Bromley House Library 1816 to 1916
H


Return to Main Index Page


Some major entries on this page:



Hachette & Co. (Hachette et Cie.)
Publishers.
Address: Paris.
They supplied small quantities of French books on five occasions between February 1893 and January 1913 ranging from £1 13s 5d (14/2/1893) to 2s 6d (6/1/1893)


Rev Egbert Hacking
Archdeacon and Canon of Southwell.
Address: Southwell; The Rectory, Holme Pierrepont.
Subscriber: 7/12/1909 to 1916.
Share number: 140 (counterfoil dated 12/4/1910).
He attended General Meetings: 1911, 1916.
He was a subscriber to Russell’s History (1916).


Robert Hacking
Joiner, cabinet and model maker.
Address: Arkwright Works, 44 Crocus Street (White, 1885; Kelly, 1891); Vine Terrace, 77 Kirke White Street (Wright, 1894-95).
In March 1892 a bill for joinery of £15 0s 0d was received (1/3/1892).


Alexander Hadden
Newsroom subscriber: 1832.


Henry Hadden
Address: Lenton (1865).
Subscriber: 26/3/1861 to 4/11/1867.
He signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867.

The Interest Book has a number of receipt slips pasted inside its covers and these include one acknowledging payment on 6/9/1864 of £2 10s 0d and another dated 15/2/1870 for £2 4s 0d.
These are presumably for the interest on Bromley House Building shares made to John Brazier who was acting for Henry Hadden of J. & H. Hadden & Co.

Someone named Hadden was paid £100 for four debenture shares on 4/4/1873.


John Hadden
Subscriber: 1/3/1824 to April 1848.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).
The name sometimes looks like 'Heddon' and could be 'Haddon'.


John Hadden
Address: Bramcote (1865).
Subscriber: 3/12/1860 to 7/1/1867.
Newsroom subscriber: 1831.

On 4/8/1862 it was decided that he should receive Rule 36 as he was a county member, and on 6/7/1863 and 2/5/1864 he was written to concerning fines due.
Deceased.

Mrs John Hadden
Subscriber: April 1848 to 2/4/1856.
The Share Interest Book shows that a Mrs J. Hadden held two Bromley House Debenture Shares for about six months from January 1859 and that a Mrs Hadden held four such Shares from January 1859 to January 1864.

The distinction between Mr and Mrs is unclear before 1848.


Hagen
See –– C.D. Hazen.


Mr Hague
This name appears on the Bill for legal work in association with the purchase of Bromley House (1822).


Mr Hague
On 7/9/1835 the Committee was to make him either pay for his new window opening onto Library property or it would be blocked up
On 7/12/1835 it was to be blocked, but on 4/4/1836 they allowed him to pay 5s 0d per year for its use.


Rev Dr Haines
He was a member of the 'Town Class' of the White Lion Book Society in 1788-89.
See –– William Moore.


Haines & Jeffries
See –– Frederick Pearson.


Haines & Sons
Picture restorers.
Address: 8 Alfred Place West, Thurloe Square, London, S.W. Telephone: Kensington 2953 [3/10/1907]
See –– Duke of Richmond (Kneller portrait).


J. Haines
Tenant.
On 7/2/1848 he was to have the room used by George Burton for £12 per annum from 26/2/1848.
He paid this either quarterly or half-yearly and his first payment recorded in the Subscriptions Book was £3 0s 0d on 22/1/1849 and the last was made on 14/7/1853.


William Haines
Newsroom subscriber: 1832.


J. Hale
Subscriber: 2/11/1868 to 1/3/1869.
The name could be Hall.


James Elton Hales
Gentleman.
Address: Normanton Lodge, The Park.
Subscriber: 12/9/1911 to 2/2/1915.
Share number: 230 (counterfoil dated 16/4/1912)


Robert Halford, Esq., JP (1840-1910)
Address: Ashtree, 33 Magdala Road.
Subscriber: 1/4/1890 to 6/6/1911.
Share number: 92 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
A registration fee of 2s 6d was received from R.W. Ainsworth on 3/5/1911 in respect of a share transfer.

Robert Halford signed the appraisal of rents (11/10/1904) and waived any fee and for this service.
He was thanked by letter (18/2/1905)

Educated at the Grammar School in Stoney Street, he became an estate agent and valuer.
He was a director of Commercial Union and chairman of the Nottingham and Notts Bank.
He was a member of the Robin Hoods and parish clerk at St Nicholas’s church. (Mellors, 1914)
His death was noted at the 1911 General Meeting.


T. Halfrey

He paid £25 for a Debenture Share on 4/4/1873
and received  payments:
Interest 6s 3d 26/8/1873
Interest 12s 6d  9/1/1875
Interest 12s 6d 10/1/1874
Interest 12s 6d 7/8/1875
Interest 12s 6d 25/7/1874



Repayment of loan (plus interest). £25 8s 4d 1/5/1877



The shares had paid at a rate of 5%.



Mr Hall
Plumber.
A single payment of 2s 6d is recorded for 1/2/1885.


Mr Hall
In 1851 he was to act on behalf of the Library and offer £50 for Audobon’s Birds of America and then up to 50 guineas if the first offer was not successful (1/9/1851).
It seems his offer was accepted.
See –– George Willis.


Hall
See –– J. Hale.


Mr Hall
In 1857 he was one of 39 candidates who applied to replace John Walton as Librarian; twelve made the first short-list and then six, of which Hall was one, received detailed consideration (7/12/1857).


E. Hall
Subscriber: 1/1/1869 to 3/11/1885.


Rev J. Hall
Address: Risley.
Subscriber: April 1823 to 7/3/1825.


John Hall
Subscriber: 4/10/1830 to 4/6/1860.
Newsroom subscriber: 1831, 1832.


Rev John Hancock Hall
Subscriber: 3/6/1822 to 7/3/1825.


Lawrence Hall
Address: Bramcote.
Subscriber: 1/2/1830 to 7/5/1832.


Lawrence Hall
Address: Staunton.
Subscriber: 5/8/1839 to 1/1/1849.


M. Hall

Subscriber: 1/11/1841 to 6/2/1843.
He was known as 'Junior'.


Dr Marshall Hall, MD (1790-1857)
Address: High Pavement.
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 20/9/1816 and 14/3/1817 to 9/10/1826.
Committee: 1816, 1818. For a short while he was a member of the original Committee of 1816 but  was reported to have 'left the town' (2/8/1816) when he was replaced on the Committee by either by Charles Pennington or William Hurst.
Hall must have returned a few months later as on 21/8/1818 William Ford Rawson acted as his proxy at a Committee meeting as did John Huish on 18/9/1818.

He was made a Trustee: 2/4/1822 and reappointed as such in 1858. (Russell, 1916)

He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).

Gifts:

Born at Basford Hall on 18/2/1790, he was educated at the Rev J. Blanchard's Academy.
He was then apprenticed to Mr Moore, a chemist in Newark before studying medicine at Edinburgh University.
He began his medical practice in Nottingham in 1817 at the age of 27 and used the novel method of close observation of symptoms prior to any treatment.
His practice covered much of the county and was lucrative.
In 1825 he was appointed as physician to the General Hospital in Nottingham.

The President of the Royal College of Physicians wrote of him:
He is the rising sun of the profession; there is no one to compare with him, and he will become the leading physician in London.

At Hall's election as a Fellow of the Royal Society the Duke of Sussex said that ....
.... the Society was honoured by numbering him among its fellows.

He had moved to London where he practised for 27 years.
Despite his fame he was a man of very simple habits and fond of reading Scripture.

He wrote of himself:
In the world I have confessed Christ, obeying God rather than man. I have observed my profession with scruple, and honour, and energy, and have observed great industry and economy. In my spirit I have been most happy .... I can truly say I have not had an unjoyous hour.

He wrote some 200 books, essays and papers between 1812 and 1857 and these were summarised by his wife in The memoirs of Marshall Hall.

Marshall Hall died on 11/8/1857 in Brighton and his body was taken to the house of his sister (Mrs Higginbottom) in Sneinton and thence to his grave near the upper entrance to the General Cemetery. (Mellors, 1914 & 1924)

HallM-4018
HallM_Sig_4018-sig
Dr Marshall Hall, MD
(1790-1857)
[4018 & 4018_sig]



Miss S. Hall
Subscriber: 20/9/1816 to 14/3/1817.


Samuel Hall
Address: Standard Hill.
Subscriber: 4/3/1816 to 15/7/1822.
On 4/12/1838 he was notified of his subscription arrears.


Samuel Hall
Address: Basford.
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 5/3/1838.


Spencer T. Hall
(1812-1885)
Phrenologist.
He gave demonstrations of phrenology at Bromley House in the 1830s.
He was also a member of the Sherwood Forest school of writers. (Mastoris, 1991)

In 1844 his lectures on mesmerism in Leicester were attended by the biologist Alfred Russel Wallace (1823-1913).
Friedrich Engels (1820-1895) encountered Hall in Manchester and thought him 'a very mediocre charlatan'.

He wrote a biographical account of the performer and actor, Charles Reece Pemberton.


Thomas Hall
Attorney.
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 3/7/1820.


John Hallam
Subscriber: 5/12/1831 to April 1833.
James Hewitt's share was transferred to him on 5/12/1831, but it was also transferred to W. Chamberlain on 5/11/1832.


Rev J.A. Halloran
Subscriber: 1/1/1889 to 6/2/1894.


Leopold Hamel
Subscriber: 4/6/1860 to 1/6/1863 and 7/10/1867 to 6/5/1872.
The name also appears as 'Himmel'.
An entry for the transfer of a share to him on 2/4/1867 is crossed through.

The name of Hamel is associated with payments
of the Chess Room rent of £6 0s 0d on
9/10/1869 13/10/1871 24/9/1872 27/9/1873



Philip Hammond
Engineer and smith.
Address: 56 1/2 St James’ Street.

He did some small repairs at the Library
 £1 18s 0d 16/1/1900
£2 12s 6d 13/12/1904



Mr Hammonds
This non-member seems to have been part of the Lighting sub-committee when Hammonds Pendulum Globe Lighting was installed in 1868 (6/7/1868).


Edward Hancock

An indenture of 1752 concerning the Bromley House property was drawn up between Edward Hancock and George Smith and it refers to:
.... all that piece or parcel of ground adjacent to and lying at the south end of a brewhouse lately erected by George Smith.



John Hancock
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 14/3/1817.


James Hand

The 1900 General Meeting recorded a gift from him.


Dr Henry Handford, MD (Edinburgh), DPH (Cambridge), FRCP (London) (b.1855)
Address: Elmfield, Southwell.
Subscriber: 7/12/1909 to 1916.
Share number: 228 (counterfoil dated 12/4/1910).
A registration fee of 2s 6d was received from Bromley Cunliffe on 30/11/1909 in respect of a share transfer from Woodward.
He was a subscriber to Russell’s History (1916).

For over twenty years he was honorary physician to Nottingham General Hospital and in 1893 he became the first Medical Officer of Health to the Nottinghamshire County Council.


Miss M. Handley
Charwoman: 1900 to 1910.

She received 'a gratuity of £1 (as a recognition of the able way in which she carries out her duties of keeping the Library clean and) to repay her for the extra work caused by the painting' (1/9/1908). Part of the entry was crossed through.

She resigned in 1910 after at least 10 years service.
Her payment was 12s 0d per week. She received a gratuity of £5 to compensate her for having to pay for her holiday replacement over those ten years (16/2/1910; recorded in the ‘salaries’ column of the Accounts Book).

She sent the Committee a letter of thanks (1/4/1910).
See –– Charwomen.


C.J.J. Hannay
Subscriber: 4/1/1864 to 3/10/1864 and 1/5/1871 to 7/5/1883.
The share was transferred from W. Hannay.
Committee: 1877, 1878, 1880, 1881. He was elected to the Committee to replace the deceased Colonel James Davidson (4/3/1878).
Book Committee: 1878.
Finance Committee: 1880
Catalogue Committee: 1878.
Deceased.


William Hannay
Subscriber: 3/4/1821 to 5/11/1821 and 3/10/1825 to 4/1/1864.
Committee: 1848, 1849.
On 31/3/1834 he was in arrears with his subscription.
He was nominated as a new trustee on 28/2/1848.
The Standfast Ledger records two borrowings between 23/3/1852 and 12/6/1852.
Deceased.
The share was transferred to C.J.J. Hannay.


Harding
A registration fee of 2s 6d was received from R.H. Beaumont on 16/11/1909 in respect of a share transfer from Lipman to Harding. (Accounts Book)


Miss Hardmett
Subscriber: 7/3/1870 to 15/7/1880.
The share was transferred from Mrs Hardmett.


Mrs Mary Hardmett

Subscriber: 3/9/1849 to 7/3/1870.
The Share Interest Book shows that a Mrs Hardmett held one Bromley House Debenture Share for about six months from January 1859 and that she held one Bromley House Building share from 1831 to 1846.
She signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867.
The share was transferred to Miss Hardmett.


Mrs Hardnott
Subscriber: April 1841 to 2/11/1846.
The share was passed from William Hartnott.


William Hardnott
Address: Ruddington.
Subscriber: 28/3/1817 to April 1841.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).

He was fined 1s 0d for damage to Volume 2 of Robin Hood (8/12/1819).

The share was passed to Mrs Hardnott.
On 5/10/1846 his building share was paid off at £25.


Miss M. E. Hardstaff
Subscriber: 2/5/1893 to 7/11/1893.


Mrs Hardwell
A slip pasted inside the Minute Book for 1847 refers to her as a widow and that the status of the share was ‘as they are’.


Alfred Hardwick
Subscriber: 6/5/1833 to 3/5/1841.
Newsroom subscriber: 1831, 1832, 1833.

He was elected as a Committee member but attended no meetings.
The share was transferred to Francis Hardwick.


Francis Hardwick
Subscriber: 3/5/1841 to 6/8/1855.
Newsroom subscriber: 1831, 1832, 1833.

The Standfast Ledger records one borrowing on 4/6/1849 under the name Hardwick with no initial recorded.

The share was transferred from A. Hardwick and the final transfer of 1855 was still in the name of 'A. Hardwick'.


Frederick Hardwick
Newsroom subscriber: 1833.


Hardy & Jobbins
See –– W.H. Jobbins.


Mrs Hardy
Librarian's wife.
See –– William Hardy.


