25 per annum up to 1916.

In January 1906 Mr Bullivant complained about a showcase belonging to Matthews & Co (Dixon & Parker) of Angel Row (2/1/1906). On 15/1/1906 the Library asked E.H. Fraser, solicitor for the Library, for advice on this matter. There had been three dummies used to display clothing on the pavement to the south-east of Bromley House. These had been replaced by a showcase which interfered with the view of stock in Bullivant's shop.

On 19/1/1906 the Library referred the matter of the showcase to Sir Samuel Johnson, Kt. as City Clerk to Nottingham. Fraser, stated that the cases could not remain in place (6/2/1906). The suggestion of an acknowledgement payment of one guinea per year was made (8/2/1906).but the problem was not solved.

In April Bullivant asked again about these cases (3/4/1906) and nothing had been done when John Russell wrote to Fraser on 9/4/1906 nor by 4/10/1906. On 18/10/1906 Russell wrote to Sir Samuel Johnson, referring to him as ‘Town Clerk’ and asking that he withdraw the licence for the showcase. Fraser was again written to (2/10/1906) and the Town Clerk was once mare involved. A proposal was made that the show-case was dismantled in one month but an extension to Christmas was refused. However, on 12/11/1906 no extension of time for removal of the showcase was offered, but on 19/11/1906 the Library was thanking the City Clerk as Matthews & Co had agreed to remove their showcase within one month.

In 1910 a Mr Bullivant wrote asking for the tenancy of the cellar to be transferred from the late S. Bullivant to himself and his sister ( 1/11/1910).

Pearson & Son’s long running dispute with the Library over the display of goods and the obstruction of windows spilled over to include Bullivant. Both Pearson and Bullivant received letters complaining about the height of their displays adjacent to the Library (14/8/1912).

Bullivant’s had a sign over their entrance to the basement and in November 1915 Pearson & Pearson were allowed to erect a similar sign.

See –– Pearson; Matthews & Co

Scan-Bullivant
Samuel Bullivant's bill
of 23 April 1894 for '2 Skips, repaired, rebottomed, rehandled etc. 2s 6d.



Samuel Bullivant, Esq.
Physician and surgeon.
Address: 22 Annesley Grove.
Subscriber: 5/4/1898 to 11/9/1900.
Share number: 37 (certificate: undated).


Miss L. Buob

Subscriber: 7/1/1861 to 3/11/1862.


Mr Burgess
On 20/3/1832 he paid 9s 6d for the Courier (16/1/1832 to 25/2/1832). (Newsroom Subscription Book 1831-1834)


Thomas Burgess
See –– John Walton, Librarian.


Dr Thomas Burnie, MD
Surgeon.
Address: 389 Mansfield Road, Carrington.
Subscriber: 2/1/1871 to 1916.
By 1916 he had been a subscriber for more than 45 years.
Share number: 38 (certificate: undated).

Gift:
His death was noted at the 1916 General Meeting.
A Miss Burnie was a subscriber to Russell’s History (1916) (2 copies).
See –– Edgar Becket Truman.


Mr Burnside
On 4/8/1834 Mrs Attenborough was fined 2s 6d per volume for lending Water Witch to Mr Burnside.


William Burnside
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 20/9/1816.
Committee: 1816.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).
He was a member of the original Committee (1816) as well as the 1816 Committee set up to collect deposits.
A letter from a Mr Burnside was recorded (19/7/1816) but no content noted.
He left the Committee (2/8/1816) and was said to have 'left the town'.
He was replaced by Pennington or Hurst.


William Burnside
Subscriber: 7/4/1818 to 7/4/1823.


Sergeant Burroughes
Police.
See –– Mrs Walton.


John Hardmett Burrows
Address: 6 Burns Street.
Subscriber: 6/11/1871 to 1916.
Share number: 39 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
The share was transferred from R. Burrows.
Gift:

He bought a book (or books) from the Library for:
 7s 6d 12/12/1902
2s 6d 12/12/1908
8s 6d 8/12/1903
2s 6d 11/12/1909
6s 6d 9/12/1905
2s 9d 26/11/1910
1s 0d 27/12/1906
6s 6d 16/12/1911
4s 6d
7/11/1907
1s 0d 10/12/1913



Richard Burrows
Subscriber: 5/11/1849 to 6/11/1871.
Address: Ruddington.
He signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867.
The share was transferred to H. Burrows.