Miss C.H. Hardy

Subscriber: 1/4/1890 to 1/5/1899.
The share was transferred from Mrs Hardy and then later transferred to Miss G. Hardy.


Frederick Hardy
Gentleman.
Address: Staunton Hall.
Subscriber: 5/12/1911 to 1916.
Share number: 94 (counterfoil dated 16/4/1912).
The share was transferred from Mrs Mary Ann Hardy.


Miss Gertrude Hardy
Spinster.
Address: 9 Arthur Street (crossed through on certificate counterfoil); and 4 Oxford Street.
Subscriber: 1/5/1899 to 10/11/1903.
Share number: 93 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
The share was transferred from Miss C.H. Hardy.


James Hardy
Subscriber: 5/3/1866 to April 1879.
He signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867.


John Hardy
Subscriber: 7/10/1839 to 1/4/1844.
He was known as 'Junior'.


John Hardy
Subscriber: 6/12/1869 to 1/7/1872.
The share was transferred to Mrs John Hardy of Colwick.


Mrs John Hardy
Address: Colwick.
Subscriber: 1/7/1872 1/4/1890.
The share was transferred from John Hardy and later transferred to Miss C.H. Hardy.


Mrs Mary Ann Hardy
Widow of Thomas Hardy.
Address: Bulwell Hall.
Subscriber: April 1902 to 5/12/1911.
Share number: 94 (certificate: 9/2/1901).

The share was passed from Thomas Hardy.

Deceased.
Her executors were given three months notice of the sale of her share in order to recoup £4 4s 0d as two years arrears of subscription (12/9/1911).
The share was transferred to Frederick Hardy.


R.J. Hardy
Subscriber: 3/11/1885 to 1/5/1894.
He was present at the General Meeting of 1894.


Richard Hardy, ARIBA
Architect
Address: Bromley House (tenant).
His payment of rent of £7 10s 0d per half-year is recorded from 14/3/1874 to 3/5/1878.

A sum of 2s 6d was associated with ‘cleaning Hardy’s room after Gasmen’ on 7/3/1874.

The Committee received notice on 3/4/1877 that he would quit his rented office from the following Michaelmas, but on 4/6/1877 they learnt that he wished to remain their tenant.

On 4/3/1878 he gave them notice that he was going to quit on 29 September next.
In the following month he was allowed to sub-let to Holmes, a land agent, of Cossall (2/4/1878) and on 6/5/1878 he was allowed to sub-let to Mr Jobbins of the School of Art.
By 4/11/1878 he seems to have quit altogether.


Robert Hardy
Librarian
2/4/1821 to 6/4/1829.

He was a porter from 1816 and at this early stage the names of both Robert and William Hardy were associated with the library.
His appointment renewed for two months on 4/6/1821 and he was appointed as assistant librarian on 2/4/1822.

In September 1826 James Archer, the Librarian, took three weeks leave and his place filled by Robert Hardy and Thomas Hawkesley (4/9/1826).


Thomas Hardy
Address: Bulwell Hall.
Subscriber: 3/11/1896 to April 1902.
The share was passed to Mrs Hardy.


Mrs Thomas Hardy

Share number: 94 (certificate in name of Mrs Thomas Hardy: 9/2/1901).
See –– Mrs Mary Ann Hardy.


William Hardy
Librarian: 2/4/1816 to 6/4/1819.

He was the first librarian and was paid £30 per year plus a quarter of the fines collected.
He and his wife lived in the house at Carlton Street and then at Bromley House.
He was required to keep the Library and the Newsroom open every weekday until 9 or 10 p.m.
He was to negotiate with suppliers of the first £100 worth of books and must have introduced many of the Library's practices and implemented the rules and regulations.
From about 1816 up to his departure in about 1819 he witnessed the first 116 signatures on the Library Rules document.
The early catalogues may have been his work.

He was ill in 1817 and again in March 1818 when a boy was employed.
This may have prevented him from 'fully attending to the duties of his situation' (27/3/1818) and which may have delayed production of the second catalogue proposed in 1817 but not published until 1819 after William Hardy had left the Library.
In 1818 a boy was employed as an assistant and Mr & Mrs Hardy to continue in the House (30/10/1818).

By October of that year Valentine Kirk had been appointed as a temporary librarian during Hardy's illness.

Hardy died before 6/4/1819.


Mrs William Hardy
Librarian’s wife.
She served the Library from 2/4/1816 to 6/4/1829.

She was to be present if the Librarian was away (16/4/1819).
She was appointed as a temporary assistant librarian at 6s 0d per week after the opening at Bromley House and on 3/10/1820 was retained as superintendent at £35 per annum.

On 6/4/1829 she was:
 ..... presented with an Hospital by Mr Smith and that the situation will be vacated.



Rev B.L. Hargrave
Address: Lowdham.
The Standfast Ledger records four borrowings between 18/7/1840 and 10/1/1841.


John W.H. Hargreaves
Subscriber: 2/1/1843 to 1/12/1845.


Harleian Society

The subscription was paid as shown:
£6 6s 0d 3/1/1876


Thereafter subscriptions were paid through J.J. Howard.
£1 1s 0d 4/12/1876
£1 1s 3d 13/9/1879
£1 1s  0d 24/11/1877
£1 1s 4d 20/3/1880
10s 3d 6/4/1878
£1 1s 0d August 1881
£1 1s 0d 6/5/1878
£1 1s 0d 1883



Edward Harlow, JP
Stock and share broker
Address: Grosvenor Chambers, 23 King Street. [Wright, 1915]; home: Clydesdale, Woodthorpe; Ivy Bank, 7 Alexandra Street, Sherwood Rise.
Subscriber: 7/7/1910 to 1916.
Share number: 3 (counterfoil dated 28/4/1911).
He attended the General Meeting: 1916.
He was a subscriber to Russell’s History (1916).

Registration fees for share transfers of 2s 6d were received on:
29/6/1909 from Higginbottom to Tatham
31/12/1910 -
19/11/1909 -

20/6/1911 -
23/7/1910 -




He was born on 14/5/1857 and married Mary, the daughter of James Smith of Burton-on-Trent.

HarlowE-4087
Edward Harlow
[4087]



Mrs Harpham
See –– James Archer


James Harpham
Subscriber: 3/4/1821 to April 1828.
On 2/4/1827 the transfer of his share was to be subject to payment of £4 4s 0d arrears.


Rev F. Harris
Address: Bramcote.
The Standfast Ledger records seven borrowings between 1/5/1855 and 30/6/1855.


Rev John Harris

Subscriber: 2/4/1856 to 6/3/1865.
The transfer of a share from W. Harris, who was not previously listed, to John Harris was recorded (5/1/1857).


Richard Harris
Library porter
2/1/1837 to 3/5/1841

Early in 1837 he was appointed as a porter at 7s 0d per week (2/1/1837).
On 3/2/1840 it was agreed that he ('Harris the Porter') was not to deliver the papers on Sunday until after divine service.
He was mentioned in a minute of 3/5/1841 as the Librarian's leave depended upon his availability.


Harrison
In 1868 Harrison’s Pendant Globe Gas Lamps were installed.


Mr Harrison
Tenant.
In 1844 he appealed to the Committee on behalf of a Mr Smith to have the rent for the vaults reduced to below £20 per annum.
This was refused (5/2/1844).

On 4/6/1849 Harrison was to lease the vaults under the library at £18 per annum and half yearly payments of £9 0s 0d were recorded from 11/11/1850. On 1/3/1852 he took over a room vacated by Mr Watts.
On 18/7/1853 his executors made the final rent payment and on 5/9/1853 they were given notice to quit the vaults.
See –– M. Hawkes and William Smith.


John Harrison
Subscriber: 1/5/1820 to 31/7/1826.


John Cooper Harrison
Subscriber: 3/2/1845 to 8/10/1863.
Deceased.


Noah Harrison
Subscriber: 4/10/1819 to 7/8/1837.


F. Hart
In 1840 he was President of the Nottingham Law Society when The Law Library was based at Bromley House (Orange, 1840).


Frank (or Francis) Hart
Subscriber: 4/7/1831 to 3/8/1863.
Committee: 1832, 1834.
The share was forfeited and sent for auction on 3/8/1863.
He was probably Mr Deer in the pamphlet The Literary Mousetrap published on 14/2/1829 satirising the debates that were taking place at Bromley House Library.

The Standfast Ledger records eight borrowings between 16/8/1843 and 8/10/1844 under the name Francis Hart.

A Mr Hart's share was transferred to Miss Sarah Eliza Coldham (15/10/1863).


Hartley
A type of glass.
See –– W.E. Middleton (photographer).


George Harvey
Subscriber: 3/1/1817 to 17/4/1818.

Gift:

H. Harvey
See –– John Smith: substitution - 1820.


Rev James Harwood
Subscriber: 1/12/1884 to 4/4/1893.


John Hassall
Address: Shelford Manor.
Subscriber: 7/9/1846 to 2/7/1860.
The Standfast Ledger records one borrowing on 20/11/1854.
Deceased.


Rev Walter H. Hatch
Address: Risley, Derbyshire.
Subscriber: 15/3/1869 to 6/12/1869.


H. or M. Hawkes

Subscriber: 7/7/1862 to 5/12/1864.


M. Hawkes

Address: Radcliffe.
Subscriber: 7/7/1856 to 3/9/1866.

At the 1861 General Meeting five present (Hawkes, William Jackson, Samuel Parr, H. Bruce Campbell and Charles Thornton) presented a motion regarding the licensing of the vaults.

It is not clear if this is the tenant of the vaults, Matthew Hawkes.


Matthew Hawkes
Wine and spirit merchant; land agent and valuer; National Provincial Fire and Life Insurance (Post Office, 1855)
Address: Bromley House (tenant). The Nottingham Directory for 1858 lists him as a spirit merchant trading from Bromley House, Angel Row.

He was accepted as a tenant of the vaults lately occupied by Harrison at a rent of £19 9s 0d a year paid quarterly.
A condition regarding his not getting any ‘good will’ when quitting was rescinded at the next meeting.(7/11/1853).
On 7/8/1854 Neville, another tenant, was to have given up his office to him, but on 4/9/1854 it was decided that this vacant space was to be advertised.

On 6/11/1854 Hawkes was to receive a notice from the Library’s solicitor and on 1/1/1855 evidence was presented about his use of the vaults as a wine cellar.
Later that year the Committee found that it no longer wished the vaults to be used as a wine cellar and Hawkes was given notice to quit (5/3/1855), but this was still to be carried out on 6/8/1855.
Watson gave notice that he would ask for Hawkes tenancy to be continued (2/6/1856) and a month later his notice to quit was withdrawn provided that he did not sell liquors to be drunk on the premises and that his notice period was changed to six months ending in March or September (7/7/1856)

Nevertheless, on 7/11/1859 Hawkes was again given notice to quit the vaults under the Library that he was renting, and on 7/5/1860 the committee noted that this notice was to 'be carried into effect at the due time'.
However, on 2/7/1860 Hawkes was still not out of the vaults and he attended a Committee meeting on 3/9/1860.
He was then allowed a further 12 months but he was not have a retail licence issued by the town magistrate who was to be informed of this condition.

The Committee seems to have had a complete change of heart as on 2/4/1861 Hawkes was to have all the vaults for £50 per year for ten years and he was to cover the front area with glass subject to obtaining a retail licence.
This matter was referred to the Committee by the 1861 General Meeting.
At a special meeting on 23/4/1861 Michael Browne was commended for stating the case regarding Hawkes tenancy with great clarity.

Despite all this on 9/9/1861 the Hawkes matter was still unresolved and on 7/10/1861 John Brewster, the Library's solicitor, was instructed to take legal proceedings against Hawkes.


Thomas Hawkesley

Temporary librarian.
In September 1826 James Archer took three weeks leave to go to Edinburgh (4/9/1826). His place filled by Robert Hardy and Thomas Hawkesley who was appointed on a short term basis and who received one guinea (£1 1s 0d) on 4/12/1826.


Thomas Hawkesley
Surgeon.
Subscriber: 2/12/1833 to 7/11/1836.

Gift:


Rev Richard Hawkesworth
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 6/12/1816.
Committee: 1816.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).

He was a member of the original Committee of 1816.
His membership of the Committee had ceased by 30/8/1816 when he was replaced by H. Cleaver.
Deceased.


Hawkesley or Hawksley
Both spellings are used in the Library records.

The water engineer and his family have the name Hawksley.


John Hawksley (d.1815)
His portrait dated 1802 was donated to the Library in 1822 and was in Bromley House at the time Sutton’s Stranger’s Guide was published in 1827.
He had a worsted mill at Arnot Hill and was the father of Thomas Hawksley, water engineer (Russell, 1916)

On 6/12/1887 it was agreed that this portrait of Mr Hawksley would not be sold, but that it could be lent.

Russell (1916) gives his name as Thomas Hawksley.




Thomas Hawksley, FRS (1807-1893)
Engineer and architect.
Subscriber: 2/5/1836 to 6/6/1853.
He was in arrears at the time of the final transfer of the share to Mrs C.M. Hind.

Family

John Hawksley was in partnership with Robert Davison (d.1807).
Davison & Hawksley were important worsted cloth producers based in Arnold.
Use of their steam engine to grind corn and the distribution of affordable flour at the time of the 1800 bread riots in Nottingham led to John receiving the freedom of the city.

John Hawksley married Mary Whittle and their son, Thomas, was born at Arnot Hill House in Arnold on 12/7/1807.
In May 1821 he started at the Free Grammar School run by Dr Wood and situated on Stoney Street.
This education was augmented through his independent studies in mathematics, chemistry and geology.

He left the school aged 15  and was articled to Edward Staveley, a Nottingham based architect and surveyor with offices on Pelham Street.
Staveley was surveyor and treasurer to the Nottingham Corporation.
In 1825 Thomas became a partner with Staveley as Staveley, Hawksley and Jalland, and until 1850 he was in partnership with Robert Jalland as Hawksley & Jalland.

Thomas attended High Pavement Chapel as did his wife, Phillis Wright (1807-1854), daughter of Francis Wright.

Thomas and Phillis were married in 1831 in Ruddington and had:
Catherine Ellen Hawkesley (1836-1890)
Maria Hawksley (b.c.1836; d. before 1851) – she appeared in the 1841 census aged 5 with the family, but was not with them for the 1851 census.
Charles Hawksley (b. 17/6/1839 in Nottingham; d.  27/11/1917 in London)
Charles was also a water engineer.
He was in partnership with his father as T & C. Hawksley and like his father he was President of the Institute of Civil Engineers.
Arthur Hawksley (1840 - 1915)
Bernard Hawksley (1846- 1892)
Florence Hawkesley (1851-1930)
In 1844 they were living at Trent Bridge.

Phillis Hawksley died in 1854 and in 1855 Thomas married Eliza Litt, daughter of J. Litt.

Eliza died in 1893 some months before the death of Thomas.


Career

His first major engineering project was the provision of an additional water supply for Nottingham for the Trent Waterworks Company in 1830.
In 1845 he was made engineer to the Nottingham Waterworks Company and he remained as such until 1880.
The provision of clean water  to Nottingham minimised the impact of the cholera epidemic of 1832.
Hawksley was appointed manager and engineer to the Nottingham Gaslight & Coke Company in 1840.

By 1852 Hawksley had moved to London and was briefly in partnership with Charles May (1800-1860) at 3 Great George Street, Westminster.

He became famous as a waterworks engineer with many water distribution schemes throughout the country to his credit.

Hawksley's many engineering projects included:
1830 Trent Waterworks.
1844 Radford Gas Works.
1846 to 1857 Rivington Pike Scheme supplying water to Liverpool.
1846 Humbleton Reservoir for Sunderland Water Company.
1846 Prial Brook Reservoir at Hartsholm to supply Lincoln.
1848 Little Eaton and River Derwent scheme to supply Derby.
1852 to 1879 Fulwell Pumping scheme for Sunderland and South Shields Water Company.
1854 Thornton Reservoir to supply Leicester.
1857 Main drainage work for the Metropolitan Board of Works with George Parker Bidder (180 6-1878) and Joseph Bazalgette (1819-1891).
1857 Basford Gas Works.
1857 Eastcroft Gas Works.
1858 Serpentine Pumping Station in Kensington Gardens designed for the Prince Consort.
1864 Investigation of the Dale Dyke Reservoir accident (11/3/1864) near Sheffield.
1868 Bradgate (Cropston) Reservoir Engine House for Leicester.
1869 Fewston Reservoir for Leeds.
1870 Waskerley and Tunstall Reservoirs in County Durham.
1870
Cowm Reservoir, north of Rochdale.
1871 to 1874 Bestwood Pumping Station.
1875 Smiddy Shaw Reservoir near Consett, County Durham.
1877 Vrynwy Reservoir - early stages of the project which was completed in 1910.

In the 1820s and 1830s Hawksley lectured at Bromley House, at the Artizans' Library and at the Mechanics Institute.
He was a founder of the Mechanics Institute and taught science there.

He was President of the Institute of Civil Engineers for 1871-73 and of the Institute of Mechanical Engineers for 1875-77.
He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 1878.

Thomas Hawksley died aged 86 on 23/9/1893 at 14 Phillimore Gardens, Kensington which was his London home.
He was buried at Brookwood Cemetery (the London Necropolis) on 27/9/1893.

For a full and well illustrated account of his life and work see:
Pure and constant: the life and legacy of Thomas Hawksley 1807-1893
by various authors from MWH UK Limited (2008)
Edited by Chris Woodcock.
[ISBN: 978 1 8454 9304 2]
Montgomery Watson Harza (MWH) was formed in 2001 with the merger of Harza Engineering (founded 1920) with Montgomery Watson, which came from a 1992 merger between James M. Montgomery (founded 1945) and Watson Hawksley.

This had been formed in 1978 on the merger of J.D. & D.M. Watson (founded 1934) with T. & C. Hawksley.

In 1866 Thomas Hawksley and his son, Charles, had entered into partnership as T. & C. Hawksley.


See –– Hawksley & Jalland.



To the Memory of
THOMAS HAWKSLEY, C.E. F.R.S.
born at Arnold 1807, died in London 1893
and of his wife
PHILLIS WRIGHT
1807-1854
beloved parents of
Catherine Ellen Wansey 1836-1890.
Charles  1839-1916. Arthur 1840-1915.
Bernard 1846-1892. Florence Musgrave 1851-1930.

All at some Time Worshippers in the High Pavement Chapel
Thomas Hawksley was for half a Century Engineer to the Nottingham
Gas and Water Cos.
At the age of 25 he constructed
the Trent Bridge Water-Works.
By his genius, strict Integrity and
Hard Work up to his 87th year he
earned for himself the highest Reputation
both at Home and Abroad.
In 1872 he was President of
the Institution of Civil Engineers
as was also his Son, Charles in 1901.



HawksleyT-IMG4655
Thomas Hawksley Memorial Plaque

This was originally in High Pavement Chapel
but was later moved to the
Nottingham Industrial Museum

Thomas Hawksley

by
Sir Hubert von Herkommer in 1887.

From:
Pure and constant: the life and legacy of Thomas Hawksley 1807-1893
by various authors from MWH UK Limited (2008)
Edited by Chris Woodcock.
[4655]




Hawksley & Jalland
Land surveyors, engineers and architects.
Address: Bromley House (tenants); Middle Pavement

The Hawksley was Thomas Hawksley, the architect known for his waterworks engineering.

On 20/9/1847 they applied to take the room used by Peet & Son at £50 per annum, and they relinquished this on 1/11/1852.
Half-yearly rents of £25 0s 0d were recorded in the Subscriptions Book as being paid from 11/4/1848 to 8/11/1850.

On 5/7/1851 a payment of £12 10s 0d was made in the name of Hawkesley for the Upper Room for 18 months.
He then took the 'Office' for £50 per annum paying £26 0s 0d on 5/7/1851 and 6/3/1852 and the full £50 0s 0d on 30/9/1852.
A sum of £12 10s 0d was paid on 30/12/1852.

On 2/5/1853 it was reported that they had sent £10 in lieu of the £20 claimed by the Committee.
They paid 2s 0d for two keys (10/8/1848).

Also known as Jalland & Hawksley, they were agents for the Royal Exchange Fire & Life Insurance.

Hawksley & Jalland
designed the Mechanics Institute in 1842.
Fire destroyed this building in 1861. In 1844 they were responsible for the improvements to Shire Hall and the County Gaol on High Pavement.



B. Hawkridge
Subscriber: 2/2/1852 to 7/5/1866.


E. G. Hayes
A single payment of £2 16s 4d was made on 18/9/1869 for unspecified reasons.


Mr Haynes
This name appears on the Bill for legal work in association with the purchase of Bromley House (1822).


Mr Haynes
The Subscriptions Book records a payment of 5s 0d on 5/9/1836 by a Mr Haynes (?) in respect of the acknowledgement of the window into the passage.


Mr Haynes
Tenant.
On 7/11/1854 Mr Miller, an artist, applied for the use of the room Haynes had previously used.


C. Hazard
Newsroom subscriber: 1831.


C.D. Hazen
Subscriber: 5/11/1838 to 7/6/1858.
The name could be Hagen.


Hazzeldine
Various spellings of this name occur - Hazeldene, Hazeldine, Hazzeldene, Hazzeldine, Hezzledene, Hazzledine - and they have been consolidated as Hazzledine.
  
The handwriting on the 1901 share certificate is clear and this gives Hazzledine.


Mr Hazzledine
On 2/2/1885 the transfer of a share from J. Rainbow to Mr Hazzledine was deferred and not confirmed at the subsequent General Meeting.



Mrs Claudia Black Hazzledine
Wife of G.W. Hazzledine.
Address: 10 Park Row.
Subscriber: 2/6/1914 to 1916.
Share number: 179 (counterfoil dated 16/4/1915).


F.G. Hazzledine
Subscriber: 3/3/1884 to 7/4/1891.
The share was transferred to Mrs L. Hazzledine.


Mrs G.D. Hazzledine
She was a subscriber to Russell’s History (1916).


Mrs Louisa Hazzledine
Widow.
Address: 15 College Street.
Subscriber: 7/4/1891 to 13/10/1903.
Share number: 95 (certificate: 9/2/1901).

The share was transferred to Henry Thornton Hazzledine.


Henry Thornton Hazzledine, AIEE
Electrical contractor and electrical engineer.
Address: Sherwood Street; 12 South Sherwood Street [Wright, 1915]; home: 13 Wellington Square.
Subscriber: 13/10/1903 to 1916.
Share number: 95 (counterfoil dated 10/5/1904).

His tender for the installation of electric lighting
Tender (accepted)
£89 10s 0d 11/5/1900
His charges for this £83 4s 10d 31/7/1900

£20 8s 6d 11/9/1900
Total
£103 13s 4d

(See –– J. Page)

He supplied electrical goods, such as light bulbs, and services on some 27 occasions from December 1900 to February 1915 with the largest bill being for £6 0s 7d (1/3/1910).

He bought a book (or books) from the Library for: 2s 6d (28/3/1905).

The share was transferred from Mrs Louisa Hazzledine.


Walter Healey
Subscriber: 4/4/1836 to 4/3/1839.


Walter Healey
Subscriber: 7/11/1842 to 2/12/1850.


John Heard
Lord Mayor of Nottingham: 1832-33, 1837-38, 1847-48.
Subscriber: 16/1/1818 to 4/1/1864.
He was a subscriber for more than 46 years.
Newsroom subscriber: 1830, 1831, 1832, 1833.

The Standfast Ledger records 29 borrowings between 16/1/1835 and 17/3/1848.

On 1/1/1849 he was told that the use of his subscription by others must stop.


Joshua Heath
Subscriber: 3/10/1825 to 2/2/1829.
The share was transfer by Joseph Heath.


William P. Heath
Address: Beeston.
Subscriber: 2/4/1819 to 3/12/1827.


William Haddon Heaton
Professor of Physics.
Address: Newcastle House, Park Terrace, The Park.
Subscriber: 1/12/1891 to 1916.
Share number: 96 (certificate: 9/2/1901).

He bought a book (or books) from the Library for 5s 0d on 8/12/1903.
He was a subscriber to Russell’s History (1916).


Heazell
See also –– Jackson & Heazell.


Arthur Ernest Heazell
Architect.
Address: 12 Burns Street.
Subscriber: 15/4/1913 to 1916.
Share number: 236 (counterfoil dated 15/4/1913).
A registration fee of 2s 6d for share transfer was received on 28/3/1913.
He was a subscriber to Russell’s History (1916). (2 copies)


Mrs Edith Mary Heazell
Wife of Frederick William Heazell
Address: 70 Cromwell Street.
Subscriber: 9/9/1902 to 11/9/1906.
Share number: 85 (counterfoil signed by her and dated 16/5/1903).
Deceased.
The share was transferred to Frederick William Heazell.


Frederick William Heazell

House and estate agent
Address: Bromley House (Telephone number: 910) and 70 Cromwell Street; home: Newbury House, 67a Cromwell Street Telephone number: 4530 [Wright, 1915].
Subscriber: 11/9/1906 to 1916.
Share number: 85.
Committee: 1914, 1915.
Finance Committee: 1914, 1915, 1916.
The share was transferred from Mrs Edith Mary Heazell (deceased).
He attended General Meetings: 1910, 1911, 1912, 1914, 1915.
He was defeated in the election of the Committee at the 1913 General Meeting, but was soon co-opted (3/3/1914) to replace Albert Eberlin.

He provided Employers Liability Insurance for 19s 6d per year from October 1907 to August 1913.

He was also a tenant of the Library from about 1904 and on 16/1/1904 they wrote telling him that the Committee had agreed to electric lighting on the staircase at the tenants expense.
They also drew his attention to the risk associated with discarding used matches near the sink and pointing out the considerable fire risk to the valuable stock in the Library.
He was asked to communicate this to his staff.
He was informed of a rent increase to £10 per annum plus rates on 6/3/1908.

A refund of 1s 4d in respect of an insurance commission was made on 16/12/1909.
He bought a books from the Library for: 8s 0d (13/11/1901; possibly J.W or W.J Heazell), 5s 6d (11/12/1909) .

He was a subscriber to Russell’s History (1916) (2 copies).

From 1916 to 1966 he served the Library as its Honorary Secretary.

HeazellFW-Sig-4254
The signature of
Frederick William Heazell
[4254]



W.J. Heazell
He took Sutton's room, known as the front office, at £12 per annum (6/9/1898) and the Committee agreed to a request for a gas bracket on the upper stair case (6/12/1898).
This payment, paid quarterly, is recorded in the Library Rent Book from June 1900 to January 1902 when W.J. Heazell was replaced by F.W. Heazell.
The rent was reduced to £10 per year from January 1909 and was recorded up to April 1916.
Gas payments continued up to 1916.

He was given notice to quit on 4/3/1908 and the room was to be offered at £10 p.a. plus rates.

See –– R.C. Sutton (8/11/1904).


Heber & Rosier
Reviewers.
They sent 26 volumes of new popular novels on 29/1/1907 and these were purchased at 'not exceeding 1s 6d per volume'.
This came to £1 19s 0d (Book Committee Minutes).


Claude Hildyard Keith Hebblethwaite
Gentleman.
Address: Carisbrooke Drive, Mapperley Park.
Subscriber: 3/11/1914 to 1916.
Share number: 19 (counterfoil dated 16/4/1915).


G. Hebden
Subscriber: 23/4/1861 to 1/4/1862.


John Hedderley
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 6/10/1823.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).
The share was transferred from William Hedderley.


Mr Heigham
He paid £1 11s 0d for three nights' use of the Lecture Room (12/4/1832)


Hemskirk
Artist.
See –– John Collet; David Teniers.



Rev Alexander Roy Henderson, D.D.
Congregational minister.
Address: 72 Mapperley Road.
Subscriber: 10/6/1902 to 1916.
Share number: 28 (counterfoil dated 16/5/1903).
His registration fee of 2s 6d was paid on 11/6/1903.
The transfer of a share to him was also recorded on 7/4/1903.

He served as President of the Library from 1941 to 1944.

HendersonAR-4267
Alexander Roy Henderson
[4267]



Fred Henry & Son
House furnishers, ironmongers, china, glass and general dealers (proprietors: H.H. Freckingham (q.v.)) .
Address: Little Dustpan, 9 Derby Road
Wholesale department
Address: 6 Chapel Bar, Park Place (Kelly, 1891, Wright, 1915].

They supplied the Library with earthenware worth 1s 6d on 2/11/1878 and with small items on five occasions between February 1911 and May 1913 at costs of between 9s 7d and £1 13s 5d.



Frederick Henry
Subscriber: 2/3/1885 to 13/3/1900.
Deceased.
The share was transferred to Samuel Henry.