H. Burstall

Subscriber: 7/1/1861 to 4/4/1865.
Address: Watnall (1865).


Mr Burton
Artist and drawing master.
Address: He was based at Bromley House. (Orange, 1840).


Miss Burton
Subscriber: 3/3/1851 to 2/7/1855.
Address: Carrington.
The name can be read as 'Barton' early on.


Francis Burton
Subscriber: 5/12/1859 to 5/12/1870.
He signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867.


Frank Ernest Burton
Merchant. Director: Joseph Burton & Son.
Address: Edale House, The Park.
Subscriber: 1/10/1907 to 1916.
Share number: 40 (counterfoil dated: 7/4/1908).
The share was transferred from Joseph Burton.
Gift:
He was born on 3/3/1865 in Nottingham.

BurtonFE
Frank Ernest Burton
[4095]



George Burton
Tenant.
On 7/9/1846 he took over the tenancy at the library from John Burton.
He died shortly before 1/11/1847 and the rent of his room was to be charged to his relatives until it was let on 26/2/1848.
A payment of £5 0s 0d was made by 'Geo. Burton's executors' on 9/11/1847.


George Anthony Burton
Address: Lenton Road, The Park.
Subscriber: 13/12/1904 to 1916.
Share number: 182 (counterfoil dated: 20/5/1905). A registration fee of 2s 6d was received on 22/5/1905.
He paid 3s 6d for a catalogue on 30/1/1905.
Minuted book request:


John Burton
Portrait painter; tenant
The Subscriptions Book records his payments of £3 15s 0d as quarterly rent for a room at Bromley House from 10/6/1835.
On 5/1/1846 his rent was reduced from £15 to £12 per annum and on 7/9/1846 his tenancy passed to George Burton.
His last payment of £3 0s 0d was made on 20/9/1847.


Joseph Burton, Esq.
Merchant.
Address: 15 Mapperley Road.
Subscriber: 3/3/1891 to 1/10/1907.
Share number: 40 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
The share, which had come from H.W. Lambert, was transferred to Frank Ernest Burton.


Samuel Burtt
Grocer, tea dealer and seedsman.
Address: 15 Angel Row (Lascelles, 1848)
This is considered by some to be part of Bromley House.


Samuel Burtt
Subscriber: 5/12/1853 to 1/2/1869.
The Standfast Ledger records six borrowings between 27/6/1864 and 27/5/1866.
He signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867.
The share was transferred from Mrs Burtt.


Mrs Mary Bury
Address: 20 Balmoral Road; and 43 Alexandra Street, Sherwood.
Subscriber: 5/1/1885 to 1/9/1914.
Share number: 41 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
She bought a new share for £40.
Deceased. Her death was noted at the 1914 General Meeting.
The transfer of the share was considered on 5/5/1914 and completed on 1/9/1914.


Rev W. Butcher
Subscriber: 22/6/1820 to 2/7/1827.


Rev William Butcher
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 16/10/1818.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830) twice.


Miss Butler
Subscriber: 6/6/1864 to 5/8/1867.
Address: Bradmore.
S.M. Butler signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867.


A.J. Butler
Subscriber: 2/2/1885 to 7/2/1888.


Anna Butler
She gave a copy of her History of Steyning, Sussex (17/4/1914).


Arthur Joynes Butler, JP
Director: M. Jacoby & Co. and S. Burton & Co.
Address: Mapperley House, Private Road, Sherwood.
Subscriber: 5/12/1905 to 1916.
Share number: 21 (counterfoil dated 1/6/1906). A registration fee for share transfer of 2s 6d was received from A.E. Blake on 20/3/1904.
He was a subscriber to Russell’s History (1916).
He was born on 11/1/1848 in Sneinton.