Samuel Henry, Esq.
Address: Lenton Road, The Park.
Subscriber: 13/3/1900 to 3/11/1908.
Share number: 97 (certificate: 9/2/1901).

 The share was transferred from Fred Henry (deceased).


Colonel Robert Hepburne
On 1/11/1830 it was noted that Colonel Robert Hepburne, a newsroom member, had written on 28/10/1830 to apologise to the Committee for his removal of a newspaper from the newsroom.
This had been for just half-an-hour, and he promised not to do so again.

Hepburne_Notice
In 1830
members of the Newsroom
sent this anonymous notice
to the Library Committee
following
Colonel Hepburne's
transgression





Misses Herbert

Gifts (4/1/1914):


F.E. Herbert
Address: Hazelmount, The Boulevard.
Subscriber: 3/3/1884 to April 1901.
The share was passed to Mrs F.E. Herbert.



Mrs Frances Elizabeth Herbert
Widow.
Address: Hazelmount, Gregory Boulevard.
Subscriber: April 1901.
Share number: 98 (certificate: 9/2/1901).

The share was passed from F.E. Herbert.


George Herbert
Address: Low Pavement.
Subscriber: 4/3/1850 to 7/2/1853.
He was allowed to subscribe provided that his pupils did not attend the Library.

In 1851 he signed a requisition to the Committee to reduce the annual subscription from 42s 0d to 30s 0d (17/3/1851).


Gideon Herbert, Esq.
Teacher of Music.
Address: Burton Joyce; 36 Regent Street.
Subscriber: 5/4/1864 to 1916. In 1916 he had been a subscriber for more than 52 years.
Share number: 99 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
Scrutator: 1884.

He signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867 and also that regarding the tenure of the office of President in May 1875.
See –– J. Place.

He attended the General Meeting: 1916.

Gift:


Joseph Herbert, Esq.
Gentleman.
Address: Moira House, Villa Road.
Subscriber: 7/1/1884 to 5/5/1914.
Share number: 100 (certificate: 9/2/1901).

He attended the General Meeting: 1906.
Deceased.
His death was noted at the 1914 General Meeting.


Thomas Herbert

Subscriber: 3/8/1835 to 5/7/1847.
Newsroom subscriber: 1831, 1832 (named just as Herbert)

The Standfast Ledger records one borrowing on 7/4/1836.
The share was transferred to William Herbert.


Thomas Herbert
Subscriber: 6/2/1854 to 6/4/1886.
He signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867 and also that regarding the tenure of the office of President in May 1875.
See –– J. Place.
Deceased.
The share was transferred to W.F. Herbert.


William Fox Herbert, Esq.
Address: 10 Burns Avenue.
Subscriber: 6/4/1886 to 1916.
Share number: 101 (certificate: 9/2/1901).

The share was transferred from Thomas Herbert (deceased).
W.F. Herbert's death was noted at the 1915 General Meeting.


Rev William Herbert
Address: Bulwell.
Subscriber: 3/3/1828 to 7/9/1829.


William Herbert
Subscriber: 4/5/1840 to 5/6/1843.
In 1851 he signed a requisition to the Committee to reduce the annual subscription from 42s 0d to 30s 0d (17/3/1851).


William Herbert
Address: Regent Street.
Subscriber: 5/7/1847 to 3/5/1858.
The share was transferred from Thomas Herbert.
The final transfer on 3/5/1858 could be the share of the other William Herbert.


William Herbert
Subscriber: 7/6/1852 to 5/6/1865.
The final transfer on 3/5/1858 could be the share of the other William Herbert.


Sophia Herrick and William Perry Herrick
See –– Count Ubaldo Marioni.


W.J. Heslop
Subscriber: 1/9/1873 to 7/3/1893.
The name also looks like Heslip.
He signed the memorial regarding the tenure of the office of President in May 1875.
See –– J. Place.

On 5/3/1883 a letter from a Mrs Heslop was read to the Committee but its content was not mentioned.


Adolph(us) Hesse
, Esq.
Gentleman.
Address: Maxstoke Road, The Park.
Subscriber: 1/4/1873 to 1916.
Share number: 102 (certificate: 9/2/1901).

He moved a motion at the somewhat busy Annual Meeting of 1875.
He was a cousin of Madame Schwabe (See –– Count Ubaldo Marioni) and worked for the lace manufacturers Heymann & Alexander.

Mrs Hesse was a subscriber to Russell’s History (1916).


F.P. Hewitt
Subscriber: 3/3/1845 to 4/4/1865.
Newsroom subscriber: 1831, 1832.
On 14/6/1833 he paid 5s 0d for the Age. (Newsroom Subscription Book 1831-1834)
The Standfast Ledger records two borrowings between 19/8/1845 and 31/8/1852.


James Hewitt
Subscriber: 5/4/1830 to 5/12/1831.
He was known as 'Junior'.
It was reported that he was bankrupt on 5/4/1831 and on 7/6/1831 the Committee found the authority presented to transfer his share was insufficient.


Mrs Heymann
The Share Interest Book shows that a Mrs Heymann held two Bromley House Debenture Shares for about six months from January 1859.


Albert Heymann, JP (c.1837-1924)
Address: West Bridgford (1903); The Hall, West Bridgford (1910).
Subscriber: 4/4/1871 to 1916. In 1916 he had been a subscriber for more than 45 years.
Share number: 103 (certificate: 2/2/1902; later counterfoil dated 12/4/1910 and endorsed with ‘Duplicate replacing lost certificate’ ).
A registration fee of 2s 6d was received on 12/4/1910.
The share was transferred from L. Heymann.
In 1874 he was one of 27 nominated as a Trustee of the Library, and he was one of the 14 elected (17/3/1874).

He was present at General Meeting of 1894.

He was named as one of six trustees on 8/4/1902 and again in 1904.
He was not in favour of the alterations to Bromley House (9/2/1904).
In 1911 he was one of the last three remaining Trustees from the 1874 election and was reappointed as a Trustee of the Library in 1912.

Described as a quiet, benevolent gentleman, he was the son of Lewis Heymann. (Mellors, 1924)

HeymannA-4026
Albert Heymann
[4026]



Lewis Heymann (c.1863-1869)
Lord Mayor of Nottingham for 1857-58.
Address: Stoney Street; later West Bridgford Hall (1865).
Subscriber: 7/6/1831 to 4/4/1871.
Newsroom subscriber: 1831, 1832.
Committee: 1837, 1838, 1853, 1854, 1856, 1857, 1858, 1860, 1862, 1863, 1865, 1866.
Also read as ‘Hegsman’.

In 1850 he was fined 2s 6d for books lent to Mr Baynes (3/6/1850) but the fine was later remitted (2/9/1850).

He proposed the 1865 testimonial for Henry Bell, who had been the Honorary Secretary for twelve years (4/4/1865).
He signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867.
The share was transferred to A. Heymann.

HeymannL-sig-4192
The signature of
Lewis Heymann

[4192]

He was of German origin and managed A.J. Saalfeld & Co.
He married Julia Alexander, daughter of a Hamburg capitalist.
It was said that no one did more to extend the lace trade of Nottingham.
He created demand, especially for curtains, and then filled it using the best designers available.
He exhibited at the Great Exhibition of 1851.
He took an active role in the Association for the Promotion of Social Science and in the relief of the poor of Nottingham. (Mellors, 1914 & 1924)


Rev Hugo Heynes
Subscriber: April 1903 to 1916.
His name is not on the 1916 list nor in the 1902 Ledger.


Hezzledene
See –– Hazzeldine.


George Hickes
Newsroom subscriber: 1831, 1832.


William Norton Hicking, JP
Lace dresser. Partner in G & W.N. Hicking of Queens Road.
Address: Brackenhurst, Southwell; and Beeston.
Subscriber: 1/5/1899 to 1916.
Share number: 104 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
This was one of the five shares sold illegally by William Moore, librarian.
He was a subscriber to Russell’s History (1916).

He was born in Nottingham on 12/12/1864.

HickingWN-4101
William Norton Hicking
[4101]



J. Hicklin
He was the Secretary of The Literary Society which was based at Bromley House (Orange, 1840).


Mr Hickling
He was one of 39 candidates who applied to replace John Walton as Librarian; twelve made the first short-list and then six, of which he was one, received detailed consideration (7/12/1857).


A.W. Hickling
Subscriber: 5/1/1886 to 5/6/1888.


Edward Hickling
Poor Rate collector.
Address: 30 St Ann’s Well Road.

Between November 1886 and June 1889 he collected Poor Rate from the Library.
In March of 1887 and 1888 and in January 1890 the Library paid him £2 11s 4d.


Thomas Hickling
In 1820 he was an applicant for the position of librarian (5/6/1820).


Robert Hickton
Address: Portland House, Portland Road.
Subscriber: 7/4/1908 to 1/8/1911.
Share number: 234 (counterfoil dated 7/4/1908). A registration fee of 2s 6d was received on 24/10/1908.


Mr Higginbottom
On 5/11/1866 the bill of a Mr Higginbottom for Philosophical Transactions was to be paid.
In 1871 a purchase from a J. Higginbottom was recorded.
He supplied Philosophical Transactions for £3 17s 6d on 24/2/1874. and again for £4 11s 6d on 2/8/1875.


Mrs Harriett G. (M.H.) Higginbottom

Widow.
Address: 56 Shakespeare Street.
Subscriber: April 1901 to 7/12/1909.
Share number: 105 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
The share was passed from Marshall Hall Higginbottom.
A registration fee of 2s 6d was received from E. Harlow on 19/11/1909 in respect of a share transfer from Higginbottom to Tatham.


Mr Higginbottom
On 2/1/1854 Higginbottom donated a copy of his monograph on British Tritons, and on 4/6/1866 there was a further gift of books.
No first name given so this could be John or Marshall Hall Higginbottom.


John Higginbottom, FRS (c.1789-1876)
Surgeon.
Address: 4 High Pavement (west of the chapel); later 110 Mansfield Road.
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 6/9/1875.
He was a subscriber for more than 59 years.
Committee: 1850, 1851, 1859, 1860, 1862, 1863.

His name appears on the Bill for legal work in association with the purchase of Bromley House (1822).
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).
The Standfast Ledger records 25 borrowings between 5/9/1835 and 20/5/1855.

He signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867.
In 1875 he was one of four surviving subscribers of 1816.

He was the brother-in-law of the physician Dr Marshall Hall (q.v.).
His medical work involved the prescription of stimulants but he became convinced of their inefficiency.

In 1864 Mrs E.S. Oldham wrote By the Trent set in 'the large manufacturing town of Trentham' (Nottingham).
In this she used Higginbottom as the source of her character Dr Wilbraham.

Of his going on his rounds she wrote:
.... a gray horse and a species of hooded chaise conducted him every day to the houses of his patients far and near, and he was now seated beside the servantman who was driving, with a heap of books and papers in the ample recesses of the hooded seat.
In a letter to him, dated 29 November 1866 she wrote that:
.... when she wrote of him in her little book it was with many pleasant memories in her heart of his friendship to herself and family, and of his noble and self-denying efforts to promote true temperance in her native town.
 (Mellors, 1924)

He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society.

HigginbottomJ-sig-4198
The signature of
John Higginbottom

[4198]



Marshall Hall Higginbottom
Subscriber: 1/1/1849 to April 1901.
He was a subscriber for more than 51 years.
Committee: 1864.
The Standfast Ledger records ten borrowings between 23/1/1851 and 7/5/1852.
He signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867.
The share was passed to Mrs M.H. Higginbottom.


Mr Higham
The Subscriptions Book records that he paid £1 11s 6d on 1/4/1832 for the use of the Lecture Room at Bromley House for three nights.


Hill & Slack and Hill & Watts
Tenants. Coal merchants.
Address: Bromley House.
There was a Joseph Hill who was a coal dealer at 6 Wood Street, New Radford. [White, 1885]

Hill & Slack-letter-4223
Letterheading from
Hill & Slack, Coal merchants of Bromley House
dated 2 March 1892

[4223]

When Frettingham & Son surrendered their tenancy (4/6/1889) the room was offered to C. Clayton but eventually let to Hill & Slack on 1/10/1889 at £20 per annum plus rates with a first recorded payment of £5 0s 0d made on 15/1/1890.
On 7/7/1891 they took over the room vacated by Sutton.

In February 1892 the Committee received their letter of 2/11/1891 confirming that the desk under the window was the property of the Library (2/2/1892).
On 3/11/1892 a minute confirmed the tenancy at £20 per annum but the Committee showed concern over their sub-letting their office to Barber & Walker (6/2/1894).

On 14/8/1894 the Committee tried to make Hill & Slack pay for their gas from 29/9/1894.
Their courteous reply of 4/9/1894 pointed out that when they had become tenants at Christmas 1891 Mr Banwell had said that the £20 per annum included the gas.
This reduced their Poor Rate assessment to £45 and while they were agreeable to paying the Library for the gas they were not prepared to pay the authorities any more. So matters seem to have remained unchanged.
The last recorded rent was for the year 1895-96.

The partnership broke up and from 24/8/1895 Hill used the office at Bromley House (3/9/1895).
Hill & Watts paid rent of £12 10s 0d on 5/12/1898 and a letter from Hill & Watts (29/7/1899) requesting the transfer of their tenancy to Barber, Walker & Co of Eastwood Collieries was considered on 11/8/1899.
Mr Hill's executors paid £12 10s 0d on 5/3/1898.

They supplied about 26 tons of coal to the Library from February 1893 to January 1895 (£18 1s 8d @ say 13s 4d per ton).


John T. Hill (c.1851-1898) was a coal merchant and chairman of the West Bridgford School Board (Mellors, 1914)

See –– G. Case.


Mr Hill
Nottingham Journal.
The supply of this paper to the Library for a year is recorded as £1 10s 0d (1/1/1885) and £2 16s 6 (19/1/1892).
Not all the intervening years are linked to the name of Hill.


Mr Hill
A letter was received from a Mr Hill (9/9/1913) regarding the unsuitability of Hall Cain’s Woman Thou Givest Me.
Arthur Lineker, the librarian, received implied criticism for ordering it.

This book, which had considerable notoriety at the time of its publication, is the story of a young woman from an Irish convent who becomes pregnant. (Bromley House: Dc5463 in 2006)


Miss Caroline Hill
Spinster.
Address: Quorn House, The Ropewalk; the address on the 1910 counterfoil for share 242 is 'Quorn House, Bay of Biscay, Nottingham'.
Subscriber: 3/9/1907 to 1916.
Share number: 105; also 242 (counterfoil dated 7/4/1908).
A registration fee of 2s 6d was received on 1/9/1909.


Rev George Hill, MA
Baptist minister.
Address: Clare Valley Lodge, The Park.
Subscriber: 4/4/1893 to 1916.
Share number: 106 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
Committee: 1899, 1900.


Harry (or Henry) Hill, Esq.
Lace manufacturer.
Address: Pelham Crescent, The Park.
Subscriber: 4/3/1872 to 1916.
Share number: 107 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
Committee: 1909 to 1915.
He attended General Meeting: 1910, 1911, 1912, 1913, 1914, 1915 (apologies).
He replaced Arthur Bright on the Committee (5/10/1909).
Book Committee: 1910, 1911, 1913, 1914, 1915, 1916.
He signed the memorial regarding the tenure of the office of President in May 1875
(See ––  J. Place).

On 11/10/1909 he was co-opted to the Committee to replace Arthur Bright until April 1911.

His apology for absence at a Book Committee meeting in 1911
written on Bromley House Library headed paper reads:
Feb. 1/11
Dear Woodward,
Am sorry I cannot come down for the Book Committee meeting this evening. Have a slight attack of Laryngitis and dare not be out in the evening air at present. Please make my apologies.
    Yours,
        H. Hill.

    In a letter received by the Book Committee on 27/5/1913 he drew their attention to The Truth about Woman which he thought should be withdrawn, at least from the new book table. The Librarian was instructed to exercise his discretion.

Minuted book request:
He was a subscriber to Russell’s History (1916) (2 copies).

See –– H. Crewdson.


Rev J. Hill
He was paid £5 0s 0d on 2/8/1875 for an unspecified item or service.


J.C. Hill
Subscriber: 3/5/1841 to April 1843.


John T. Hill
See –– Hill & Slack.


Thomas Hill & Co.
Builders.
Address: 165 Alfred Street South; 37 Havelock Street, St Ann’s Well Road (Post Office, 1876).
They did drainage work and roof repairs between 1871 and 1879, with the largest payment being £29 0s 0d on 3/7/1876.
On 1/1/1877 Thomas Hill was asked to examine the roof.


William Hill
Subscriber: 4/1/1841 to 6/4/1880.
Committee: 1849, 1850, 1865, 1866.

The Standfast Ledger records one borrowing on 21/8/1841.
He was nominated a new trustee on 28/2/1848.
He was appointed as a Trustee of the Library in 1858 (Russell, 1916) and again in 1874.

On 4/4/1848 he was invited to join the Committee, but declined, however, on 3/9/1849 he replaced Joshua Neuberg.
Deceased.


William Hill
See –– W.D. Mosley.


Hind
See –– Wells & Hind.


A. Hind(e)
Subscriber: 2/10/1854 to 2/4/1855.


Mrs C.M. Hind
Subscriber: 6/6/1853 to April 1854.
The share was probably passed to Thomas Hind.


Henry Hind
Subscriber: 1/7/1872 to 10/4/1888.
The share was transferred to S.W. Hind.


Henry Youle Hind
Gift:


James Hind
Subscriber: 6/11/1848 to 3/4/1860.


Jesse Hind, Esq., JP (1824-1919)
Solicitor
Address: Papplewick Grange (1901); Edwalton (1916); Papplewick Grange.
Subscriber: 7/11/1882 to 1916.
Share number: 108 (certificate: 9/2/1901).

He was a subscriber to Russell’s History (1916).

He attended High Pavement Sunday School where he was later a teacher, secretary and superintendent.
He was managing clerk to Enfields, solicitors, and Arthur Wells made him a partner.
He was the first Clerk to the County Council and from 1893 he became Clerk of the Peace for the county.

In 1887 he was elected President of the Nottingham Incorporated Law Society.
He was also a Justice of the Peace and a director of a number of companies (Mellors, 1924).


Jesse Hind
Subscriber: 5/5/1884 to 1/12/1884.
This seems to be a second share.


Jesse William Hind, Esq.
Solicitor.
Address: Fairlawn, Private Road, Sherwood.
Subscriber: 7/11/1893 to 1916.
Share number: 109 (certificate: 9/2/1901).


John Hind
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 7/2/1842.
Newsroom subscriber: 1832.
Committee: 1823, 1824, 1832, 1833.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1831).

On 4/7/1825 he purchased The Courier newspaper from the Library for £4 4s 0d.
The Standfast Ledger records three borrowings between 16/9/1839 and 9/12/1839.

Gifts:


John Russell Hind (1823-1895)
On 7/2/1842 he sent a letter regarding Encke’s comet.

Gifts:


Mrs S. Hind
A slip pasted inside the Minute Book for 1847 refers to her as a widow and that the share had not been transferred.


S.W. Hind
Subscriber: 10/4/1888 to 5/11/1889.
The share was transferred from H. Hind.
The final transfer was recorded as from T.W. Hind.


Thomas Hind
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 5/6/1837.
Newsroom subscriber: 1831, 1832.
Committee: 1819, 1820, 1822, 1826, 1827, 1830, 1831, 1833, 1834, 1836, 1841, 1842.
He was a nominated purchaser of Bromley House (11/4/1820).
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).

He was Thomas Stag in the pamphlet The Literary Mousetrap (q.v.) published on 14/2/1829 satirising the debates that were taking place at Bromley House Library.

On 2/7/1827 he bought the Globe newspaper from the Library for £1 17s 0d.
In 1834 a Mr Hind was paid £34 13s 0d for 42 volumes of Curtis’ Botanical Magazine which was not to be circulated (5/5/1834).

The Share Interest Book shows that he held two Bromley House Building Shares from 1831 to 1837.
These shares were transferred to Henry Youle.


Thomas Hind
Subscriber: 1/3/1841 to 2/10/1854.
The Standfast Ledger records nine borrowings between 15/11/1842 and 14/12/1858.
The share was transferred to A. Hind.


Thomas Hind
Subscriber: April 1854 to April 1865.
Committee: 1866.
The share was probably passed from Mrs C.M. Hind and later passed to Mrs Thomas Hind.


Mrs Thomas Hind
Subscriber: April 1865 to 3/11/1884.
The share was passed from Thomas Hind and then transferred to G.J. Hine.

She signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867.


Mr Hine
Address: Mount Street.
The Standfast Ledger records one borrowing on 9/10/1835 by a Mr Hine.


Mr Hine
On 5/3/1860 a Mr Hine had his fines enforced.


Miss Annie Hine
Address: 48 Clarendon Street.
Subscriber: April 1909 to 1916.
Share number: 110 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
The share certificate counterfoil reads 'Miss Annie Hine and others'.

Minuted book request:
The share was passed from Thomas Chambers Hine but was listed as with him or his representatives up to 1916.


B.H. Hine
Address: Mapperley (1865).
Subscriber: 4/12/1848 to 1/9/1885.
On 5/3/1860 a Mr Hine had his fines enforced.

The share was transferred from J.F. Hine, and then later to his son, W.H. Hine.


G.J. or G.T. Hine
Subscriber: 3/11/1884 to 1/4/1890
This was probably George Thomas Hine, architect, son of Thomas Chambers Hine.


Groves Conway Hine
Lace manufacturer.
Address: Flixton, Cavendish Crescent, The Park.
Subscriber: 6/3/1906 to 1916.
Share number: 79 (counterfoil dated 31/5/1906).
He was elected as a Trustee ( (28/4/1911).


John George Hine
Subscriber: 1/5/1854 to 1/3/1858.


Jonathan Hine
Subscriber: 4/3/1833 to 4/4/1842.
Hosiery manufacturer.
On 27/12/1803 he married Mary Chambers and their son was Thomas Chambers Hine (q.v.).


Thomas Chambers Hine (1813-1899)
Address: St James Street ; at 25 Regent Street formerly Reservoir Street (from 1846).
Subscriber: 5/12/1853 to April 1909. He was a subscriber for more than 55 years.

HineTC-4271
Thomas Chambers Hine
[4271]

He was the most prominent architect in Victorian Nottingham (see below).

In 1874 he published Nottingham Castle: a Military Fortress, a Royal Palace, a Ducal mansion, a Blackened Ruin, a Museum and Gallery of Art. (Mellors, 1924)

On 5/3/1860 a Mr Hine had his fines enforced. In November 1876 he submitted a bill to the Library for £1 5s 0d (6/11/1876).

Gifts:
The share was passed to Miss Hine but was still in his name and with his representatives in 1916.

Thomas Chambers Hine was born on 31/5/1813 at Southampton Street, Covent Garden, London.
His parents were Jonathan Hine (q.v.) and Mary Chambers.
He had little formal education and was articled to a London architect.

On 16/2/1837 Thomas married Mary Betts of Stamford and in 1841 they lived in St James's Street, Nottingham.

Thomas died on 6/2/1899 at his home in Regent Street after a brief but painful illness.
His wife died in 1893.
He and Mary had had three sons and four daughters:
  1. George Thomas Hine - an architect;
  2. James Augustus Hine - a factory inspector;
  3. Harry Hine - a surgeon;
  4. Mary Millicent Hine;
  5. Sarah Alice Hine;
  6. Emily Hine;
  7. Annie Hine (q.v.).

The building work of T.C. Hine in Nottinghamshire included:
  • Gothic monument to Lord George Bentinck at Mansfield (1849);
  • Rectory at Kinoulton (1849);
  • Corn Exchange, Thurland Street (1849-50);
  • alterations to Woodborough Hall, Woodborough (c.1850);
  • Hine & Mundella hosiery factory, burnt down in 1859 but probably rebuilt to a T.C. Hine design (1851);
  • remodelling of Gonalston Hall (1851-2);
  • South Manor, Ruddington (1852);
  • north arcade and chancel of Priory Church of St Peter, Thurgarton (1852-3);
  • two lodges at Flintham (c.1853);
  • Flintham Hall (1853);
  • Alexandra Park development (c.1854) and the building there of: Springfields, Sunnyholme, later Trent House, and Fernleigh, Woodborough Road (for William Windley);
  • third storey addition to General Hospital (1854-5);
  • Adams, Page & Co building, Stoney Street (1855);
  • Great Northern Railway station at Orston (1855);
  • Great Northern Railway station at Radcliffe-on-Trent (c.1855)
  • Birkin Building and warehouse on Broadway (1855);
  • 1 to 11 Regent Street, with No 25 being his own, and some 200 houses in The Park (c.1856);
  • Christchurch, Nuthall Road, Cinderhill (1856);
  • Castle Grove: The Lodge and Nos 1 - 7 (1856)
  • Great Northern Railway, London Road station (1857);
  • restoration of St George’s, Barton-in-Fabis (1857 and 1877);
  • Great Northern Railway station at Aslockton (1857);
  • Coppice Hospital, Ranson Road, Mapperley, with two wings by G.T. Hine (1857-9);
  • Buttercross, Bingham (1861);
  • Great Northern railway station, Bingham (1861);
  • St Luke’s, Shireoaks (1861-2);
  • St Oswald’s, Dunham-on-Trent (1861-2);
  • St Matthias church, St Matthias Road (1867-1869);
  • restoration at St Giles, West Bridgford (1872);
  • restoration and Savile transept chapel at St Margaret, Bilsthorpe (1873);
  • Vicarage, Beckingham (1873);
  • Vicarage, Edwinstowe (1874);
  • extension to Shire Hall, High Pavement (1876-9);
  • Park Drive: Ashley House (1877);
  • chapel and new wing, General Hospital (1877);
  • Rectory, Barton-in-Fabis (1878);
  • revision at St Edmund, Holme Pierrepont (1878-81);
  • additions to Bulwell Hall (1879);
  • 2 Lucknow Drive (1882);
  • Trowell Hall, Trowell;
  • refurbishment of Nottingham Castle.
Also in The Park:
  • Cavendish Crescent North: Haddon House, Peveril Tower and Nos. 1-2, 10-12 ;
  • Cavendish Crescent South: Nos. 13, 17 - 19, 23, and Holyrood House, Cavendish House, Overdale House, Elmhurst
  • Cavendish Road East: No. 31;
  • Clumber Road South: Clumber House and Nos. 5 - 7;
  • Clumber : Road West: Linden House and Holly Lodge;
  • Duke William Mount: Nos 1 - 3;
  • Kenilworth Road: The Chestnuts;
  • Lenton Avenue: Queen Anne style houses;
  • Lenton Road: Nos 17, 21, 31 - 32;
  • Lincoln Circus;
  • Newcastle Drive: Nos 1 - 3;
  • Newcastle Terrace: Nos. 3 - 9, 25, 29 - 33;
  • North Road: Nos. 5 - 7;
  • Park Ravine: No. 1;
  • Park Drive: No. 1;
  • Park Valley: Nos. 3 - 5, 25, and Valley Grange.
  • Pelham Crescent.

See –– Robert Evans: alterations and building at Bromley House - 1883.


Thomas Chambers Hine & Son
Architects and surveyors.
Address: 4 Victoria Street (Post Office, 1876).


Hine & Evans
This was a partnership, presumably with Robert Evans senior.

Their building work in Nottinghamshire included:
  • rebuilding at St Lawrence’s church, Gonalston (1853);
  • restoration at St Giles church, Darlton (1855);
  • rebuilding at St Michael’s church, Farnsfield (1859-60);
  • restoration at St Michael’s church, Laxton (1859-60);
  • All Saints church, Raleigh Street (1863-1864);
  • High School, Arboretum Street (with T. Simpson) (1866-7)



W.H. Hine
Subscriber: 1/9/1885 to 1/2/1887.
The share was transferred from his father, B.H. Hine.


Annie Georgina Hitchin
Wife of Ernest Hitchin.
Address: St Brelades, Southey Street.
Subscriber: 4/7/1911 to 1916.
Share number: 43 (counterfoil endorsed 'wife of Ernest Hitchin' and dated 16/4/1912).


Ernest Hitchin
See –– Annie Georgina Hitchin.


Dr Hodgkin
Gifts:

Hodgson
Address: 15 Chancery Lane.
On 2/8/1875 the Librarian wrote about an account rendered.


Mrs L.M. Hodgson
Subscriber: 5/1/1892 to 6/3/1894.
The share was transferred from S. Hodgson.