ButlerAJ
Arthur Joynes Butler, JP
[4096]



Rev J.W. Butler
Address: St Nicholas; and possibly Loughborough.
The Standfast Ledger records 55 borrowings between 8/4/1841 and 12/1/1857.
See –– William Parsons' Diary


Rev P.J. Butler
He was the Secretary of the Society for the Study of Natural History that was to use a room at the Library (5/12/1836).
His name appears in the Subscription Book in connection with a payment on 12/3/1838 of £29 12s 0d as rent up to 25/9/1837.


T. Butler
Subscriber: 1/4/1829 to 1/8/1864.
Address: Plumtree.
The initial share purchase was by Mr. Butler, and the final transfer by T. Butler.

He was Rev Mr Pantryman in the pamphlet The Literary Mousetrap published on 14/2/1829 satirising the debates that were taking place at Bromley House Library.


Rev W. Butler
Subscriber: 3/5/1858 to 3/12/1860.
A Rev. W. Butler sold his share on 3/12/1860.
The meeting of 4/3/1861 decided that he was thus ineligible to remain on the Committee.
He was replaced by the Hon Rev C. Willoughby.


W.J.N. Butler
Subscriber: 3/12/1860 to 1/6/1863.
The share was transferred from Rev W. Butler.


Rev William Butler, MA
Subscriber: 4/11/1833 to 6/6/1836.
He declined membership of the Committee in 1836.

Rev William Butler
Subscriber: 4/9/1848 to 7/10/1867.
Committee: 1860 ?
On 17/3/1851 he signed a requisition to the Committee to reduce the annual subscription from 42s 0d to 30s 0d.
See –– the other Rev W. Butler.
An entry for share transfer on 2/4/1867 was crossed through.


Rev William J. Butler or Butlin
Subscriber: 3/6/1839 to 3/5/1858.
Committee: 1842, 1843.
On 5/4/1841 he was refused permission to use Nouvean Theatre d’Italia at a public lecture.

On 6/6/1842 he charged that the Scrutineers at the Annual General Meeting had made a false return of names for the Committee.
Booth Eddison and Kirk Swann attended the Committee meeting and gave ‘an unqualified denial’ of this.
The Committee found the charge groundless.

The Standfast Ledger records 23 borrowings between 23/9/1834 and 17/2/1855.

Gift:


Mr Butlin

Subscriber: 6/7/1829 to 7/3/1836.


Charles Butlin
Subscriber: 1/1/1880 to 6/2/1894.
His name (C. Butlin) appears in connection with the payment of the Law Library rent on 13/10/1871 and 13/10/1873.
The share was transferred to Herbert Charles Butlin.

Herbert Charles Butlin, Esq.
Solicitor.
Address: Bank Chambers.
Subscriber: 6/2/1894 to 10/3/1903.
Share number: 42 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
The share was transferred from Charles Butlin.


James Butlin
Newsroom subscriber: 1831.


Mr Buttery
On 1/1/1855 he made a statement about the portrait of Dr Storer.


John Buttery
Subscriber: 5/11/1838 to 2/2/1846.


George William Byers (1872-1957)
He started work at Harrogate Public Library in 1888 and became chief librarian there in 1892, retiring in 1938.
[W.A. Munford, Who Was Who in British  Librarianship; from Peter Hoare]

See –– Edgar T. Coggins.


Lady Byron
Her portrait hangs in the Standfast Room.


Captain John Byron
Subscriber: 2/4/1817 to 7/4/1823.
He was promoted to Major by April 1823.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830) twice.


George Gordon Noel, 6th Baron Byron (1788-1824)
Poet.
Address: Newstead Abbey.

There was a portrait of Lord Byron in Bromley House at the time Sutton’s Stranger’s Guide was published in 1827.
Another portrait of George Noel Gordon, Lord Byron 1815, described as ‘after George Henry Barlow [oil; 5.5 x 4 inches], is in the Reading Room (2006).
Its label shows:
        Bought by L.C. Musters, St Peter’s Gate, 1897. Presented by the late Mrs Chaworth Musters’. (13/6/1899)


Mr Bywater
On 6/3/1826 this non-member gave Elements of Mechanical Philosophy by Marrat.


Return to Top of the Page


This page was last updated on

10 January 2009


Neal Priestland