S. Hodgson
Subscriber: 5/11/1889 to 5/1/1892.
The share was transferred to Mrs L.M. Hodgson.


Hodson & Facon or Facon
Masons, builders and contractors.
Address: Shakespeare Street and Queen’s Walk Wharf, Queen’s Walk (Post Office, 1876).

The Library used then for repair work including repairs to the floors (£7 17s 0d on 7/11/1881) on a number of occasions between September 1869 and March 1884.
(Sometimes they were recorded as just Facon.)


Joseph Hodson & Sons
Contractors, general stone merchants and chimney piece, etc. manufacturers.
Address: Castle Meadow Road, Wilford Road (Kelly, 1891; Wright, 1894-95); Frank Hodson, home: 6 Colliery Road; Joseph Hodson, home: 51 Queen’s Walk. [White, 1885]


On 6/5/1890 their tender for stonework and a new fireplace was accepted.
They (recorded as Hodson & Son, or just Hodson) did work at the Library on a number of occasions between 1886 and 1893 with their largest bill being for £22 18s 11d (1/9/1890).
They are also recorded as Hodgson & Son and Hodson & Son.


Alfred James Holbrook, LRIBA
Architect and surveyor
Address: Bromley House (Telephone number: 1688); home: Villa Irene, Wilford Lane, West Bridgford. (Telephone number: 3671) [Wright, 1915]

He offered to take the offices used by the Tariff Reform League if they were cleaned and a new fire grate installed.
The rent for this upstairs office was to be £15 per annum plus rates (7/4/1908) payable quarterly.
The Library was to replace the gas-stove with a fire grate and decorate the room.
The Library Rent Book records this from May 1908 to March 1911.

He was to have £4 to pay for the cleaning of his new office and the new grate cost £5 (5/5/1908).
He was paid the £4 on 6/10/1908.
By 1912 he seems to have taken the front office and was there in 1916.

Early in 1912 he submitted plans for the use of the garden.
These were put to the Committee on 16/4/1912, but they were politely declined (7/5/1912).
He received £2 towards the cleaning of his office after damage from a falling ceiling (17/4/1914).


Rev George Holcombe
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 7/4/1818.
His name was crossed through on 1818 list.


Rev J. Holden

Subscriber: 6/11/1854 to 7/1/1856.


Mr Holder
He was to supervise the cleaning of the Kneller portraitof the Duke of Richmond (5/3/1866).
A payment of £15 13s 9d was recorded as having been made to 'Holder' for unspecified reasons in March 1872.


William Holder
Address: 33 Brewer Street, Golden Square, W.
His business card is pasted into the front of the 1847 Minutes Book.


Mr Holditch
A payment of £2 18s 6d was recorded as having been made to 'Holditch' for unspecified reasons in 16/8/1873.


Samuel S. Holland
Tenant.

He took over the tenancy of the room used by Mr Jobbins on 1/1/1880 at a rent of £3 15s 0d. a quarter and he signed the Minute Book over a 6d Inland Revenue stamp.

HollandS-sig-4211
The signatures of
Samuel Holland and Thomas A. Starey
on a 6d Inland revenue Stamp.

[4211]

His first recorded payment was of £3 15s 0d on 28/5/1880 and the last on 5/3/1881.

On 7/6/1881 his tenancy was transferred to Mr Small.


Mrs Hollins
A slip pasted inside the Minute Book for 1847 refers to her as a widow and that the status of the share was ‘as they are’.


Miss Hollins
Subscriber: 4/9/1882 to 4/9/1882.

This was an immediate transfer.
An entry in the minute book shows her receiving the share of Mrs Carpenter, and the next line shows her disposing of a share to Rev W.P. Blakeney.


Charles Hollins
Subscriber: 5/11/1838 to 3/12/1849.
On 5/3/1849 his share was declared forfeit.


Claude Hollins
Subscriber: 7/3/1881 to 13/2/1900.
The share was transferred from R.A. Hollins and later transferred to Henry E. Hollins of Mansfield.


Henry Hollins

Address: Pleasley.
Subscriber: 4/3/1816 to 1/4/1863.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).
He was a subscriber for more than 47 years.
The share was passed to W. Hollins.
He signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867.


Henry Hollins
Address: Langwith Lodge.
Subscriber: 4/3/1839 to 1/11/1841.
He was known as 'Junior'.
The Standfast Ledger records one borrowing on 25/3/1852.


Henry Ernest Hollins
Address: Mansfield; Kirkby Lonsdale (1916).
Subscriber: 13/2/1900.
The share was transferred from Claude Hollins.
He was a subscriber to Russell’s History (1916) (2 copies).


Henry Ernest Hollins, Esq.
Address: Uplands. Mansfield.
Subscriber: 7/11/1870 to 4/9/1876.
Share number: 111 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
The share was transferred from W. Hollins, and then later transferred to Robert Arthur Hollins.


John Hollins
Subscriber: 3/4/1821 to 3/4/1826.


Robert Arthur Hollins
Subscriber: 4/9/1876 to 7/3/1881.
The share was transferred from H. Ernest Hollins and later transferred to Claude Hollins.


Mrs S. Hollins
Subscriber: April 1865 to 5/4/1881.
She signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867.
The share was passed from Samuel Hollins.


Samuel Hollins
Subscriber: 3/4/1821 to April 1865.
Committee: 1828, 1829.
he signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).
The Standfast Ledger records one borrowing on 6/3/1849.
The share was passed to Mrs Hollins.


W. Hollins
Subscriber: April 1863 to 7/11/1870.
The share seems to have been passed from Henry Hollins of Pleasley, and then transferred to Henry Ernest Hollins.
W. Hollins bought a catalogue for 3s 11d on 3/8/1900 (but see below).


Mrs William (Mary) Hollins
Address: Pleasley Vale, Mansfield (1916).
Subscriber: 12/12/1899 to 1916.
Share number: 112 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
The certificate is in the name of 'Mrs Mary Hollins'.

She paid an extra 1s 0d for postage with her subscription of £2 2s 0d on 18/1/1905.

She was a subscriber to Russell’s History (1916).


Mrs E. Hollowell
Subscriber: 5/12/1881 to 2/4/1889.


Holmes
Land agent
On 2/4/1878 this land agent from Cossall sub-let a room at Bromley House from Richard Hardy.


Miss Caroline (or Catherine) Elizabeth Holmes
Spinster.
Address: Crampton House, Sherwood.
Subscriber: 1/7/1913 to 1916.
Share number: 235 (counterfoil dated 17/4/1914).


Charles Holmes
Solicitor’s clerk to E.H. Fraser.

HolmesC-sig-4205
The receipt, dated 21/11/1890,
for the Library’s deed of assignment of 1874
returned by
J.C. Banwell to Charles Holmes,
clerk to E.H. Fraser is preserved.



John Holmes

Gift:


W. Holmes
Subscriber: 31/7/1826 to 6/4/1830.


John Holt
Subscriber: 3/1/1817 to 6/12/1819.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).


Charles Henry Homer
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 4/4/1836.
He was usually recorded as just H. Homer.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830) as Charles Homer.
The Share Interest Book shows that he held one Bromley House Building Share from 1831 to 1842.


Miss Hooley

The minutes for 3/4/1826 record that she transferred a share to W. Roe and tis could be the share held by Samuel C. Hooley.


James Hooley
Hosier.
Address: Woodhouse in Arnold. Woodthorpe.
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 1/8/1831.
He was named as a Trustee of Bromley House in the minute and document of 1/4/1822.
Deceased.


Samuel C. Hooley
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to April 1827.
He signed the Library Rues (1816-1830).

Gifts:
This could be the share transferred by Miss Hooley to W. Roe (3/4/1826).


Miss Hannah Maria Hopkins - also listed as Miss A.M. Hopkins
Spinster.
Address: Lenton Road, The Park.
Subscriber: 7/1/1867 to 7/7/1914.
She was a subscriber for more than 47 years.
Share number: 113 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
She signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867.
Her death was noted at the 1914 General Meeting.


Mrs Hopkins
The Share Interest Book shows that a Mrs Hopkins held four Bromley House Debenture Shares from January 1859 to January 1863 and then two shares up to January 1864.


Thomas Hopkins
Subscriber: 6/12/1852 to 7/1/1867.
Committee: 1855, 1856, 1858, 1859, 1861, 1862, 1864.
Auditor: 1859.
He had died before 1/5/1865 when his place on the Committee was taken by Dr. W.P. Stiff.
Some 20 months passed before his share was transferred to Miss Hopkins.


Rev William Hopkins

Gift:


George Hopkinson
5/2/1816 to 3/5/1841.
He was known as 'Junior'.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).

In March 1834 he was in arrears with his subscription (31/3/1834) and in September he was written to again about the arrears and about replacement of Bissett’s Reign of George III ( 1/9/1834).
In the following February a final warning was given (2/2/1835) but at the next Committee meeting he was allowed a further two months (2/3/1835).
Later in 1835 he received three more final notices (1/6/1835, 1/5/1837 & 4/12/1837) with three months notice of forfeiture.

His share was transferred 'by order of the board' and acquired for £8 8s 0d by D. Woodhouse along with his arrears for 1841 and 1842 (Subscriptions Book 19/4/1841; 3/5/1841 & 7/8/1843).


Richard Hopper
Address: Papplewick.
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 6/1/1840.
Newsroom subscriber: 1833.
He was known as 'Junior'.
Committee: 1820, 1821, 1822.
Auditor: 1820, 1822.
Sub-committee to negotiate sale of a parcel of land at Bromley House.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).
He was a nominated purchaser of Bromley House (11/4/1820) and was associated with the Note of Hand of 1820 by which £1700 was promised on 20/11/1820 and the promise cancelled on 6/1/1823.

He was Mr Jumper in the pamphlet The Literary Mousetrap (q.v.) published on 14/2/1829 satirising the debates that were taking place at Bromley House Library.

The Share Interest Book shows that he held two Bromley House Building Shares from 1831 to 1844.
These shares were transferred to Mr Riley of Papplewick.


John Hors(e)fall
Subscriber: 1/1/1827 to 7/6/1841.
Committee: 1832, 1833.

The Standfast Ledger records one borrowing on 17/9/1838.
The name is a also seen as 'Horsfal'.
The final share transfer was from John Horsfall.


William Horsfall
Newsroom subscriber: 1831.


Rev H.J. Hoskin

Subscriber: 5/8/1867 to 6/7/1868.
The share was transferred by Mrs Hoskins.


J. J. Howard
See  –– Harleian Society.


Rev W. Howard
Subscriber: 6/6/1859 to April 1860.

This is very probably William Howard (1789-1873) Rector of St Peter's Nottingham where he succeeded Robert White Almond and served from 1853 to 1866.
William Howard had previously been the first minister of St John's Leenside.
He then went on to be rector of Clifton at the age of 77.
There is a memorial window to him in the chancel of St Peter's. [Peter Hoare]

William Howard took over the share of the Unitarian minister, Rev Benjamin T. Carpenter (c.1789-1860).
Howard will have been a Standfast Trustee ex officio as Rector of St Peter’s.



Howard Association
Gift:


Richard Howe, 1st and last Earl Howe of Langar (1725/6-1799)
Educated at Westminster and Eton he had a spectacular Naval career becoming an Admiral of the Fleet.
He saw action at Cherbourg in 1758 and Quiberon Bay in 1759.
He defeated the French on The Glorious First of June in 1794 and quelled the Spithead mutiny of 1797.

His daughter, Sophia Charlotte (1762-1835), Baroness Howe of Langar in her own right, married Penn Assheton Curzon, son of Assheton Curzon (1729/30-1820), 1st Viscount Curzon of Penn, who was also the father of Esther Curzon, who in 1778 married Sir George Smith, later Bromley, Bt. (q.v.)

The Library has an engraving of the 1st Lord Howe (Russell, 1916) and it is now in the Reading Room, Neville Hoskins Room (2007).


Mary Howe
See –– The Smith Family.


Thomas Howe
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).


Richard William Howell
Joiner, builder and cabinet maker.
Address: 37 Parliament Street (Wright, 1858); Derby Road (Post Office, 1876); St George’s Square, Freechurch Street (Kelly, 1891); home: 9 Burton Terrace, Sherwin Road, New Lenton. [White, 1885]

On 6/7/1857 he was to make a 'library table as per contract'.
A later note records that castors were added to allow knees to go under it.

He was asked for an estimate for providing bookcases on 6/9/1869.

He is recorded as doing repairs at the Library on many occasions between March 1881 and 13/5/1893, the last being for 'windows'.
His accounts ranged from 1s 8d (4/10/1890) to £79 19s 0d (7/8/1883).


Dr F. Howitt, MD
Subscriber: 5/8/1867 to 1/5/1899.
Deceased.
The share was transferred to Dr W.A. Howitt.


Dr Godfrey Howitt
Physician.
Subscriber: 7/6/1831 to 5/8/1839.
Committee: 1833, 1834, 1837, 1838.

In 1839 he published The Notts Flora and it has been written of him that he 'took sincere interest in the local as well as general progress of literature and science'. (Mellors, 1924)

 
John Howitt
Newsroom subscriber: 1831, 1832, 1833.


Dr William Adlington Howitt
Surgeon.
Address: 54 Goldsmith Street.
Subscriber: 1/5/1899 to 1916.
Share number: 114 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
The share was transferred from Dr F. Howitt.


William Howitt (1792-1879)
Chemist and druggist.
Address: Lower Parliament Street; later South Parade and Wilford
and
Mary Howitt née Botham (1799-1888).

Subscriber: 3/2/1823 to 3/10/1836.
Committee: 1825, 1826, 1831, 1832.
He bought an original share.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).

Gifts:
William Howitt was born on 18/12/1792 in Heanor, the son of Thomas Howitt (b.1763) a mine superintendent, and Phoebe Tantum.
He was brought up in Heanor and attended Ackworth School at Pontefract and then for a year he was at a Friends' private seminary at Tamworth.

Mary Botham was born on 12/3/1799 at Coleford, Gloucestershire, the third daughter of Samuel Botham (1758-1823), a land surveyor.
The family moved to Uttoxeter where in 1819 she was to meet William.
She received her education in Uttoxeter, Croydon (1809) and Sheffield (1810-12).
   
William and Mary were married on 16/4/1821 in Uttoxeter.
They were both members of the Society of Friends and their honeymoon was spent walking 500 miles botanising all the way.

After some years in Hanley when William worked as a chemist, they moved to Nottingham in late 1823 and were there until 1834.
At first they ran a chemist’s shop on Newcastle Street and Timber Hill with William’s brother, Richard Howitt (1799-1869). before having their own shop on South Parade in the Market Place until 1836.

The actor and performer Charles Reece Pemberton stayed with them in Nottingham.

They were prolific writers of poetry and other literature as well as being journalists and members of the 'Sherwood Forest' group of authors.
The poem The Forest Minstrel was one of their joint works and William wrote Book of the Seasons, or the Calendar of Nature (1831), A Popular History of Priestcraft (1833) and Visits to Remarkable Places (1844). Mary’s works included translations of Hans Andersen and A Popular History of the United States.

They were both active in politics and William was an alderman of Nottingham.
Mary’s autobiography, edited after her death in 1888 by her daughter Margaret Howitt mentions that 'the remarkably well-supplied public library of Bromley House furnished us with constant fresh stores of literature' (Howitt, 1889).

Much of the rest of their lives was spent in Heidelberg, Germany, Switzerland and Italy and they then went to Australia to visit William’s brother, Godfrey Howitt, who was a physician.

They had eleven children including:

William died on 3/3/1879 at Via Sistina 86, Rome.
Mary died in 1888 at Via Gregoriana 38, Rome having become a Roman Catholic in 1883.
The couple are buried in the Monte Testaccio Cemetery in Rome.

(Mellors, 1924; Peter Mandler (2004) Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, vol. 28, pp.530-532; Susan Drain (2004) Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, vol.28, p.529)




HowittM-01
Howitt_W&M
HowittM-02
Mary and William Howitt
Left: 'Woodburytype' pictures of Mary Howitt;
Right: William and Mary Howitt at The hermitage, Highgate, London - 1852-57.

From: Mary Howitt - an autobiography editied by her daughter Margaret Howitt. Vols. I & II (1889)



Hubbard & Stokes
Painters
Address: 20 Forman’s Buildings, Goldsmith Place. John Charles Hubbard. Home address: 11 Park Place [Wright, 1894-95]


Hubbart, Durose & Pain
Auditors.
Address: 18 Low Pavement (Wright, 1915-16).
Their fee of £2 2s 0d was unaltered from May 1908 to May 1915 and Charles J. Pain signed the accounts in the Library Minute Book.


Henry Edward Hubbart

Chartered accountant.
Address: Pelham Crescent, The Park.
Subscriber: 6/5/1878 to 13/3/1905.
Share number: 115 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
President: 8/4/1902 to 9/2/1904.
Honorary Secretary: 5/4/1892 to 8/4/1902.
Committee: 1886, 1888 to 1903.
Book Committee: 1886, 1888, 1889.
The minute of 7/4/1903 indicates that the President and the Honorary Secretary were to be ex officio members of both the Book Committee and the Finance Committee.
Rights of Light sub-committee: 5/2/1889.
Income from rents and shops sub-committee: 10/6/1902.
Shares Committee: 10/5/1899 (in the wake of William Moore’s dismissal as Librarian).
Magazine sub-committee: 9/10/1900.
Auditor: 1887, 1888, 1890.

He attended General Meetings: 1894, 1902, 1903.

On 5/4/1892 he was elected Honorary Secretary.

HubbartHE-3957
HubbartHE-sig-4241
Portrait and signature of
Henry Edward Hubbart

[3957 & 4241]

He was a member of a sub-committee which on 1/5/1894 was appointed to discuss Library business and presumably the rule changes then under consideration with the Library’s solicitor, E.H. Fraser.

He bought books and magazines from the Library for:
Books

Magazines
15s 0d 13/11/1901
15s 6d 11/2/1903
£2 4s 6d 30/11/1900

15s 6d 15/3/1904

Gifts:
Arthur Lineker, as Librarian, wrote to the Nottingham Daily Guardian on 24/1/1903 to ask that their report on Henry Roby Thorpe’s funeral state that Bromley House had been represented by H.E. Hubbart, President, and John Russell, M.A., Honorary Secretary.

In March 1902 Hubbart found himself unable to continue as Honorary Secretary and the next General Meeting (8/4/1902) passed a motion
(proposed by Rev J.A. Mitchell and seconded by Joseph Page):
That this meeting desires to place on record its high appreciations of the eminent services rendered to the Library by the Honorary Secretary (Mr Hubbart) and to express its deep regret that he feels unable to submit himself for re-election to the office.
    During the ten years of his secretaryship Mr Hubbart has devoted much time to the interests of the institution while his wide knowledge of books and affairs of business has proved invaluable both in the ordinary routine administration of the Library and on occasions of critical importance. Such valuable services deserve not only to be briefly mentioned but also to be permanently recorded, and this meeting instructs the Committee to place this resolution on the minute book as an expression of gratitude to Mr Hubbart for his long, able and distinguished services in the office of Honorary Secretary.

He suffered from a prolonged illness in 1902 and William Bradshaw was designated ‘deputy-chairman’ to replace him at Committee meetings (15/9/1903).
He resigned as President early in 1904 and William Bradshaw was nominated as his replacement (9/2/1904).
Hubbard's illness continued into April and the 1904 General Meeting (12/4/1904) passed a vote of thanks to him.

A letter was sent on 16/4/1904.
Dear Mr Hubbart,
    At the Annual Meeting of Subscribers held on Tuesday April 12th a hearty vote of thanks, duly proposed and seconded, and carried unanimously was accorded to you for your service to the Library.
    * * President: I was desired to communicate to you the fact that this vote had been accorded to you and at the same time assure you of the sympathy of the Subscribers with you in your illness and their sincere hope that you may soon recover.
    Although I am sorry that circumstances have made it necessary for me to write this letter, yet, as the letter testifies to the gratitude and affection felt towards you by the Subscribers, I have pleasure in discharging the duty laid upon me.
    I am, dear Mr Hubbart,
    Yours faithfully,
    John Russell
    Honorary Secretary.


Later that year his death was reported and a letter of condolence sent to his widow and son (13/9/1904) and a few months later the Committee spent some £14 in purchasing some books from his library (13/12/1904).

These included, with the prices paid:
Chapman’s Dramatic Works (2 vols.) 7s 6d
Dutch and Quaker Colonies in America (2 vols.)  8s 0d
Heywood’s Dramatic Works (6 vols.) £1 2s 6d
E.A. Freeman’s Comparative Politics 5s 0d
Dekker’s Dramatic Works (4 vols.) 15s 0d
W.W. Skeat (ed.) The Works of Chaucer (7 vols.) £2 15s 0d
J.G. Frazer’s Pausania’s Description of Greece (6 vols.) £3 3s 0d
Parkman’s Works (8 vols.) £2 8s 0d
Gregorius History of Rome in the Middle Ages (8 vols.) £2 0s 0d
W.W. Skeat Piers Plowman (bought 3/1/1905) 15s 0d
John Fish’s Old Virginia (2 vols.) 8s 0d


This list comprises 47 volumes and cost £14 7s 0d.

His death was noted at the 1905 General Meeting as he died just after that of 1904.
The final share transfer was by Mrs Hubbard.
A registration fee of 2s 6d was received from A.E. Blake on 20/3/1905 in respect of a share transfer from Hubbart to Reeves.

See  –– J.C. Banwell (1893); William Bradshaw: drains - 1898.


Baron von Hube
He was paid 7s. 6d on 11/6/1901 for History of the parish of Greasley.


Henry Hudston, Esq.
Gentleman.
Address: Ivy Lodge, Burns Street.
Subscriber: 6/12/1898 to 8/6/1909.
Share number: 116 (certificate: 9/2/1901).

He bought a book (or books) from the Library for 8s 0d on 30/11/1900.


Thomas Hughes
Bookseller.
As the lowest bidder he secured the contract to supply the first £100-worth of book to the library.
These 685 volumes arrived in August and September 1816.
The large, and almost completely empty ledger, of books bought in 1816 (D4(l)) records invoices from him dated 3/9/1816 and 27/9/1816.
He also supplied 44 volumes of the Universal History.


Calvary (or CalverleyHuish
Subscriber: 4/3/1816 to 6/4/1829.
Committee: 1820, 1821.
He signed the library rules (1816-1830).


John Huish
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 2/2/1824.
Committee: 1817, 1818, 1822.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).
On 18/9/1818 he acted as proxy for Dr Hall at the Committee meeting.

He was a member of the 1816 Committee to draw up rules, investigate building and appoint a librarian.
He resigned from 1822 committee immediately after election.

HuishJ-sig-4166
The signature of
John Huish

[4166]

Gift:
Deceased.


Robert Huish

Gift from R. Huish:



The Huish Family

(Information from Elizabeth Robinson - July 2009)

Calverley Huish was involved in the early days of Bromley House Library. As a  merchant in Liverpool he may well have joined the Athenaeum there. It transpires that he was also a member of the Hull Subscription Library as in An Account of the Rise and Progress of the Subscription Library at Kingston-upon-Hull, established 6th December 1775 printed by William Rawsok of Lowgate, Kingston-upon-Hull, a Calverley Huish is listed as a member of the Library in 1810-1811.

It is said that an ancestor, having joined in Monmouth's rebellion, fled after the battle of Sedgmoor, and to escape the persecution of Judge Jefferys left his native Taunton, and settled in Leicester. A family  Bible dated 1676 is inscribed with the name of Elizabeth Huish, Taunton. The name Huish was sometimes spelled Hewish.

The family of
Mark Huish
m. ???? ????
His will was proved in 1651 and he was of St James's, Taunton.
Children
Grand-children
Robert Huish m. ???? ????
Mark Huish (bapt. 18 June 1654)
Robert Huish (bapt. 1650)
Mark Huish (bapt. 14 Nov 1630)

The family of
Robert Huish (bur. 1729 at St. Nicholas's, Leicester;
will proved at York on 11 Feb 1729)
m.(20 Jan 1695) ???? ????
Robert Huish –– see below.
John Huish (d. & bur. Sep 1700 at St. Martin's, Leicester)
Elizabeth Huish (bapt. 15 Sep 1697 at St. Martin's, Leicester)
m.(5 Oct 1720) John Weston, son of Alderman Richard Weston of Leicester.

The family of
Robert Huish (bur. at St Nicholas, Nottingham; his will was proved at York on 23 Dec 1765)
m.(at Hugglescote near Coalville in Leicestershire) Alice Weston, daughter of Richard Weston, of Leicester.

Robert Huish moved to Nottingham where he served as sheriff in 1736, became an alderman in 1759, and mayor in 1760.
Children
Grand-children
Robert Huish (d. unmarried. He was drowned on his way to Guernsey)
Mark Huish (b.1725), of whom presently.
Elizabeth Huish (b.c. 1721; d. 1811 aged 90)
m. Nathaniel Denison of Daybrook, Nottinghamshire.

Alice Huish
m. John Davison, MD of Leicester.
Issue Davison.
Mary Huish
m. Sir Robert Bewicke, kt, of Close House, Northumberland.
Issue Bewicke.
Anne Huish (d. unmarried)

The family of
Mark Huish (bapt. 16 Dec 1725)
m.(13 Dec 1774 at St Philips Birmingham) Margaret Stuart (b. 1752; d. 1822), daughter of Charles Stuart of Birmingham.
Children
Grand-children
Great-grand-children
Mark Huish (b. l Mar 1776; d. 14 Jan 1833; bur. at St. Nicholas (presumably Nottingham))
m.(5 Aug 1799) Eliza Gainsford (d.1824), daughter of John Gainsford of Worksop.

Mark Huish was a deputy-lieutenant for Nottinghamshire
Mark Huish (b. 9 Mar 1803) He was a captain in the 74th Regiment Bengal Native Infantry.

Henry Huish (d. 1831)
Eliza Huish
Robert Huish
m.(23 Aug 1805 at St. George's Southwark) Maria Petty, daughter of Robert Greening of the Customs.

Robert was the author of The History of Bees, and various other works.
Robert Huish (b.16 Jun 1811)

John Huish (b. 14 Jun 1814)

Calverley Huish (b. 26 Oct 1821)

Margaret-Eliza Huish

Harriet-Maria Huish
John Huish (b. 14 Jul 1780; d. Oct 1823; bur. at Sneinton, Nottingham)
m.(1809) Mary Norton-Gamble (d. 30 Apr 1825), daughter of Captain Henry Norton-Gamble, RN, of Willoughby in Leicestershire
John Huish (b. 17 Mar 1813) He was a solicitor in Derby.

Marcus Huish (b. 19 Jul 1815)

Mary Huish (d. 3 Oct 1821)

Margaret Huish

Anne-Caroline Huish

Eliza Huish
Calverley (or Calvary) Huish (b. 15 Jul 1786) He was a merchant in Liverpool
m.(26 May 1809) Harriet Youle, daughter of John Youle of Nottingham.


Calverley Huish (b. 27 Apr 1817; d. 18 Sep 1818 aged 17 months)
Harriett Huish
Margaret Huish
William Huish (b. 23 Nov 1787; d. 3 June 1822)
m.(at Manchester) Mary-Anne Taylor.

William was a Lieutenant in the 6th Regiment of Dragoons Carabineers.



Eliza Huish
m.(1809 at St Peter’s church, Nottingham) Francis Hart.

Francis was a banker in Nottingham
 
Frank Hart
(b. 1816;
d. 26 Apr 1836)
Eliza Hart
Margaret Huish
m.(9 Nov 1806) Joseph Benjamin Smith (d. Jun 1807; bur. 12 Jun 1807 at St Nicholas, Nottingham).

Margaret lived at Bridgend House, Nottingham, while Joseph was from Newark and a natural son of a Mr Sykes of Newark. 
Joseph Smith
(b. 1807;
d. 23 July 1823)

Genealogy mainly from John Burke (c.1836) A Genealogical and Heraldic History of the Commoners of Great Britain. Page 417.



The Huish family and Abigail Gawthern
(Information from Elizabeth Robinson - July 2009)

There are numerous references to members of the Huish family in
The Diary of Abigail Gawthern of Nottingham 1751-1810.

Page numbers refer to the 1980 Thoroton Society publication edited by Peter Hoare.

Date
Page
number

Foot-
note
1771               

27
Sir Robert Bewick, Knight, died at his seat in Northumberland, Sep; he married a Miss Huish of Nottingham, sister to Mark Huish, Mrs Dennison, and Mrs Davison; left a large family. 1
13 Dec 1774 29
Mr Mark Huish, hosier, in St James' Lane, married Miss Stuart of Birmingham, Dec 13, a match of Mrs Peak's making.
2
22 Sep 1777 28
Mr Robert Willoughby married Miss Bruce in Dec; he is a wine merchant in partnership with Mr Huish.

Dec 1778 34
At a large party at Mr. Huish's, Dec 22, on the opening of their great drawing room.

Sun 31 Jan 50
The two Master Huishes and a Master Gillman drank tea here with Dolphy Marriott; they were schoolfellows at Rugby School; Dolphy and Gillman returned the next day to Rugby, the Huishes just left.
Feb 1796 66
Mrs Davison died, Feb 26; she was the widow of Dr D. and sister to Mr Huish and Mrs Denison; she left three daughters and two sons. [3]
3
Sep 1799 79
Mr Mark Huish married a Miss Gainsford of Worksop, Sep; she is a Roman Catholic; Mr Huish's father greatly objected to the match on that account; he did not see Mrs M. H. of some time after; she is since turned a dissenter. 
4
20 Dec 1805 120
This day Mr Huish completed his 80th year and had a large party at dinner and sandwiches.
5
10 Nov 1806 125
Miss Huish married at St Nicholas' by Dr Wylde to Mr Joseph Benjamin Smith of Newark, a natural son of the late Mr Sykes of that place; they set off for London directly but some accident happened to the carriage which prevented their departure from the church door.; Mr Huish gave his daughter three thousand pounds down, and promises five thousand pound more at his death.
6
Jan 1807 126
The mother of Mr Benjamin Smith died at Mrs Sykes' at Newark the 7; he married Miss Huish; they did not put on morning for her as they did not wish the world to know the relationship as he was a natural son of old Mr Sykes by the above woman, who since Mr S['s] death had resided as housekeeper I the family.
7
6 Jun 1807 129
An express arrived at Mr Huish's of Mr Smith of Newark's death at Biggleswade; the account caused Mr Huish to have an apoplexy, he was in bed sifting up to read the letter fell backward; Mr Joseph Benjamin Smith married Miss Huish; he was brought to Nottingham and buried in a vault in St Nicholas' church on Friday the 12th attended by gentlemen from Newark and the neighbourhood in fifteen carriages; there was a cold collation for them at Mr Mark Huish's as old Mr Huish was dangerously ill.
8
27 Mar 1809 143
Miss Eliza Huish married Mr. Frank Hart at St. Peter's church by Dr Wylde; they set off immediately for London.
9
26 May 1809 144
Mr Calvary Huish married Miss Youle.
10

Footnotes
1
This was Mary Huish, daughter of Robert and Alice Huish. Her sister, Alice, married Dr John Davidson; her other sister, Elizabeth, married Nathaniel Denison.
2
This was Mark Huish (b.1725).
3
Mrs Davison was Alice Huish; her sister, Elizabeth Huish, married Nathaniel Denison; her brother was Mark Huish (b.1725).
4
This was Mark Huish (1776-1833) and his father was Mark Huish (b.1725).
5
This was Mark Huish (b.1725).
6
This was Margaret Huish, daughter of William (1787-1822) and Mary-Anne Huish.
7
This was Margaret Huish, daughter of William (1787-1822) and Mary-Anne Huish.
8
Miss Huish was Margaret Huish, daughter of William (1787-1822) and Mary-Anne Huish.
The provider of the cold collation was presumably her uncle, Mark Huish (b.1776), and old Mr Huish was his father, Mark Huish (b.1725), who would have been 82 years of age in 1807.
9
This was Eliza Huish, daughter of William (1787-1822) and Mary-Anne Huish.
10
Calverley( or Calvary) Huish (b. 15 Jul 1786) was a merchant in Liverpool.
On 26 May 1809 he married Harriet Youle, daughter of John Youle of Nottingham
Adrian Henstock, ed. (1980) Thoroton Society Record Series Vol. XXXIII (1978 & 1979)
The Diary of Abigail Gawthern of Nottingham 1751-1810. Printed for the Thoroton Society by Derry & Sons Ltd, Nottingham.



Hull & Son
Plumbers.
Address: 93 Upper Parliament Street [Post Office, 1876]; 110 Upper Parliament Street (Kelly, 1891)
They received a single payment of £2 6s 11d on 4 February 1884 for some unspecified work.


Hulton
See –– Rev J. Hutton


Mr Hunt

See –– S.H. Surplice.


Hunt & Dickins
A registration fee of 2s 6d for share transfer was received on 10/12/1913.


Mr Hunter
He was paid 18s 0d on 11/3/1882 for book cleaning.


Rev Hunter
Address: St John’s.
The Standfast Ledger records three borrowings between 19/9/1844 and 1/10/1844.


J.R. Hunter
Subscriber: 5/12/1843 to 3/3/1845.


N. Hurst
Subscriber: 5/3/1849 to 6/11/1854.
Newsroom subscriber: 1832.
He was known as 'Senior'.
The share was transferred by Mrs Sarah Hurst.


Samuel Hurst
Newsroom subscriber: 1832.


William Hurst
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 7/6/1858.
Newsroom subscriber: 1831, 1832, 1833.
Committee: 1816.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).

He was a member of the 1816 Committee set up to draw up rules, investigate buildings and appoint a librarian.
It was recorded that he replaced either Mr Hall or Mr Burnside on the Committee when they had ‘left town’ (2/8/1816).

The Share Interest Book shows that he held one Bromley House Building Share from 1831 to 1855.

The Standfast Ledger records four borrowings between 31/1/1844 and 12/5/1847.
Deceased.


William Henry Hurst
Subscriber: 6/11/1871 to 2/4/1878.
He was known as 'Junior'.
He bought a forfeited share from 1853 bought for £11 11s 0d on 2/10/1871.
The final transfer of the share on 4/3/1878 was postponed.


Rev John Hurt
Address: Beeston.
Subscriber: 6/1/1823 to 3/5/1824.


Thomas Huskinson
Address: Epperstone.
Subscriber: 4/1/1858 to April /1861.


Thomas Huskinson
Subscriber: April 1863 to 6/5/1890
The name was H. Huskinson on the 1863 list and then T. Huskinson.
He signed the memorial in support of Count Marioni (librarian) in 1867.
The share was transferred to W. Lamb Huskinson.


Thomas William Huskinson
Address: The Lower House, Epperstone.
Subscriber: 10/1/1905 to 1916.
Share number: 117 (counterfoil dated 20/5/1905).
The share was transferred from William Lambe Huskinson.

HuskinsonT-sig-4148
The signature of
Thomas William Huskinson

[4148]

He was born at Epperstone on 13/4/1861 and educated at Mount Olive Private School in Scarborough.
In 1899 he married Mary Margaret, daughter of the Rev Maximillian Hugh Stanley Champneys, Rector of Epperstone. (Phillimore, 1910)


William Lambe Huskinson

Land agent.
Address: Epperstone Manor.
Subscriber: 6/5/1890 to 10/1/1905.
Share number: 117 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
The share was transferred from T. Huskinson.
He paid the Library 6s 0d on 14/2/1903 for a ‘replacement’.
Deceased.
The share was transferred to Thomas William Hutchinson.

On 16/12/1904 the Library wrote to Larkin & Co., solicitors of Newark, regarding the late W.L. Hutchinson.
The transfer of his share (No. 117) had been registered and a certificate would be issued after the Annual Meeting in April next.

William Lambe Hutchinson was born at Caythorpe, Lowdham on 4/2/1839.
In 1861 he married Emily Jennie, the daughter of John Crift of Bucklands in Devon.
She was born on 7/11/1849.
William died at Epperstone on 3/7/1903. (Phillimore, 1910)

HuskinsonWL-4147a










Portrait and signature of
William Lambe Huskinson

[4147a & 4147s]
HuskinsonWL-sig-4147s



Mrs Catherine Hutchinson
Widow.
Address: 5 Cavendish Crescent South, The Park.
Subscriber: 3/5/1910 to 1916.
Share number: 128 or 120 (counterfoil dated 28/4/1911).
The share was transferred from Robert Hutchinson.


Mrs Elizabeth Hutchinson
Widow.
Address: West Hill House, Old Basford.
Subscriber: 3/7/1876 to 2/3/1885.
Share number: 121 (certificate: 9/2/1901).
The share was transferred from Robert Hutchinson, and later transferred to Miss Mary Hutchinson.


Mrs Emily Hutchinson
Address: Sherwood Rise.
Subscriber: April 1901 to 10/9/1912.
Deceased.
The share was passed from W.H. Hutchinson and later transferred to Miss Emily Hutchinson.


Miss Emily Hutchinson

Spinster.
Address: The Gables, 43 Sherwood Rise.
Subscriber: 10/9/1912 to 1916.
Share number: 121 (counterfoil dated 15/4/1913).
The share was transferred from Mrs Emily Hutchinson (deceased).


Rev George Hutchinson
Vicar of St Mary’s.
Address: St. Mary’s church.
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 21/11/1817.
Committee: 1816.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).

He was a member of the original Committee 1816 and a member of the sub-committee set up to draw up rules, investigate buildings and appoint a librarian.

He was a Trustee of the Standfast Library when the transfer of the books to Nottingham Subscription Library was proposed (7 May 1816) and he signed papers in connection with the transfer into the care of the Library on 5/6/1816 as well as the Standfast Library Transfer Deed (20/12/1816).
See –– William Standfast.

Deceased.


J.B. Hutchinson
Subscriber: 7/5/1866 to 1/5/1899.
Committee: 1884, 1885, 1887, 1888, 1893, 1894.
The share was transferred from Miss M. Hutchinson.
Book Committee: 1884, 1885, 1887.
Rights of Light sub-committee: 5/2/1889.
Scrutator: 1888, 1894.
He was Present at the General Meeting of 1894.
On 10/4/1894 he proposed a motion concerning revision of the rules of the Library.
Deceased.

The share was transferred to Miss M. Hutchinson.
See –– J.C. Banwell (10/7/1893).

HutchinsonJB-sig-4218
HutchinsonJB-sig-4227
Two signatures of
John B. Hutchinson

[4227]



Colonel John Hutchinson (1616-1664)
He was born on High Pavement and was educated at the Free School on Stoney Street and at Cambridge.
He married Lucy, daughter of Sir Allen Aspley, and settled in Owthorpe.

He sided with Parliament and in 1643 became Governor of Nottingham and in 1646 and again in 1660 represented Nottingham in Parliament.
He had signed the death warrant for Charles I

A portrait of him was in Bromley House at the time Sutton’s Stranger’s Guide was published in 1827.
It had disappeared by the time of Russell’s History (1916).


Miss M. Hutchinson
Subscriber: 1/8/1864 to 7/5/1866.
The share was transferred to J.B. Hutchinson.


Miss Margaret Hutchinson
Spinster.
Address: Kirkstall Lodge, Cavendish Crescent South, The Park.
Subscriber: 1/5/1899 to 12/9/1910.
Share number: 118 (certificate: 9/2/1901). The share was transferred from J.B. Hutchinson.

She bought a books from the Library for:
3s 0d 12/12/1902
2s 0d 31/1/1906
3s 0d 3/12/1904



Deceased.


Miss Mary Hutchinson
Subscriber: 2/3/1885 to 3/5/1887.
The share was transferred to Miss R.P. Hutchinson.


Dr R. Hutchinson
Subscriber: 1/7/1850 to 6/4/1858.

On 4/4/1853 he was asked to repair Mrs Loudon’s Flower Garden damaged while in the possession of a member of his family.


Miss Rachel Procter Hutchinson
Address: 7 Lenton Road, The Park.
Subscriber: 3/5/1887 to 7/3/1916.
Share number: 119 (certificate: 9/2/1901).

She attended the General Meeting: 1910.
The share was transferred from Miss M. Hutchinson.
Deceased.


Robert Hutchinson
Subscriber: 7/8/1866 to 3/7/1876.
The share was transferred to Miss Elizabeth Hutchinson.


Robert Hutchinson
Mineral water manufacturer.
Address: Portland House, Portland Road.
Subscriber: 2/12/1878 to 3/5/1910.
Share number: 234.
He attended General Meetings: 1904, 1905, 1906.
Deceased.
The share was transferred to Mrs Catherine Hutchinson.
See –– Michael Browne: loan to Library - 1884


Robert Hutchinson, Esq.
Corn miller.
Address: 5 Cavendish Crescent South, The Park.
Share number 120 (certificate: 9/2/1901)


Robert Hutchinson
Gentleman.
Address: 3 Tattershall Drive, The Park.
Subscriber: 1/11/1910 to 1916.
Share number: 130 (counterfoil dated 28/4/1911).


W.H. Hutchinson
Subscriber: 6/3/1894 to April 1901.
The share was passed to Mrs E. Hutchinson.


Mrs Huthwaite
Subscriber: April 1817 to April 1820.
The share was passed from Cornelius Huthwaite and later passed to Miss Huthwaite.


Miss Huthwaite
Subscriber: April 1820 to 6/8/1849.
The share was passed from Mrs Huthwaite.


C. Huthwaite
Address: 7 Regent Street.
The Standfast Ledger records the name but shows no borrowings.


Cornelius Huthwaite
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to April 1817.
The share was passed to Mrs Huthwaite.


Colonel Henry Stokeham Huthwaite
Subscriber: 1/10/1827 to 1/8/1831.
Newsroom subscriber: 1831, 1832.
He bought an original share for £15 15s 0d.
He was a Colonel from 1828.


Stokeham Huthwaite
Subscriber: 4/2/1822 to 2/5/1831.


William Huthwaite
Subscriber: 3/4/1821 to 4/2/1822.


Hutt
See –– Cawthorn & Hutt (Subscription Library)


Rev Joseph Hutton or Hulton
The name could be read as either Hutton or Hulton and Russell (1916) has The Revd. T. Hulton.
Subscriber: 5/2/1816 to 3/1/1817.
Committee: 1816.
Rooms Committee: 1816.
He signed the Library Rules (1816-1830).

He was a member of the 1816 Committee set up to draw up rules, investigate buildings and appoint a librarian and also the Committee deputed to collect deposits.
He was named on the Standfast Library Transfer Deed (20/12/1816).
See –– William Standfast.
He was also a nominated purchaser of Bromley House (11/4/1820).

Gifts:



Hutton (or Hulton) Guy
See –– Hutton (or Hulton) Guy.


Peter Huyser
Subscriber: 3/6/1844 to 3/5/1858.


Return to Top of the Page




This page was last updated on

30 July 2009


Neal Priestland